Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Escape

by DMajor - Compo Entry

The goal is to escape the room, the catch is you are very small, and must traverse the furniture to even reach the door handle.

WASD and space to move, as well as left and right click to use the teleporting as self administered checkpoints.

For the first time in a while I made it in the compo time limit, the last couple of jams I tended to decide to just get an extra day to do things but I decided on a hardline stance for this one, ironically this game is more of a game than some of my previous entries.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#194Theme3.86
#376Innovation2.95
#457Graphics2.68
#574Overall2.64
#602Fun2.09
#826Coolness48%

Comments

Mr.Chippy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:29am

Congratulation on doing the compo.
The controls were very slippery and it was really hard to make most of the jumps. I gave up at the guitar part because I couldn't manage to just to the guitar. The checkpoint system was nice though.

Squid says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:39am

I was not able to make it past the guitar. The game looked pretty good.

Fylipp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:10am

The concept is nice, but the implementation has some minor issues: the floor is very slippery, character movement is essentially gliding

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:23am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Dogeveloper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:58am

Nice idea but bad controls which basically kill all the fun.

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:35am

Great job on getting the game done for the compo!

The players movement was very hard to control due to it being slippery. The checkpoint system made it easier for me to persist.

Great concept, be cool if you were to post another version with better controls one day :)

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:46pm

That effect on sides of the camera, amazing!
Congratulation on a success compo run.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:42pm

nice art, liked the game

automatonvx says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Nice idea, and solid enough artwork, but the controls were really tricky, personally would have preferred a third person view for this kind of thing

shnitzhell says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:52pm

very smart concept i like it!

HawkSandwich says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:39pm

This isn't a bad thought, but it wasn't very well executed :/
A few tips about things that caused me a lot of frustration while playing:
Textures. In a game where you have to walk long distances, a texture can really help you feel like you're going somewhere. If all you can see is the same 100% smooth floor underneath you, it feels like you're standing still.
Another thing: The controls were terribly slippy. In a platformer, nice controls are key. If your controls are bad in a game like this, people will give up instantly.
Lastly, a shadow. You added a shadow to the player, but have one directly under you, even though less realistic, can really feel nice and helps the player do what they wanna do. Nice concept, but you may need some more practice ;)

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:05pm

I couldn't really figure out what to do, and the field of view was crazy. So I had to stop, but great effort! I'm really impressed by what people can do in 48 hours. Gratz.

qFrct says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:11am

Well, controls are a bit too slippery (too much inertia), and difficulty is high since the first jumps because of that.
Gave up at the guitar too. Need bigger jump ?
Thanks for teleportation, btw ^^

ring says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:04am

Thank god for location saving. Just before reaching the handle i accidentally saved instead of loading when I fell. Checkpoints would have worked better I think :D

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]