Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Loft is in the air

by Oddly Shaped Pixels - Jam Entry

One-room loft is the new trend!!!

So as the best real estate agent in town, you can't let that opportunity pass. Wait! There are no more one-room lofts left to rent??

That won't stop you... You can perfectly turn any average flat into a shining one-room loft!

-----

Play as the finest real estate agent in town and break all the walls you can find in those flats to turn them into one-room loft! Beware of the rats and the security cameras!

Earn some money by satisfying your customers, do the make over with style, find extra money and buy new abilities with all that cash you have!

-----

IMPORTANT: You can only break the walls were they are already damaged (orange zigzags)

-----

Controls:

Controller
----Menu
A: Select
B: Switch Map/Shopping list
----Basic movement
Stick: Move
Up/Down when not moving: Look up&down
A: Jump
Down+A : Drop (on furnitures and one-way platforms)
Up/Down+A on doors: Climb up/Climb down
X: Dash
----Extra ability:
Y: Throw ninja suitcase
Down+Y : Place bomb suitcase

Keyboard
----Mapping 1 (for QWERTY keyboards)
WASD: Stick
Space/U/I/O: A/X/Y/B buttons

----Mapping 2 (for AZERTY keyboards)
Arrows: Stick
Space/Z/X/C: A/X/Y/B buttons

-------------
Jam version

The jam version is only limited to one level (quite hard btw), because I haven't had the time to build the ones I had designed in the 72h. But it has got all the mechanics and you can replay it until you get enough money to buy some of the cool upgrades :) It also haven't got any music, also due to the lack of time

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#43Fun(Jam)4.00
#51Overall(Jam)4.04
#64Graphics(Jam)4.43
#73Humor(Jam)3.81
#116Innovation(Jam)3.80
#129Theme(Jam)4.10
#334Mood(Jam)3.49

Comments

siryakko says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:56am

Interesting take on the theme, love the graphics and the overall mood :D

Junber says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:20pm

That was really hard. It wasn't easy to clear even the first level. The graphics were nice and this interpretation of the theme is amazing. Generally there was quite a lot of polish in the game with the only thing missing being music. Also it would have been nice to see the keyboard controls, not just the controller ones. Except from that a really great game. Good job.

wowa_u says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:05pm

Cool entry, i had a lot of fun! Just one thing, sometimes i died unexpectedly while switching the floor, because of a enemy in the door.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:32pm

@wowa_u Thank's a lot! I forgot to put that you can look up&down when not moving, pretty useful when switching floor :)

Illutax says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Very funny :D

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Really fun and nicely made game! :)

Nino9612 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Nice work overall the best one i played so far.
It would be cool if there was keyboard icons on the ui instead of those for the xbox controller its confusing on the first time xD

Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Impressive amount of content for a Ludum Dare. Clever use of theme. Tight controls, cool sounds. Ramps up difficulty pretty fast. Good work! :D

Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:50pm

Great game! My only note is that I think the button layout for the keyboard could be optimized a bit better. You can try W, A, S, D space and J, K, L. That way players don't have to take their hands off the keyboard to play. I wish I had a controller to play but unfortunately I didn't.

nick.bota says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:03pm

This game deserves 5 start for sure! Impressive graphics, awesome soundtrack and sound FX, responsive controls and challenging levels all help make this a very enjoyable game!

luke says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:11pm

The game is beautiful, and break the walls is really fun, but I think it's missing the objective of the game or i cant understand, it is a really fun game :3

indrkl says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:14pm

I don't understand what are my tools against rats? Also, it would be nice if there would be keyboard keys somewhere cos many people don't have joystick. Otherwise very nice visuals, and the take on the theme is brilliant. I believe it actually has quite some potential.

Brickkid512 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Definitely a game I would play hours on end. Good Job!

Diplodino says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:44pm

GREAT ! But you can't have three stars un the last level (there is eletricity behind a metal wall you must dash into!).
But anyway, this is a great work ! Really fun to play, had me hanged on !

Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:21pm

@Diplodino You can!!! :) You just have to jump just after breaking it.

pmarincak says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Great job \o/

This was a really interesting implementation of the theme and it was pleasantly challenging.

One thing I'd like to note is that when you finish breaking all the walls to give some sort of indicator to leave the building. I was jumping around wondering if I had missed a wall or gotten them all until I figured to try and leave.

It would also be nice if you could kill those mice by dashing through them or something? Extra bonus for the new tenant. ;)

Dec 20, 2016 @ 11:39am

@pmarincak Thank's, that's a great idea!
At first I wanted to make 2 kind of rats, one you can kill by dashing into them, the other one only with suitcases. But even for the postcompo I thought it was to much to add as it was not intended in the compo design. But that should definitely be in the game if it were to be extended

Vertigon says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Nice polished entry. Liked all the upgrades. This take on One Room theme was pretty funny. The game could be pretty frustrating since I ran into rats that were offscreen a couple times. Jumping and bashing felt really tight, a nice accomplishment for a jam. Well done.

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Really hard and nice game good mood and I loved the music and graphics

Coomzy says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Wow very polished. Nice graphics and animations, sound too! Got used to that level after a couple of goes, hard at first, much easier with the upgrades.

Berbecarul says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Very nice game and quite polished. The keyboard controls were a bit weird. Good job!

ijzm says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 12:08am

I enjoyed the game overall, although the post-compo version's level variety and music makes it pretty superior. The use of the theme was pretty clever, and I love the game's visual design and charm. The rats were the only part I wasn't fond of, as they can be unpredictable and annoying at times, but including the upgrades mostly makes up for that.

~TinyCastleGuy

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Yay, I beat it! Last level is really hard to get all the stars, those dang rats. Very good game, very fun, the best submission I have seen so far. Great Job!

SeaDads says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Wow, suuuuuper polished, all the intros and menues and everything are really impressive, and the platforming feel is supurb. Amazing job!

Dec 22, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Very nicely polished game! Quite hard though! Still, very well done. Congrats!

xesenix says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Great game but you need to work on keyboard controls they reasons why i quit after first level (strange combinations of keys)

DOXM says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 1:14pm

the graphics are amazing! The game is enjoyable, and innovative. It stands out. Great game overall.

automatonvx says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Great work, tried the post jam version also, liked the music, it was the icing on the cake. Pretty hard though, not sure if the way the furniture falls is random but it felt that way, it would have been nice to have more control over how it fell so i could use it as a platform more easily. Great job.

bigoss73 says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 7:27pm

I really enjoy it, extremly nice entry. Oh and by the way i found a bug: the camera on the top floor of the 2nd level seems to be shooting in the wrong direction.

handoharken says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Very well executed game. Felt great to play! My one criticism would be that using the doors felt fiddly at times, other than that a great game with awesome art!

Patomkin says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Wow, that was really impressive! Nice graphics, idea, sounds, music. Everything feels polished... Oh wait, I played "Postcompo" version, did I? :D
Anyway, really nice one. Except controls on the keyboard - it's hard! :)

Jan 1, 2017 @ 8:53pm

Ahahaha, nice job done on this one !!! Love the idea ! Sure missing a few different levels in the normal entry but it's really fun to play this game ! The level with rats is hard at first but when you get the strategy it's pretty nice ! Well done !!! And loce the dialogs too :p

ring says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 1:20pm

I loved your theme interpretation. Also: great game!

PixlWalkr says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 1:47pm

Fun and polished game. graphics is also nice!

pixzleone says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 3:11pm

Very good graphics, impressive how polished it feels. Well done!

Skruffye says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 3:22pm

Cool game. Found some of the levels to be pretty strangely designed. I often had trouble getting out of a place that I had broken into because the floor above was now missing. This would be fine if the aim of the game was to carefully plan how you were going to demolish the walls, but you added a countdown timer, so it didn't seem that that was what you were going for.

Really enjoyed the concept and the death animation/effect was surprisingly epic. :)

Great job!

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:24pm

I played only the jam version so far, but there's already a ton of great stuff going on here. Love the art, very unique take on the theme, interesting mechanic and overall super polished. I didn't have a gamepad to use, so I struggled a little with the controls. Hoping to find some time soon to give the post-compo version a shot - awesome work!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]