Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Rescape

by LukeZaz - Jam Entry

Only one room to work with. Collect fragments, get items, recreate the room.

Controls: W, A, S, D and F. (Also available in-game)

Doesn't have as much as I'd originally planned, but that tends to happen in jams, anyways. Core gameplay loop is available and things look how their supposed to, so I'm calling it a success!

[NOTE: Still updating this entry yet; ran into some bugs in builds, Mac and Linux builds will be up soon!]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#430Fun(Jam)3.17
#523Audio(Jam)2.39
#739Innovation(Jam)2.50
#742Graphics(Jam)2.67
#748Overall(Jam)2.89
#782Theme(Jam)2.78
#793Mood(Jam)2.44
#1563Coolness20%

Comments

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:01am

Great work! My best score was 160 seconds and 4 levels.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:06am

Was very difficult to jump onto some blocks but not bad game

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:01am

Pretty unforgiving platformer, I like hardcore :) Nice selection of levels, they all made me want to kill myself lol. Simple sounds, very good controls. I wasn't quite sure when I could get out, seems like I didn't always have to pick up all the loot to get free. Really fun overall

Tuism says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:00am

Pretty good implementation, the animation and movement was good. Was it unity 2D physics? Own character controller? Platforming is non-trivial to implement so kudos on your seemingly pretty smooth implementation :)

Design wise, it doesn't quite get more interesting as you dash and get more bits and carry on and such. The levels have awkward jumps that are irritating to do rather than feel like they're skillful to do.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Really simple but fun game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/uJPQ-kT6kvQ

Dec 31, 2016 @ 4:09pm

Quite a hard game, only managed to survive 120 seconds and 2 levels ^^' It's well made though :) Congrats!

graebor says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:52pm

Found it pretty difficult to jump onto stuff - I think this would benefit a lot from some movement polish like wall jumping or the ability to grab onto ledges. The jump felt pretty loose and floaty too, but I did like how you could over-collect in a given level to give yourself a head start. That gives just a hint of strategy to it which is a welcome addition.

peredm says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 8:21pm

Some platforms felt frustrating because you almost reached them but you didn't. I'd recommend putting the platforms either reachable or clearly unreachable so the player doesn't get frustrated. Also, I ended up having too much time left. You could've solved that by making the levels harder every time you complete one or making them give you less time. Other than that, the game is pretty fun and cool. I also love the smooth animation of the character, with its little bounce ^^.

Jan 2, 2017 @ 8:45pm

Simple concept. Went through 11 levels, before it became a bit repetitive. The stickman animation is surprisingly effective. I will say that there are some level design issues--specifically areas that are tricky to jump out of due to platforms immediately above other platforms.

JesseyCool says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 8:45pm

Great parkour game

Gamepopper says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 9:37pm

Well built platformer, but unless I'm mistaken I could only go through two levels?

Solifuge says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 9:44pm

Could use some movement tweeks to minimize the occasional frustrating jump, as a few folks suggested. Nice visuals and audio, neat collect-a-thon race against the clock concept, and a fair bit of fun, for a relatively simple game loop. Thanks for putting this together!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]