Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Walkie Talkie

by managore - Compo Entry

Send messages

Receive messages

Play messages



/howtoplay

Use the <arrow keys>, <page up> and <page down> to navigate to a message, then press <enter> to play the message. Use the <arrow keys> and <space> (or a gamepad) to run and jump your way to the green circle to beat the message, or press <esc> to go back to navigating. You can hold down <page up> or <page down> to quickly navigate through the messages.

Every two minutes you can press <tab> to switch between navigating messages and typing a message. Use any and all of the keyboard keys to write your message, then press <enter> to play your message. As soon as you beat your message, it gets sent and other people will see it. If you want to change your message, press <esc> to go back to typing. Make sure not to beat your message if you don't want to send it yet!

You can press <alt> + <enter> to toggle fullscreen, and you can press <esc> once to change your username and a second time to exit the game.

/help

- You need an internet connection to get new messages
- If your messages aren't showing up after a few seconds (and you've scrolled down all the way), please let me know
- A green circle after a level means you've beaten it, a red heart after a level means I think it's particularly fun or unique

/about

Made with GameMaker:Studio, Aseprite and Sublime Text 2. The font used is m5x7 (you can download it for free at https://managore.itch.io/m5x7). The user interface style is inspired by Aseprite's beautiful UI. Many thanks to @takorii for letting me use their server, without it the game couldn't exist.

The post compo build is functionally the same, but lets you search for levels (<f3> or <ctrl> + <f>), mark a level as a favourite of yours (<f2> or <ctrl> + <s>) and quickly skip to the oldest or newest level (<home> and <end> respectively).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall4.60
Innovation4.94
Coolness59%
#4Fun4.34
#29Theme4.40
#55Humor3.69
#83Mood3.72
#103Graphics3.86

Comments

Mark Overmars says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:08am

Very cool. Very inventive. Quite fun.

Kind of reminds me of this one puzzle game where you built your own levels using ascii characters, each of which had different functions.

The levels are too small on my laptop - some zoom-in upon selecting a level would be nice. Overall a fantastic submission.

Rscar says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:32am

This is seriously so cool. The interactivity is amazing and the gameplay itself is super fun - each character is so creative and interesting. I appreciate your attention to detail.

elkiwydev says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:53am

At first I was like "Ow... This time managore disappointed me.. it's just a chat.."
But after I understood what the "levels" are I was more like "HOLY COW WHAT?!"

You blew my mind as always <3

Insality says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:06am

wow! As always perfect idea and game-design
very impressive. and perfect implementation

I'm really get suprised to see this idea :)

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:07am

____/TT!TT\--vvvvv/T{T>_

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:53am

Really Cute! It reminds me the google doodle games.

ccglp says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:05pm

We are on the office playing this like mad people. We can't believe this.

You just do it again.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:13pm

You win at game jams again! at first I was worried this was going to be a Hackmud type deal as its all the rage but man this is fun

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Amazing game. This has got to be the easiest level editor there is. I enjoyed this game very much.

impbox says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:56pm

must play! I want this with me in every chatroom

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Oh wow! :O
Good job sir, as always. That idea is something completely new.
My crystal ball says that you'll get #1 in innovation, or at least very close to it.

pta2002 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Wow, this is incredible! Good job!

Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:03pm

This game is impressive. Really cool concept, very innovative. You can't stop deliver this masterpieces, did you? Lol.

CMLSC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Wow, if this game doesn't win innovation, I'd be surprised. :D

XenosNS says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Such a fun idea.

rburema says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Neat! Amazing! Other near-synonyms of 'Great'! :-)

Would maybe be nice if you could have some statistics on your created levels? Like: 'This line has been played 37 times, 16 of which reached the goal'. But with less words perhaps.

martincohen says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:56pm

As always: mind blown. There's creativity and then there's Mr. Daniel Linssen. I wrote down a list of "what would Daniel Linssen do" and I wasn't even close, sadly I've lost the list due to Windows restart, but I'll do it next time and publish it. Anyway, awesome entry.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:06pm

I'd love to rate this game, but the game doesn't work for me for whatever reason. It wouldn't let me type any characters.

dunin says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:08pm

That is a well good idea!

I hope people will continue to typing in your chat and with the time make incredible levels!

pixzleone says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:05pm

Very innovative, really cool. Well done!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Best mmo I've played in a while!
The idea behind this blew my mind and it's super well executed (as always with you Managore).
I personally feel like the colors you choose are a bit cold but it might just be me.
Amazing entry, we need more stars to rate this.

jusw85 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:55pm

The game alone was already awesome, but finding out that the chat was real made it mind blowing.

rogual says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Bloody amazing. Really creative. I think we have a winner.

metaldemon says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Most innovative interpretation of the theme I've seen yet!

Took a little bit of figuring out, but as soon as I got the hang of it I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Great entry as always managore!

dunin says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Ok, there allready are incredible levels...

Gabe says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:25pm

This is a really cool thing! It's just really interesting the way you took the one room theme and turned it on it's head.

Awesome work!

meg says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Really inventive, I'm terrible at platformers but I loved the < ^ > :D

MichaelBrune says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:51pm

This would be awesome as an IRC client plugin! :D

Kimen says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:53pm

⊙﹏⊙∥∣° 1st. MaNagoRe (っ◕‿◕) 2nd. MiyaMoto <= ( ◜◡^)っ✂╰⋃╯ ๏̯͡๏﴿

Ludipe says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:06am

wow, just wow, this was an incredible concept perfectly executed. Would love to read a postmortem about this.

madameberry says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:26am

Daniel Linssen does it again.

Jeuiop says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:51am

Good as always!

Zarkith says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:14am

I don't own a copy of Super Mario Maker, but now I'll never need one! :D

All it needs are a search function, jump to top/bottom, and beaten/heart filters and it'd be perfect.

renatorabelo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:32am

Amazing work dude!! Idle animations for the main dude (sprites) are missing from source code.

Geti says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:12am

Very nice :) lots of UX improvements to be had, but of course it's all about the clever idea in the end!

datMarv says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:27am

Whew, I'm seriously impressed.
Even the idle animation of that little guy is amazing..

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:51am

Simply Brilliant. This should be a required addition to all chat rooms.

Enrymion says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:05am

delete not working while typing was annoying other than that awesome.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:16am

Managore, can you let some of the rest of us stand a chance some time?

I have really nothing else to say, it is what it is, it's definitely going to get gold in innovation, probs gold in overall too.

So.. congrats in advance. lol.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:19am

Incredibly innovative game with a lot of fun to be had. Well done!

rayriver says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:59am

Amazing!
Innovative as always

ginger9 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:43am

Unbelievable

NuSan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:43am

So great and full of possibilities. This is a realy impressive idea and very well executed. Having a text based level editor in a chat windows is very great. Multiline editing would expand that even futher. It's a bit bad to not be able to filter levels from other message, but it's part of the concept. Maybe a tag system at the start of message, and a reply system to group message related to a level. Keep up the awesome work.

DeqingLi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:38am

though low-quality, but interesting!

wowa_u says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:00am

very clever and cool

Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:29am

The concept is great, but it's the slickness of the platforming that goes with it that really impressed me.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:59am

I love the idea, controls are a bit harsh but it's fun to play anyway! Would have loved some sounds when jumping etc.

LozzaDawg says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Dude, this game is awesome! i had a great time with my friend playing each other's levels. Really creative and original idea, great spin on the 'room' part. Excellent work all round.

Awpteamoose says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Great game. Love it. Idea is very innovative

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:15pm

This idea is just amazing, I love how each possible character can be used in the level.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:09pm

Really challenging! And smart! A chat room was a great way to use the theme while having so many levels made all around the world!

resty says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Oh my god, this entry is incredible...
I can't say any word...

Pikas96 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:01pm

This idea is awesome. I haven't even written anything on the chat, I'm just playing every message.
Maybe it needs some sound effects to make it perfect, but, overall, mindblowing.

MrErdalUral says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Wow I did not expect that. This is amazing! Tank you for the game!

zeoxo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:04pm

One of the most innovative and unique games I've ever seen, I'd love to see this turned into a full title! 5/5

SleepyStudios says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Simply amazing. Incredible use of the theme and the amount of polish is superb - even little things like only adding levels to the database if it's completed are taken into consideration.

Gord10 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:40pm

I loved it!

Mine10blox says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Very innovative! I like it. These are the games that make me continue programming

Ellian says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:15pm

As usual, creativity pushed to the limit.
I'm just amazed at how much actual gameplay and possibilities are in there... it's insane. Amazing work. :)

Flatgub says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:41pm

This is incredible =O!
I'm not even sure how you come up with ideas like this but its so unique! Other than not having any sound this so far is my favourite entry!

Rainbow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Great idea, very innovative!

grena says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:53pm

So smart. I love it.

TeamAxolotl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:01pm

I don't know if we can really call it a "game", but it's really great as always!

local minimum says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Fantastically innovative idea really. And many of the levels were quite cool to play. It was, when I looked 2.5k levels so given that, it would be very nice with some way to scroll to the bottom really fast. I actually didn't manage to get to input anything myself, something I must have misunderstood, so possibly making that a little easier too. As always though, a treat to see what you come up with!

Neowedge says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Sublime!!!! Greetings!!! :)

dietzribi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:51pm

This is obviously the winner! Genius

NeithR says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Love how the game levels were made from chat text C:.
The only I had trouble was scrolling into the bottom of the chat.
Other than that, this is amazing. Imagine if this used as captcha xD.

MentaL13 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:02pm

This is super awesome. At first, I thought that these are custom messages prepared during the jam and I was really surprised when I saw that real people are sending message (new levels) all the time

vini60 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:15pm

One of the best games I've played so far for this LD.
Amazeballs.
The concept is new and fun.
Good job.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Wow, I have no words...(all the characters went to the game to become a level)

I'm seriously impressed. After windowframe (well, and pretty much any of your entries) I was expecting to be surprised, but this is mind blowing.

Treborginho says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:44pm

There are no more stars to give to you! This is the best game hands down!! I am never gonna complete all levels, but I will try.

InoMoxo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:41pm

I love it! :)

Birke says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Nice! Super original concept. Would have been nice with some audio and music.

JokoMax says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:28pm

Interesting game, i did'nt realize what is going on until i send my message xD

Mayhem Makers says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:07pm

As always, managore comes with the most creatives gameplay ideas.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:52pm

One of the coolest entries I've seen so far. As always, 5 stars in innovation! You're always coming up with a cool mechanic. I try to be innovative too, so I love it when people do the same! Nice smooth crisp graphics too, so clean. Well done, again! I bet you'll be in the top 10 again.

NoahCagle says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:33am

The amount of money that I would pay for this game is ridiculous. Honestly a work of art. Hats off to you.

2Bit says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:10am

Oh man, user generated content, the internet is gonna love this.

RetroSpecter says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:13am

Amazing game as per usual

Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:53am

This is incredibly. Mind blowing. Great job man!

Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:00am

It's sad to see young men selling their souls to the devil for the ability to make the best LD games.

MatLab says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:38am

So good idea, very impressive work! Little animations are cute and physic remind me the first Mario Bros. (hard air control but good tolerance). GG
PS : Need sound !

nicruo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:20am

Oh man, I am a fan of you work. But this one, this one is crazy genius. I don't know how you came up with the idea. But even know that I'm typing this comment, I hope that the message starts to transform. === /TTTTTT\ == ... :D

sudojess says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:28am

Awesome! Another great game from you. super innovative

wowods says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:55am

What a great idea for this theme!!!!!

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:46pm

This is completely bonkers, probably one of the most inventive games across all LDs. Would love a browser version :)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:21pm

Wow, that's again a really great idea and take on the theme! Great game!

elmoGames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Ofcourse this will win. It is pretty good

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:08pm

This game is a perfectly addicting platformer. I could lose hours to it (and have already). The controls are tight, the obstacles /just fair enough/ where every death is clearly my fault.

I'd love to see this kinda of game implemented as a proper IRC client, where I can join any network and play on its messages.

As far as extended features go, I'd also have liked to see the letters have a bigger role. As it stands, most of the fun levels are just punctuation, and I'd love to see full-on sentences or poems used as levels, with various letters (not just 'o' and 'v') being used as props.

Still, it's an excellent game with a very innovative idea that came through to a super smooth title. Great work.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:33pm

When I saw the open brace shoot a dash at me, I was enchanted by your animated ASCII world. If you continue to develop this, and I hope you do, when I wasn't sure which level would be a step up in difficulty for my skill I felt less competent.

foolmoron says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:21pm

THE most innovative idea I've ever seen. The graphics and colors work perfectly to identify the obstacles in the platformer too. Controls feel a bit float and imprecise though.

Junber says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Great idea and a more than solid execution. It would have been nice if you could scroll to the bottom by just pressing a single key. Sound would have also been cool.

Tonasz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Genius. Just... genius.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Well it's you again with another original idea. What can I say?

BlueLlama says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Didn't quite understand it at first, then it blew my mind, had to show it to others as well.

tartlegames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:43pm

Man... You are the Leonardo Divinci of the indie game world. Great work. This is brilliant.

pLaw says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:01am

This is brilliant! My absolute favourite of all LD37 entries so far!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:26am

Every single time you nail it. Not only is this a brilliant idea, but the visuals and controls are perfect. The movement feels super satisfying, the transition between "chat" and "game" is seamless, and it has "virtually endless" content. Another game showing the rest of us how it's done. Great work.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:37am

Really cool idea, and very well executed. Nicely done :)

MementoGames says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:55am

This is perfect. Well, almost perfect. I missed some tunes to jump around with. But the rest is just awesome. Amazing job as always!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:58am

It's a really interesting concept. I am terribad at it, so I don't feel like I'm getting the full experience (precision platforming has never been my jam) but I'm impressed with your ability to come up with a concept like this and execute it in so little time by yourself. Fantastic work.

I also like the animations around the little main character.

Fib says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:11am

Wow... mind blown. The creativity is just astonishing. ___ ^ ___ /TTT > _____

fishbrain says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:56am

Unique and inventive!

Maple says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:39am

This is great!

It really could benefit from Copy and Paste function, for people to send people levels.

It also could really do with some music. a lot of vibe was lost. I image like typing sfx when in chat and then lvl sfx/bgm while in playing mode.

Anyway, keep it up. I'll def be following your works.

Nixxor says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:18am

What an interesting little take on a concept! Love it!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:19am

Really smart idea that is very well executed. Great work.

madmarcel says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:02am

Very cool.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:08am

Congrats on the win! :D That's just amazing!

piller.yann says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Woooow ! The concept is so cool and imaginative !

Patacorow says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:11pm

_____________^^&- | - | |\___

HA! Beat that!
Really! geat job on that one! it's so smart and fun.
Who you come up every single time with a brilliant ideas ?!
and make them look so beautiful!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:48pm

Now I see a tiny character jumping while I write. This is so clever! Nothing to add.

Kalinka says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:49pm

my best rate for #LD37 :) Fantastic idea and making !

Split82 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Super innovative :) Great job.

Brickkid512 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Very Creative, Nice Job!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:27pm

I mean.. do I need to add more compliments to the list? Just fantastic as always, and I really wonder how you managed to do that in only 2 days.

Kalkatos says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Brilliant, just brilliant!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Nice job as always. Very clever use of the theme.

qristofer says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Wow. The best spam filter!

andyman404 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:05pm

This is so innovative! Great work again Managore!

crazya says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:09am

Well I can't help but absolutely love this. Getting all the database code working within 48 hours is especially impressive!

reheated says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Innovation: Of course! Very original gameplay.
Fun: I had fun playing a few other peoples' levels and then making one of my own. You've got the right audience here to make a user-based content game.
Theme: Yes.
Graphics: For a game that's basically text, this has good graphics!
Audio: N/A (why? Maybe this was the right decision, but I'm used to hearing something?)
Humor: It's an amusing concept, and if that's not enough, I suppose we could all post some jokes.
Mood: It has the mood of a chat room.
Overall: Very original and the platformer gameplay is well implemented too. Excellent game.
(Bonus category) Technical: I'm especially impressed that you made an game with an online component in the time frame.

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:41pm

As usual, genius use of the theme!

Ethan Allwood says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Wow... This is such a cool idea making text into the levels and I love that I can make my own challenges and experiment with different obstacles.

Swordbrella says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:37pm

Simply amazing. How do you do these things in so little time? I mean, come on, designing, programming, art. How fast can someone get?

Palys Plays says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Wow, this is amazing! I love the idea that you must complete the level if you want to send it. It makes all the levels solvable. Great game!

M2tias says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Great idea. The premade levels were a lot of fun, but after those the elements were a bit too one dimensional to carry the game. And it got really hard. The touch, animation and graphics were top notch. Awesome!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:44pm

I like the idea in this one … And the graphics are clean enough. I wish there was more to it, though! Like, I don't know … unicode support? :D Just kidding. Maybe multi-character combinations that would create something unique? More letters that do stuff? A way to connect levels vertically? Sounds, music?

Just some ideas. Even without them this is a very solid entry.

oyoh says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:28am

You are a freakin' genius... Every single one of your games are incredible, i'm so envious ! As always, fantastic work, Bravo.

Jerodak says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:21am

Great idea! I think there needs to be a way to search for levels by criteria though such as by creator name, if you've completed it or not, or if it has a heart and so on. Maybe faster scrolling might be good too or just the ability to jump around within the chat by typing the line you want to skip ahead to or by being able to go up and down a full screen. This is a really cool idea though, nice work on the submission.

Jerodak says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:23am

And I just noticed that the post-compo build has those features already. Nevermind!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:49am

This is absolutely amazing.

It might be one of the best games I've ever played. With all the level editors / share your level clones coming out since Mario Maker (BoxMaker etc..) its astounding you made one of the most accessible, lively, community inspiring, innovative share/make level games out there in just... what 48 hours? 72? Doesn't matter. You are brilliant my friend.

Dia6lo says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:00pm

VIDEOGAMESVIDEOGAMESVIDEOGAMESVIDEOGAMESVIDEOGAMESVIDEOGAMES

jordgubben says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:41pm

This is probably the most bizarre Idea I've seen so far (in LD37). To bad it's windows only. Would have loved this as a web game.

Alexbrainbox says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Out of the park as usual.

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:36pm

I love the fact that you included a way for users to generate the little mini-levels. Adding a few sounds would make it even better. A very innovative game and a very creative use of the theme.

8Bit says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Such a good idea managore! Hope i was like you ;(

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Brilliant. Nothing else to say. I love it.

TajamSoft says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:37pm

Woah! Impressive as usual!
It's so awesome how dynamic the character feels being only a few pixels. The only issue is the lack of sound, but well, it's a chatroom ;)

TeamBALD says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Super impressive game again. The only thing I could think of to improve it would be a little background ditty to play as you "type". Always astounded at what you manage to improve in just a couple of days, not just in terms of the quality, but the way you manage to twist the theme in a way that I never expect.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:50pm

That was awesome ! No other word ! The most clever concept I've seen so far !

GFM says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:18pm

What an amazing idea! Congratulations! =D

LeoM says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:30pm

This is just crazy !

A great idea and an awesome realization !

Siridakis says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Really cool :) What an awesome idea!

Broxxar says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:18am

Genius as always!

jlcarruda says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:36am

Wow ... That was an anwesome idea! I didn't expected that haha.

The most innovative level editor I've got the chance to test. Congratulations, man.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Impressive, as always.
The only remark I would have made has already been taken in account by the postcompo so, congrats on that too :)

Olowynd says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:55pm

The concept is just really awesome and unique, I would love to write stories that can be played with meaning with the letters and words used in the gameplay with it.
In the current state the gameplay is a little too rigid and there is a lack of sounds feedbacks for get in a even cooler mood, but this is just incredible. This is just the best gameplay idea I've seen during this LD, great job as always, very inventive !

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Incredible idea and awesome game!

Dec 20, 2016 @ 2:59pm

Perfect score. Impressive as always!

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 1:51am

What can I say. Certainly one of the most innovative entries I've seen so far. Great job! Some simple sound effects would have been really neat.

ValiaP says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Seriously cool idea! Loved it.

Dec 21, 2016 @ 6:29pm

whhaaaaaat.... this is incredibly clever and unique. Like, I'm struggling fathoming it. I'm beyond impressed.

cgd11 says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 10:16am

Great idea, as everyone has said already, a really really awesome work. Hope it was also for OSx though :(

euske says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 10:48am

I feel like I'm late to the party, but holy crap.

PRANEET56 says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Very Innovative game! First, when I saw the images here I wasn't expecting of such a good game. Then, after I played it, I came to know about the idea and it was pretty cool!!

skorpyo says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Holy cow! First thoughts: "Someone made a chat bot?" But WOW! This is so cool. This game is so unique! Can't find the right words. Great job!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 8:15am

Wow, amazing idea! Innovation winner here for sure :)

Dec 25, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Another totally awesome entry from you! I've only started participating in Ludum Dare this year but already know you and how awesome your games always are :D Thanks btw for checking out my entry too ;)

yuigoto says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Technically, it's beautiful! Every single message becoming a level is great! :D Quite innovative too!

Depending on the screen size, levels feel a bit small, but it's ok, I believe. :P As for the theme, single-room chat windows fits quite well the concept for the game, as well as the title. :)

Having a timer and also the necessity of finishing the level before being published is also really nice to avoid people spamming, though every now and then some weird stuff might come out. :P

Controls for platforming feel really nice! They respond quickly and playing feels quite good, and not so slippery.

Great work! :)

giordanno92 says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 7:58pm

By far the coolest and most original entry on this LD! I liked the details and we can get pretty much lost in just creating and replaying levels. The fact that you play levels made by others just enhance the experience by a ton! I just can't wait to show this to my friends. Since I'm not rating audio, I won't judge the lack of it, but the platforming is my major problem with this game. It would be pretty obvious that people would make levels that will use precision platforming, yet the character is not precise since he carries a little bit of momentum as we let go the running button. I think that making him more responsive would be far better to the entire experience. That's pretty much it. I loved the game and will be making some more levels for it whenever I'm bored or something like that. I'm betting on this entry to win.

blackoptics8 says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 8:59am

Great mechanics as usual ;D
love it <3
nice to see you added the ability to reach the last comment.

tellus says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 4:16pm

I really liked the animations and how the characters were color coded. Really cool compo entry!

stuffedgravy says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 8:06pm

The text version of that draw-your-bike flash game from a few years ago! This is very cool, and was a refreshing take on the theme. The ascii features are really cool. My ONLY constructive criticism is that I wish there was a bit more vertical whitespace between messages, so the platforming isn't as cramped (but I can also see how that would affect the look of the chatroom negatively). Amazing job!

Tifu says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 2:31am

This is awesome! Great idea, really fun!

RGB Games says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 1:05am

You've done it again! Absolutely brilliant and incredible game. It was super fun designing levels and seeing what all the different characters do. It'd be neat to see more letters doing stuff in the future, but still fantastic.

Multiplexor says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:37am

Simply awesome! Innovative, polished, multiplayer, it has everything!!

I think that some sound/music would've been great to seal the deal! Still, a masterpiece!

Well done sire! Keep up the good work!

Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:48am

Brilliant entry, loved everything about this one. Clever use of text and level design and such a fun game to play. Absolutely amazing, nice job.

Notester says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 2:45am

I really love this game's mechanics! :)

FiloGC says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 3:19pm

Deserved

Jan 3, 2017 @ 8:41pm

This game is great! congrats on the win in both innovation and overall!

KaiseanGames says ...
Jan 5, 2017 @ 2:12pm

Shut up and take my money. :)

andwin says ...
Jan 13, 2017 @ 10:31am

Good game!

Jan 26, 2017 @ 5:03pm

Pssst! You have been featured on today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQuGv2kBvnw

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]