Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

2D Cat Wants Out

by Tuism - Compo Entry

You are 2D Cat in a 3D world. Room. And you want out!

Noone is around to let you out though, and this ROOM is a DISGRACEFUL MESS! Gonna have to find your way out!

Everything by me, all the graphics are cubes and the music was a couple hours messing about in Garage Band.

One of my biggest regrets is not being good at puzzle design. I feel like this could be so much better if I was any good at that, with all the mechanics that area already in place. Does someone wanna collab on some level and puzzle design? :)

Sorry for the somewhat borked platforming physics, and the music bug :/ Late night fumes...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#88Innovation3.79
#115Overall3.69
#152Fun3.55
#162Humor3.04
#185Audio3.21
#223Graphics3.41
#248Mood3.23
#312Theme3.59

Comments

PaidGEEK says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:39am

Solid mechanics and contains a cat. Movement is a little jerky.

siryakko says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:26am

Clever idea! love the feel of the overall, maybe some minor improvements on the controls can make it more enjoyable

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:28pm

Every now and then kitty randomly jumps and hits the ceiling. Can't tell if This is intentional or not?

A lot of love went into this entry, and i'm giving it a lot of love, too. Love the music, UI, models, level design, and concept!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:40pm

A very nice puzzle game! Simple to understand, difficult to master. The jumping is a little broken, though, allowing me to super jump every now and then... Also, when you finish the game and go back to the menu screen, the BGM overlaps on itself. Other than that, very nice!

dlweatherhead says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:52pm

Very cool concept. As stated by others, the control needs work, but it's a jam game, it's understandable. The soundtrack is pretty cool.
On a side note, the source is missing the Assets folder.

Tuism says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:27pm

@dlweatherhead Thanks! Yeah the controls are a bit wonky, platforming controllers is non-trivial!

oops, yes I uploaded the library sans the bulk of the size because I wanted to get to bed quickly, was really running fumes then. I'll put up the more complete source tonight when I sleep and don't need to use the internet, it's a biggish file.

Irioder says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Love the mechanics, concept and the amazing work that the actuators do in terms of knowing what will happen when you touch them.

Controls are confusing and I got stuck several times while jumping

Overall great work for a 2days game, would love to have a mobile version of this soon :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Very cool game! The UI is really slick, I love that. The cat sound was also really funny, it didn't get old.

Too bad the superjump-bug is in there, because this way I was able to "cheat".

You might want to put your controls in the Update() loop, and your physics (jumping and moving) in the FixedUpdate() loop. This way the controls feel much more responsive, and it probably fixes the superjump bug.

Well done!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Very cool game! The UI is really slick, I love that. The cat sound was also really funny, it didn't get old. The puzzle mechanic was cool, and the level design was also good in my opinion :)

Too bad the superjump-bug is in there, because this way I was able to "cheat".

You might want to put your controls in the Update() loop, and your physics (jumping and moving) in the FixedUpdate() loop. This way the controls feel much more responsive, and it probably fixes the superjump bug.

Well done!

avalkyrie says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:38pm

I don't think I fully mastered the puzzle mechanic, but it was still fun. As far as puzzle design, if you want to get better at it try designing the last or a middle level and then make the easier levels that teach people how to use the mechanics afterwards. I love the cat's face on the title screen.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:56am

It's probably just my computer but I had only about 3fps making it unplayable

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:11am

i like it!

akirassasin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:35am

Great idea and fun puzzles :) the cat sound effects really cracked me up!

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:38am

Is the cat required to be an observer, or does its existence in a single well-defined classical state require another external observer?

Mouch says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:51am

For a person "not being good at puzzle design" this is a really awesome entry. You should have more confidence in your skills. But please make the cat sound less annoying X.X.

Tuism says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:54pm

@spacedoubt are you referring to some kind of Schroedinger's cat thing? The cat is required to exit, that is all :P

Tuism says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:55pm

@p1x3lruckus could you tell me what your specs are? Operating system and such? I'm curious if/how my game is too processor-heavy :/

Tuism says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:57pm

@Drtizzle thanks for your input! I think I have an idea where the superjump comes from, I'd have to go and dig into it a bit, it's actually not to do with the update/fixedupdate thing, but that I've made the jump on GetKeyDown instead of GetKey so it reads multiple times. I'll give it a tiny delay between activations.

Thanks!!!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Hey, that was really a enjoyable experience. An original concept which was very well executed with a clever level design and a very cool presentation, which works perfectly for the game. The frame rate was a bit choppy, making it a bit hard to control, but not a big deal really since it's not an action oriented game. Music is cool and somewhat mysterious, although it can get a bit repetitive with time. Anyway, a really good and solid entry for the Jam. Congrats!

saucygames says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:47pm

This was fun! The title art was so inviting! eye catching. Love this game, sadly I abused the superjump bug for one level haha but it was worth the laughs!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:33pm

I love the idea! The concept is very cool, and the animation of UI seems very nice. The problem was the movement mechanic feels a little uncomfortable (i dont know when can i double jump and in some levels was difficult to me to jump over the boxes).

Instead of the movement, the idea and the game is pretty cool!

Bensonance says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:15am

This is fun and cool! Love the way you use the blur to add focus to the middleground/currently focused axis. Love the quick flowing nature of the puzzles.

Here's a bunch of other feedback for you:

- Jump should only activate on press, not whenever in contact with ground.
- Need more visual difference between horizontal/vertical changing directions. Get's too confusing when there's a lot of them.
- Introduce elements on their own in really short puzzles. This was done well until that first one-way platform that escalated super quickly and I got stuck.

Don't stress too much about the puzzle design - I think it's pretty hard to do good puzzle design in a jam :)

DrSnuggles says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Great Fun, Puzzle and a nice cat.

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Cool puzzle and it features a cat, whats not to like. The only issue that bugged me (maybe its just me!) was hitting a box to rotate one way only to flip it back by triggering another hit box once the gravity flipped, kinda had to navigate away from it while rotating/falling. Other than that, it was enjoyable and well made.

Tuism says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:04pm

@Bensonance that one way platform one yeah was way too advanced for where it is. I needed to do another element or two before that. But that's where my puzzle design failed :P

I've fixed the jump bug and I dunno about the other one yet :)

Bahiyya says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:13am

This game was really fun when I just started playing but I grew annoyed at the jerky movement of the jump mechanic. The cubes were also a little blurry at times which gave me a headache.

I really liked the background music but when you're stuck in one level it can get repetitive. Same for the cat sounds. I thought the puzzle design was pretty cool too.

wowa_u says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:18pm

This is a very clever puzzle idea and solid level design, specially for LD.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Pretty cool game mechanics and level design is pretty decent as well. Games feels polished and art style is consistent.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]