Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Five Star Hotel

by paradxil - Compo Entry

NOTE: WEB VERSION IS NOT WORKING AT PRESENT. I AM TRYING TO GET IT FIXED. IT LOOKS LIKE THE SERVER IS DOWN, HOPEFULLY THE ISSUE WILL BE RESOLVED SOON. IN THE MEANTIME, USE THE WINDOWS OR ANDROID VERSION.

Manage a Hotel with one room! Move the room between guests to keep them happy.

Use WASD/Finger to move the room!

Premise:
You are running a hotel with only one room. Get your room to all the guests to keep them happy, and don’t forget to give the king extra room time! If you don’t get the room to a guest in time, they will leave and your rating will drop! Survive the fast paced chaos of running a hotel for 30 days, and see how many stars you can keep, if any at all! Lose all your stars… and its game over!

Keep five stars for 30 days to be the best hotel management guru.

Move the room by swiping, or tapping where you want the room to move.

Service different guests with different needs, from simple people, to kings, queens, and even Santa and his elves! Some guests are needier than others, and you will have to get them the room more often.

Play the game that critics and users have described as:

"Horrible!"
"Time-wasting!"
"Lame."
"Fast Paced."

And more!

Notes: You can download for Android on google play. It is a post-compo version however. The compo version is very fast paced and a little too hard. I made it a bit easier for the android version.

Web: Works on Firefox for sure. Other browsers may not work correctly. If your keyboard buttons don't seem to be working properly, try a different browser. Also, it takes a while to load. If you are impatient (like me) it is probably faster to download the app or windows version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#111Theme4.06
#164Innovation3.56
#166Humor3.03
#209Graphics3.44
#260Overall3.40
#316Fun3.16
#343Mood3.03

Comments

tigerfinch says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:14am

Really like the idea and look of this. Found it a little hard to get to grips with - couldn't easily move the room to the guests. It was also very fast!

ZQMony says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:17am

Really nice game and very innovative and unique. I happened to see your blog post for it and couldn't wait to try it out. My arm is pretty tired after playing it.

BerneyTD says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:17am

Wow! This game was really hectic to play. I really enjoyed playing the game and it was really exciting. the movement felt nice, the graphics look good and the way you taught how to play the game was neat! i only got 1 star by the end of the 30 days and I would say it's impossible to get 5! But it was a fun game! Really enjoyed it!

paradxil says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:19am

I'm glad you guys have enjoyed it!
Game play is fast.... I didn't have quite enough time to get the difficulty correct. On the android version I have gotten 4 stars, but not 5.

siryakko says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:30am

Really great game, at first it was a bit painful, but then i played it full screen and it was more enjoyable. Nice idea, nice graphics, a better difficulty balance would be perfect

fishbrain says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:11am

Such a simple and beautifully elegant little game. Well done! I'd like to see another mechanic (not sure what?) to give the game some more depth.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:13am

Very cool idea and koncept! Very hectic indeed. Though I thought the days were a bit too long. Would have like shorter play sessions. But overall very impressed. Loved the simple art style.

Donar says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:17am

Nice little game but I find the controlls a bit too unresponsive for it's difficulty. I guess the swiping works better on mobile but will still be not as responsive as arrow keys would be. Clicking doesn't work well, then the room goes where it wants because the smallest mouse movement is registered as a swipe.

Insality says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:17am

the idea of LD theme is strong, simple nice implementation

The perfect strategy of the game, do the mouse spawns and press WASD keys in one moment to faster scroll other all hotel :))

Got some fun from your game! nice work

PaidGEEK says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:18am

Cool minimalistic art style and a fun idea. A bit too hard. Rapid WASD clicking on a mechanical keyboard is not pleasant :)

kidando says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:00am

I made it to 12 days. And I had about 2 stars. This is fast paced (or at least that's how I was playing it). Awesome stuff.

paradxil says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:12pm

Thanks for playing guys!! I'm glad you guys are enjoying it.

victorcrafty says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:19pm

I realy like your idea and graphic look good . Keep doing games

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Should win

mutuware says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:53pm

Nice pixel art and original!

timgarbos says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Great idea, but I hope you get to add that something extra that it's missing. The best strategy for me seemed to just keep moving in the same pattern reaching all of the rooms once in a while.

Kurakurt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:26pm

One room? This is best theme realization!

indieyp says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Nice logic, i think it's great for mobile devices

Mieeh says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Wow, that was hard and fast. Great use of theme and lovely graphics!

cyfixus says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:56pm

that was rough they start wanting rooms so fast, probably a little easier on a device mousing a bit clunky but super fun. I really like your menu system with the shifting scene

sollinxp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:16am

hard as hell, but very good use of theme, well done!

xclementx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:17am

Some troubles with your website... Too bad !

paradxil says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:25am

Hmm I don't know what's wrong. I'll see what I can do.

paradxil says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:29am

Looks like the server is down. I'm working to get it fixed.

RetroSpecter says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:27am

It's an interesting idea, though the controls are a little bit clumsy, at least when I 'm trying to play with a mouse.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:25am

Great way to brush up on my WASD skills. This is definitely one of the better uses of the theme I've seen so far.

Tezra says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:36am

Great concept which is really funny but quite difficult, so I only got to Day 23. At first I was wondering if I should linger on some people longer to improve my hotel rating, but it seems not.

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:26am

Haha pretty fun game! My fingers are tired now XD

MCRewind says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:27am

Fun game, very unique and fast paced, eye catching yet simple graphics. I like it!

onixowl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:36am

Very nice idea!

CandyCreep says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:33am

So few pixels, yet so describing. Good job!

leondryaso says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:01am

Really nice game, maybe a bit too hard, the days could be shorter. Anyway, I'm gonna keep it on my phone for a while.

TubbyS says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:00am

Nice idea, I keep losing, but I keep wanting to play, very nice

JK5000 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:04pm

Great idea, but as you mentioned it is too fast and too hard. Best part of the game is animations and graphics.

wowods says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:17pm

Game's quite fun, it's kinda hard to keep it running because guest is too fast to catch on.

TheHighChairs says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:39pm

love these kind of management games, and the hecticness of it!

panurge says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:56pm

I seem to have lost all feeling in my left hand! That was a very hectic experience but a lot of fun too. I like the mechanic and the clean visual style. Good work!

paradxil says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! I love making a game people enjoy.

Fidrik says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Simple game with a cool concept, I enjoyed playing it. Sometimes had difficulty with getting the room to the right place, but overall its a solid game! Well done.

negativice says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Very good twist on the one room theme :)

Quaternius says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Really liked the idea, the controls were a bit funky tough! but overall i liked it.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:00am

Liked the art of the game and also mechanic is good

Doomdad says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Really innovative game. It was quite hard also and first it was really hard to grasp the idea of the game. When you get it, it's really fun to play. There could have been some music or sound effects to give a response example for losing a star.

Overall, really fun hotel game!

rayriver says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:41am

Simple and fun!

Alexbrainbox says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:24am

Interesting take. Somewhere between sliding block puzzle and whack a mole!

I played the Android version and now my index finger hurts from swiping ;)

Dec 20, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Hard game but really innovative!
I survive till day 16

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]