Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

RoomOne

by Geckoo1337 - Jam Entry

At start, I wanted to create something using one of the shaders which I had developed recently - something which could be really clean with a quiet aesthetic - a project between Antichamber and BoxLife. This last convinced me that it was possible to create a solid project really addictive exploiting only a few simple mechanics. So I did RoomOne - a 3d puzzle in which you must collect 7 stars so as to increase your aptitudes, jumping higher and running faster, etc - trying to find a way in order to reach the next star. I guess that it could be really hard to break this game in less than 20/30 minutes, and I know that you have no many time to play with an oodles of projects which have been developed during this week-end. In consequence I did a video in which I finish the game in 2 minutes. Please try this project and give me a feedback, even if you have disliked it. Write a brief message and I will visit your own page too in order to test your project. Thank you for playing. I wish you the best ++‚Äč

WASD to move,
Space bar to jump,
R to restart,
Escape to quit,
F12 to know your FPS,
Up/Down arrows to modify mouse sensitivity

Twitter - @geckoo1337

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#35Graphics(Jam)4.56
#60Mood(Jam)4.06
#61Overall(Jam)4.00
#120Audio(Jam)3.78
#194Fun(Jam)3.58
#237Innovation(Jam)3.50
#366Theme(Jam)3.71

Comments

vipper says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:36pm

5/5 nice game :)

Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Wow, that was crazy. I loved the art style.

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Really nice little game! I love the graphics (especially the little wireframe birds) and the platformer puzzles are really fun. Keep up the good work!

JK5000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:23pm

A visual very interesting game.

Wevel says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Great Game, love the vector graphics.

egoregor says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Beautifull game and big challenge. Very cool!

MCjammydodger says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Good graphics, fun gameplay, interesting puzzles. Great Game!

sn0uk says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:30pm

I really liked it up to the point that I couldn't complete. I'm not good at platformers :P

Really loved the game, sort of feels like antichamber in a way. If you continue to make this game it could definitely be as successful as antichamber.

DMinsky says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:32pm

It's mind-blowing aesthetic room!

erikiene says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Beautiful shader, great everything.

11/10 teach me sensei

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Impresive technical success. Next time will emulate you. Well done!!

PaidGEEK says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:46pm

Looks really nice, especially those birds.

NuSan says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:15pm

I love the art style, with clean lines and iridescent colors. The surfaces based on grids of primitives are also a great way to make you search for the missmatched part, the error that will lead you to find the next piece of the puzzle. And the birds are a nice touch. The last puzzle piece is realy hard to get, but the game is good so I retryed a lot. Maybe reseting the game when you falloff is a bit harsh, but that gave me time to notice small details. Great job.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:23am

Awesome job! I love the art style and game concept so much. this has to be one of the most interesting games I've come across of yet. Multiple times I found myself with no clue how to move on but that just made it even more compelling. especially since the game goes so much faster when you've done it a couple times.

wowods says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:07am

Very great visual and good platformer. But it's kinda made me dizzy a little bit.
It has very good mechanic that changing everytime. :)

Dagorlad says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:49am

Very trippy graphics, cool game!

Tkachov says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Not bad. I think visual style could be a bit less simplistic. Didn't have enough skill to jump that far from the box towards the star on sphere, so just watched your video =)

hijomo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Really nice.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:07pm

+ Nice work. + music.

kamranwali says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Amazing game! I had fun playing it. I am not sure why but everytime when I fell I felt butterflies in my stomach. I guess it was because of that void that immersive feeling falling into nothingness. You managed to immerse me into the game. Brilliant! Keep it up!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:27pm

this is looking amazing. what a great style you created there. Very good concept and nice created puzzles... a greast piece of wortk for a 72h jam... great!

Split82 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:50pm

Very nice. Really liked it and almost finished it :)

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:26pm

The shaders are pretty great, and the level design's not bad either. I couldn't bring myself to finish the game, though, just because every time I'd fall off the world, all my powerups would be removed. Playing through the same piece of a puzzle game over and over gets tiring fast. Just being able to keep the upgrades you'd received after a restart would've helped the game a lot.

The music's very soothing, and as much as the sound effects aren't bad, they do sound a little bit cheesy and out of place.

The whole aesthetic and movement style gave me strong Antichamber vibes. Very abstract and impersonal, in a good way. It was an interesting solution to use disconnected solids to form your walls; I doubt the shaders would have made standard geometry visible so that's probably where you got the idea, but the end result looks very unique and helps both the themes and the puzzle aspect (I'd imagine if I got further in the game I'd be able to cross through some of the walls)

Nice work.

n00basaurus says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:46pm

The shaders used on all the objects were great. Had a real retro 90's internet feel to it.

I kept getting stuck after the first start (sprint). Though I think I was doing the game out of order, maybe? It would be nice to have a few easy to get stars as the beginning to serve as a tutorial and then have the difficulty ramped up. I was unable to find "the golden path".

Casevse says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Insane art! Very good game, good work!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Trippy visuals. I need to smoke before playing this :P Unfortunately, I think my platforming skills may not be up to your game's standards

TriSquare says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Dope visuals, and i really love the ambient music

patrickgh3 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:03pm

I really dig this, great work. I'll have to remember this game for inspiration. My biggest complaint is that dying and restarting from the beginning is frustrating. Also I managed to jump from the shrinking star back to the starting cube, then to the big cube.

limered says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:16pm

nice art style!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:41pm

I like the atmosphere. Pretty strong game and challenge.
I got almost all stars (including that was on the top of pendulum) but stuck inside the box under the spawn. I know is solvable, but bit hardcore to me.
Thanks for the game!

masterkrepta says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:17am

I loved this Art Style. From the screenshot I was thinking it would be hard to play but i found it really enjoyable. The self loathing I felt after getting the first couple of stars just to die because of a failed jump is very real! :)

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:12am

Very cool! Love the style. The ambient music fit perfectly. I really like the way jumping feels and also those birds.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:45am

I feel like I could take like a thousand pictures of this from any angle and it would be absolutely lovely. Difficult to play (as I often find first person platforming difficult) but I really liked it.

nikitapash says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:35am

Very specific but really interesting. Very good

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:44am

Wow, this game was awesome, very good job. Couldn't get to the last start, though.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:28pm

Great game! Beautiful style. I like it.

Aster0id2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:02pm

Reminds me of anti-chamber game, good job!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:10pm

Nice work. I think it is great to design and build a game around a shader! makes you approach it in a unique way.

Nixxor says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:10pm

Love this! very spaced out and trippy. Great visual style.

JackTheOgre says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Wow, what a great game! I like how you can actually play it very differently (I actually bounced through the outer walls a lot to get most of the stars). And although I can definitely appreciate the original graphics it eventually made me kinda dizzy. Anyways, thats a hell of a well earned 5 stars. Good job!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:53pm

I like the look, and it would be fun to play if it didn't completely reset when you hit the death plane (which is a bit far down). That time it takes to redo old steps in order to get back to where you were makes it tough to continue on. I need an easy mode where it respawns you on the last platform with all the stars still collected! :)

kernel panic says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:35pm

The art style and mood are superb!

I like how the level is designed, but falling to my death could become frustrating. Perhaps just making the player respawn at the start position would be better, as the player only re-executes their previous method - after all, you can never trap yourself (which I think is good design).

Prospero says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Really nice! But a bit too difficult for me. :-)

Remicy says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:18am

Wow this is super cool! Love everything in the game!

ThatSnillet says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:15pm

I really enjoyed this game! I would easly pay for a long game with similar gameplay. The length was perfect for a permadeath game and for this kind of specialized graphics.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:34pm

Very nice and pretty :) Love that shader...

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:35am

Very nice experimental design.
Good base for a FP game concept where you can explore an interesting world and do not have to kill all the time.

panurge says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Gorgeous visuals and sound. The environment had a genuinely vertiginous feel to it and the jumping controls were just right.

I'm afraid I didn't mange to complete it but I did watch the vid!

Excellent work. :)

velvetlobster says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:23am

The shaders are just awesome and the sounds really fit the atmosphere! I loved the details also (birds and some minor effects around the scenario)

onixowl says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:47am

Awesome work! Like the antichamber vibe

Dec 19, 2016 @ 12:17pm

Wow, I absolutely love the style and atmosphere! It's fantastic, great gameplay, everything about it is very well done! Fantastic job! :D

ema1ih says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:13pm

This game is so complex, i like it so much, the graphics and music are perfect :3

MementoGames says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:23am

Amazing entry! Great job with the art style. I loved the music too. I could not reach the final star :(
It was pretty fun to play and I loved that you included a way to modify the mouse sensitivity (it was too slow for me). Splendid job overall.

Dec 24, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Reqlly interesting visuals! I played it for a while cause I really wanted to get all the stars. Wasn't able to get the far away one though... Very well made though :) Congrats!

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Tried to run it with Wine, but it crashed :-(

Do you think you could try to make a linux/mac binary as well?

ezolotko says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 3:08pm

Wow, this is easily one of the best entries, congratulations.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 4:19pm

Having to restart all the way back from the beginning after you mistime a jump and fall to your death is pretty annoying but this is a really solid puzzle platformer you have there but I love the aesthetic you have going there.

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Really nice shader. The stars are a little hard to see though, but it would be better if they were more visible because I missed a few and had to use the walkthrough. The music really makes the mood. And the birds are a nice touch.

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:58pm

This is definitely my favorite game of the jam. Loved the art style and audio. Especially the birds, great touch. How did you do their AI?
The only downside is that it's very frustrating having to start over every time you fall. I ended up giving up after the second to last star because of this. Just too much effort to start over.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 12:31am

The shader is really cool, and the audio helps bring about a mysterious mood. The platforming was quite comfortable, and I found that collecting each star lead to a new power to be a fascinating aspect to the game. But...

Grr...those shrinking and growing puzzles (both your character and the gems) were infuriating: you could miss your jump and be unable to grab the sphere star after growing back to normal size. From the irreversible sequences of action that have dire consequences, to the fact that the location of all the stars are not obvious, I constantly felt like I had to read the mind of the developer with very little hints to aid me to each solution.

fivecyclops says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Great game! Perfect minimalist visual, simple & fun gameplay and good sounds and mood.
It's cool.

Shellest88 says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 12:19am

Great! Beautiful graphics!

Dec 31, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Wow!! Really beautiful trippy graphics and quite a fun puzzler. This is one I will still be playing after LD!

RadMcCool says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 4:20pm

This looks beautiful

nekoballs says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:56pm

Superb graphics and audio. + its fun to play! I like this

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]