Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Taken for Granite

by nwestninja - Jam Entry

Taken for granite is the story of Ivy Grace, a young medieval noble woman whose legs were turned to stone by a horrible curse!

She's now confined to her bedroom where her only solace is playing video games.

Play through games with Ivy and learn more about her family and her story.

Credits for Audio:
Iorilicea
Grozlam
GamingBuckets
RoziGames
Bubaproducer
Bertrof
Lloydevans09
Soughtaftersounds



Changelog
-fixed bug with leaderboard score

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#176Theme(Jam)4.00
#224Humor(Jam)3.22
#326Overall(Jam)3.52
#366Innovation(Jam)3.27
#401Mood(Jam)3.33
#474Graphics(Jam)3.43
#613Fun(Jam)2.87

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:48am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:54am

The painterly art style is very nice! :)

swellbastion says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:23am

I like the atmosphere. The way that messages keep coming in as you play is cool. Somehow I got it to run in wine on my mac :P

tylerraz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:33am

Great short story and it fits the theme so well. Mini-games as progress is a bit annoying, but there was enough variety to keep it fresh.

kn2322 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:09am

I love the weird fantasy-modern setting of the game, it makes it really quite funny at parts. Criticism wise, the story felt a little bit forced at the ending, since the gameplay and characters weren't related, and the characters weren't developed.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:47am

I spent way too much time on the sliding puzzles.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Interesting game really fits the theme. Cute art style.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:08pm

style &
beautiful

pyokoanarogue says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:18am

very content extensive for such a short development time. I liked it a lot!

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:08am

The art is flashy, the music I liked a lot, the mirror mini-game is short but it is a good puzzle. Good game, good job. :D

TeamBALD says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:08am

I really liked this. The art was The premise was interesting and did a lot a lot to make me sympathise with the main character, and the mini-games were varied enough to keep things from getting too repetitive. It's certainly an interesting way to portray disability in games, and I think the rejection letter from the Department of Magick Related Deaths & Injuries was a nice touch.

I did find a bug which froze the game completely (although the music is still going), where I jumped slightly into the side of one of the platforms in the jumping mini-game.

Only other criticism I have is that I think you include the [press Z to continue] prompt quite a lot in the conversations. It's probably only needed a few times, once at the start of a conversation at most. The ending did seem a bit unexpected, while I felt it helped me understood more about Ivy's situation and what she should do in the future, I'm not sure I understood why she had that revelation that soon. It would probably work in a longer game though

Linear says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 10:53pm

The idea was... strange... and definitely weird. However, I was very confused by how two maidens can have a child. I don't know. It just left me on edge the whole time.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]