Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Lust for Gold

by ISG - Compo Entry

"Kak Tak" is a creature who like coins, gold coins. Help him to take them all;
Earn 15000 of gold to win
A - left
D - right
Space - jump or double jump

P.S. - the first game name - Lust of gold, no time to rename it, sorry. Lust for Gold - new name

https://ldjam.com/users/isgguitar/

---
used stuff:
Unity
Paint.net
Paint
Reaper Audio Work Station
Schecter C-7 Deluxe Guitar and etc
Voice

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#138Audio3.36
#266Humor2.63
#458Mood2.71
#474Fun2.76
#518Graphics2.45
#548Overall2.79
#588Innovation1.92
#613Theme2.16

Comments

SoKette says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Needed some time to understand that I had double jump capability (actually... the sounds made me understand it !). The music sure is amazing ! :P
Too bad the camera doesn't help (looking high up when I need to see under me because I'm falling etc...) And I got stuck after falling to my death --> never died, got stuck falling for eveer :D

FiloGC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Dank Aesthetics

onyon says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Nice guitar playing.

Jump. Double jump. Double jump. Jump. Jump. Double jump.
*loops infnitely*

Camera was a bit frustrating (too close) not always could see where I'm going.

ISG says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Thank you! Think I havn't "closed" all sides. Some bad things with the sight (camera) was created for the "faith jump" ;) I thought it'd be cool. Hope you enjoyed the game!

Quaternius says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Simple platformer, i like it! You should have resized your fonts so they don't look pixelated :)

Minato4th says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Audio is prety good! But in the gameplay the are some places where player can be confused, for example in the start you can day many times becouse needles are there

ISG says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:31pm

I think I'd make a post-jam version. Thank you!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:30pm

It's a little bit classic, but there is some interesting situations in Level Design

Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:43pm

I like your level design (especially the ending and Limbo-like checkpoints) except the room is too short. Audio and graphics are very good. On the technical side you have a lot to learn.

Maffew says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Fun little platforming game, really like the sound affects and background music

*jump, double jump, jump jump jump* :)

ISG says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Thank you all! Especially for jump and double jump ;) I think I've made a right choice to record my voice for this effects ;) I've read your comments and now I'm sure - it's the best sound for it, %))))

ambi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:31pm

The hit radius on those spikes was huge.

Aun says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:22pm

I tried to finish the game but it is too hard for me. Here are some improvments you can do:
-Do not put a link to a web version if you do not have one ;)
-Stop the game completely when you lose, now it is possible to continue to play a bit once you are dead
-You can be spawnkilled because you do not reset enemies.
- SOmetimes lose two lifes
- Sometimes invisible walls at the edges of cubes
- blind jumps are never a good idea: the first time you do not know what to expect
- new game with enter instead of having to use the mouse
- w to jump would be more intuitive than space
- game over screen should be fullscreen
- some stars are too fast, they pop from out of the screen and kill you
- I think you have a problem with hitboxes, sometimes I was dieing wereas I was not touching an enemy.
- the are infinite falls
- I do not see the link with the theme
- Guitar riff is a bit repetitive
- the voice for the jump is funny at first but after a while, I would prefer simple sound

I hope it helps for next time ;) I know the time is limited but sometimes simple things can improve a lot a game so keep coding :)

ISG says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:01am

Thank you for the feedback, I have a list of bugFixes and things to improve the game. The game got to links of theme:
1. Only one level
2. Background Image like "virtual training room" , but I havn't done it :(

Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:17pm

The Web link just leads to a google drive page...

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:42pm

"Jump! Double jump!" :D :D 5-star audio 2016! Good work.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Top score : 2500.
Love the audio

Congratulation on making a game !!

PlugRobots says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 10:50am

Death loop (when you spawn on enemy) is frustrating. Can't finish the game.

Vertigon says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Got the core of something here. Jumping, enemies, double-jump... I think some tuning of the collision volumes would help here (the tiniest scrape ends in death). Double jump is extremely hard to achieve and death was really jarring, making it easy to accidentally lose multiple lives at once. Keep working on the feel of jumping and giving a little more sense of weight for your character. Thanks for delivering some good audio, it helped the feel a fair amount.

nick.bota says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Good game for your first LD! The concept is cool, the controls are pretty tight, I can get behind the graphic style as well. Now the audio is a little annoying you may want to tone that down a bit and also the game felt a little hard at times because I can't see what's below me or above me, that makes the game seem unfair and that's a fun-killer. Keep up the great work, you'll make great games in the future!

stefvanschie says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:49pm

The movement didn't seem to be very smooth. Sometimes I got stuck walking while there clearly is nothing in front of me. The concept is good, though.

Alex says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 5:34pm

The sound effects made this one for me lol. At first I was confused, wondering why the hell my guy would fall upwards when I pressed space, but when I put on my headphones I heard what was happening and instantly understood what was going on! ;P

Gameplay and graphics are nothing spectacular, but the music and sound effects are great. Didn't notice any strong theme elements though.

Dec 20, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Hey, Guy.
This is one of the best platformers if seen in a while!
Of course you could improve in the sound effects and the graphics but not bad for a compo entry.
And please go and try out my game!

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Pretty solid entry.
Camera was abit awkward, but overall it seamed quite polished.
I really like the music and sound effects.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]