Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Cubestrophobia

by mipo - Jam Entry

Collect all the green cubes while navigating an ever shifting room and dodging the deadly red projectiles.

Controls
-Movement: Arrow Keys + Mouse
-Jump/Double Jump: Space-bar
-Pause: Tab
-Reset: F

Contributors
-Adam Grieger: Audio
-Marshall Pelissier: Everything else (:

(the web version display was acting up for me, I think there is a bug with the generated web page itself not the game. The best browser for me was chrome without fullscreen)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#202Theme(Jam)3.96
#224Audio(Jam)3.50
#408Fun(Jam)3.20
#415Innovation(Jam)3.16
#503Graphics(Jam)3.36
#578Overall(Jam)3.15
#608Mood(Jam)3.00

Comments

guoboism says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:01am

I like the simplistic graphic stryle.

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:06am

I really enjoyed this. It's a super simple concept but it's executed so well and the music is so good!! I was moving side to side while playing it haha.

Actually the moment the music played I knew I was in for a good time. Great job with the shifting room cubes as well! I could see this turning into something pretty cool with a lot more work.

I played on web without any problems :)

Geosearchef says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:08am

Nice game, the gameplay and art style are quite simple but can indeed produce a lot of fun.

AXaViaN says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:10pm

I like the concept. It is simple and effective :)

Fiote/Phanx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:01pm

Wow that was a nice experience! Loved this low-gravity-room style. It lags badly on the 'resetting' part but that was expected i suppose (tons os blocks!)

Fiote/Phanx says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:30am

About your comment on my game regarding the energy system: stopping the hp/mp regeneration instead of killing you is a pretty good idea/change! If we keep working on it, i'll surely change that. Thanks for the input!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:22pm

This escalated quickly. :)

It was too heavy for my graphics card. I had to lower the rez.

All in all, nice idea.

novotmike says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:39pm

When you first time stand in the middle and see the walls moving that was so great. All around very well made, music as well as sounds were simple but quite fitting.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Cool concept.

The game was really laggy thought een on my gaming pc, when the room reset. You could add some feedbag when we die as well, took me some time to figure out why the game resets .

nassi says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Cool concept, graphically reminiscent of Q.U.B.E in my opinion. Couldn't make it past the level with five green blocks, going back one level upon death was pretty harsh in my opinion.

Double jump was useful, but I think the gravity could've been even lower. A lot of time was spent waiting for the cubes to move low enough for me to attempt to grab them. Wall-jumping might've also worked.

Solid jam game though, keep up the good work!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:37pm

So addicting! Really good take on the theme. The jumping and movement felt like it was in a good place. There were enough red cubes to promote thoughtful movement without feeling like it was an impossible task to navigate them. Awesome stuff!

hexachrome says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:23pm

I bit laggy on web build but nice game though! Well done !

Cody Hansen says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 5:18am

I loved the beat of this song! Very fitting.
Your character felt very floaty though, making him difficult to control. That could have been intentional, but the degree of which was a little high.
Also, since TAB pauses the game, I think it would have been optimal to have it unpause as well.

All in all, the game's style and gameplay really pulls it all together. And I did have a lot of fun playing! The difficulty really pushed me. Good game!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]