Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Rising Sun

by ninjascript - Jam Entry

House of the Rising Sun is a twitchy shooter where you, the player, must defend the daylight from vampires by reading from your Tome of the Sun. When the tome is open, the sun slowly rises, but when the book closes or when vampires are nearby, the suns will begin to set. When the sun sets completely it's game over!

We used PhaserJS, just like we have for our previous entries, but this time I got a chance to play around with WebGL shaders to emulate the setting sun. If your browser only supports Canvas rendering then you may not get the full effect, but hopefully it's still fun to play!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#335Humor(Jam)2.89
#371Fun(Jam)3.26
#387Graphics(Jam)3.61
#456Mood(Jam)3.25
#531Overall(Jam)3.22
#534Innovation(Jam)2.95
#629Theme(Jam)3.22
#938Coolness45%

Comments

Avocadosan says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:26am

This idea is so creative! It was fun to play and it have nice controls! It would be fun to see a full version of this game actually :D!

kidando says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:10am

I didn't get very far. Wave 10. Congrats on submitting your entry.

sanojian says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:35am

Clever movement of the bats makes them hard to anticipate. Quite a fun game. It is hard!

drludos says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:20pm

Nice entry, I love it! It's quite a challenging game, fast paced and twitchy, I like that. I like how the bat moves, make them hard to shoot down.

I also love the graphics and the overall mood of the game (the sun set effect is quite nice).

One complaint though: the laser shooting sound is quite ear-tearing, especially when you spam the shoot button. You should replace it with a softer (and shorter sound), or at least reduce the volume of the sound (IMHO, it both too loud and too high pitched, but that may be just me)

vini60 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Quite hard to be honest. But I loved the challange!
Good job.

anatolat says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:00pm

Very nice game! Congratulations!

Mouch says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:07pm

At first I thought that you have to dodge them. Without that the game is a lot easier. I died at wave 16.

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Simple, fast and straight forward. Fun. Nice pixel art.

FisherG says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:33pm

I like the art, and the gameplay. A con though is that the game is only fun for about 5-10 minutes, then it gets to repetitive

ninjascript says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:47am

@drludos -- You're right about the shooting sound. I've gone ahead and disabled it for the time-being. Thanks!

arzi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:58pm

I like the art.

2Bit says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:01am

Haha, I'm spamming that space bar! Sound would've helped a lot I think.

Sun-Wukong says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Is it possible to win in this game or is it "who lasts longer" type?

negativice says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:15pm

I like how smooth it plays, wish it lasted longer or had more depth to it :)

misteak says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Really liked the theme and setting of the game. The visual style is very charming :)
Got drowned by bats on wave 17 heh

phoenix1987 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:53am

Thanks for rating my game. And you're right we couldn't quite get things done - attack didn't turn out quite as I was hoping. And monsters disappearing at end of wave was deliberate.

Just finished yours has a nice feel to it. Would like to see it expanded in the future. The challenge level was good and overall well done.

jotson says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:24am

Cute graphics. Difficult but quick fun.

doppelgunner says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:41am

nice game but doesn't fit with the theme?

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 9:51am

Hey! Nice Idea!
I love the gameplay idea and the graphic is nice.
Maybe the theme is a little bit stretched but is ok
Well done!

iossif says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 4:16pm

nice one!

one suggestion: it may be easier to control the game when you move with arrows and shoot with wasd. otherwise you always need to move extra miles when you want to change direction.

Dec 25, 2016 @ 5:30pm

A nice little game. It looks and plays smooth. This could be a great fast-paced shooter with some gameplay tweaks, in particular, making it easier to aim.

MrTroy says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:40pm

127 kills wave 16. Besides sound, my only complaint is that it needs a variety of enemies and possibly attacks.

I found myself waiting for the enemies to turn into vampires before attacking (otherwise they would just dodge)... this strategy does NOT work... :D

ijzm says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 6:06am

Wave 24. 248 kills. A minute and forty-seven seconds.

The game is quite fast paced and enjoyable for a bit. The gameplay on its own, as it stands, is shortlived. The difficulty is in the amount of enemies that spawn and cause the book to constantly close, so I kind of like that edge. It gets tiring to spam the spacebar after a while, but there doesn't seem to be a more effective strategy for later games as it is.

~Random-storykeeper

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]