Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Cure4Life

by Gipzo - Jam Entry

Story
You're trapped in an abandoned room with some biological and medical equipment and workbench.

Strange zombie-like creatures are attacking this one room and your goal is not to die by upgrading yourself and your weapons.

Genre​
Survival action game​

​Controls​
WASD - move
Mouse - aim
LMB - shoot
E - Use/Craft
1,2,3,4 - Switch weapon

​Team​
Artem Shambalev aka Gipzo - Programming, Game Design, Sound
Vitali Poliakou aka Chimera​ - Art, Game Design

Music by
Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/​

Mac OS and Windows versions can be downloaded from itch.io.

Update 13 Dec 2016:
Fixed sound bugs and some minor balance.
Nothing new, just tweaking game to be more accessible.
Jam builds can still be found on itch.io

Update 14 Dec 2016:
Finally fixed axe bug!
Jam builds can still be found on itch.io

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#8Fun(Jam)4.29
#28Overall(Jam)4.22
#62Theme(Jam)4.28
#64Mood(Jam)4.05
#65Audio(Jam)3.95
#101Graphics(Jam)4.33
#269Humor(Jam)3.08
#359Innovation(Jam)3.28

Comments

velvetlobster says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:09pm

The battle system is interesting, combining mouse hits, upgrades that require time like in gods will be watching and weapons system. I had a really good time, this game is kinda addicting. Having different kinds of zoombies with time would make this a great and fun mobile game.

Thijs Tak says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:12pm

Its a fun quick game, however the best weapon is the starting axe due to the knockback and you can keep playing the game after you lose.

Also, in every attempt the axe stopped working after a while. One time even after the first wave.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Wow. Super-fun game. I love the "Hold E" mechanic for upgrades, etc. I will say I couldn't find a chance to get the rifle. Once I had enough scraps the zombies were too thick for me to hold E long enough.

Also, my axe stopped working halfway through. Is that supposed to happen?

Asghardian says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:11pm

The game is sick (in a good way) one of the bests I`ve played so far in this LD.

The visuals are beautiful. Congrats to Chimera for the amazing pixel art.
The mechanics, as well, works very good. Good work Gipzo.

The only problem was that the game tends to get repetitive (besides the axe stop working issue).

But I guess this game is worth the 5 stars. Great job, guys! =D

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Really fun game! The music and the graphics were awesome. You could improve the zombie animations. Keep up the good work.

JayProg says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Loved the power progression with crafted weapons and research upgrades!

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:15am

One of my favourites so far. Overall it's great, unfortunately I couldn't get to the end because it was too difficult for me :P

The only things I didn't like very much were the shooting mechanics, particularly the sounds and the lack of a crosshair. Good knockback, though. Nice work, keep it up! :)

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:33am

I love your style! You've done good sprites man, it's awesome!

MrErdalUral says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:28am

I loved the way how you did the attack animation. I will have to look at it and study :)

rayriver says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:29am

Good game!

NoobDude29 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:40am

The game is fun, the audio is amazing, i love the soundtrack and the sound fx for the axe, not so much the rifle, it could be a bit balanced since the shotgun is pretty useless, and i love the little comments after you reach 100%

jsmars says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:32am

Really nice game! Feels really complete. Only thing I'd change is a a bit of balance, early on it feels way to easy, but later on it feels almost impossible to kill them even with the last upgrade since I felt the shotgun wasn't very strong. Sadly I died at about 50%.
It was really nice music, too bad the sound effects took over a bit much.

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:58pm

I liked it, really cool art, great gameplay.

I think it got a bit too easy after you craft the pistol, but amazing you made this in such a short time frame. Cheers.

seizeTheDia says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:33pm

That was FUN! I was about to comment that it was too easy until a horde that would just NOT GO DOWN murdered me while trying to heal. Fun stuff. Obviously needs some balancing with gun dmg and mob HP but I had a great time losing so, thumbs up!
The placement of the worktables was excellent, since it forces you to stand in a place where you are easily surrounded. Some suggestions:
- Faster / Stronger leader mobs that spawn at certain intervals to ramp up the tension
- A chance of being injured when hit, which could affect your move speed until you "fix" yourself at the heal station
- I would love to get some UI telling me what the result of achieving more research will be ( might be a meta thing but it could help the player create a strategy )

Good work!

Infin8 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:04pm

I had fun playing this, managed to get rifle and was impossible(for my case) to get the shotgun. Was scary to see the mob piling up, felt the sense of dread like in The Walking Dead.

PolygonTeam says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Fun gameplay. So soft. Interesting character. yes, i like it!

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Nicely done! Having the axe bring you closer to your enemies is a really nice touch, and the decaying-hold-to-upgrade is very fun. I'd love it if the pacing were a bit faster - I didn't have to plan the use of my time until about 5 minutes into the game.

Asghardian says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Really nice gameplay and graphic, good SFX also, just didn't found the shotgun very useful, good work (:

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:06pm

cool! awesomely done. bullet doesn't come out if you stand on the top left corner though... 5/5

Hempuli says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Very polished! I liked the upgrade system and the look of the game. The combat system was also in-depth enough to keep the game interesting, although it would've been neat to have the game ramp up difficulty a bit faster. Ended up getting 110% research before quitting.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:31am

Really great work. Highest I have is 45%, damn it gets brutal. So much fun to play.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:26pm

I was blown away by the mood crafted from the music, color palette, pace and density of the zombies! On my laptop's trackpad, I felt awkward moving the mouse and clicking while using keyboard arrow keys. I banged on my keyboard hoping that there would be a keyboard way to attack and aim, such as WASD and SPACE to aim and attack.

NickZangus says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:15pm

Wow! This is absolutely one of my favourite entries. Great atmosphere, is like a fusion between Resident Evil and Risk Of Rain... I see a lot of potential. Keep up the good work!

Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Great Start! I hope to see rogue-like version of this in future. The damage feedback sounds were painful for the ears.

bes_kurales says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Good job :) nice balance.

dusho says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:08pm

wow.. amazing game with really nice feel.. and cool music

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 7:50pm

good use of theme, and the mood you set with the music was great. loved the mechanic and the graphics were great. great game.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Addictive game, multiple enemy types would definitely help.

DevForPizza says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 11:53am

Best game I've test for this Ludum dare, Good Job !

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:19pm

Nice, bit too clicky for me (RSI) but I still played for a good while.

rilifon says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:41pm

WOW! Awesome game! Really well done, it's fun.

Is it just me or is the shotgun worse than the rifle?

Gipzo says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:44pm

@rilifon, yeah, shotgun is pretty bad.
We are trying to make proper post-jam version with many balance changes :)

pyokoanarogue says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Great entry. very polished. played the web version on itch.io but took too long to craft the shotgun .then it became unattainable. balance? or not the best player ? you decide !

limmmmm says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Really fun!

This feels complete and very well-made. I'll probably have to try it again later, i died a little after getting the shotgun.. bearded-cardigan-guy is pretty cool, too.

Dec 20, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Awesome game! I love the animations, art, and gameplay. The time pressure when upgrading/ect while zombies are slowly approaching works really well. My only complaint is the pacing is really slow, and it is really slow with no real pressure for a long time.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 1:44am

Excellent game. The blood effect was great. It was a bit too slow at the beginning though.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Game is a bit grindy but it is still fun. Great entry.

Karai17 says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 11:19pm

I got the rifle but the waves were too much for the last weapon. I gotta say, this seems like the most fun I've had with any game on LD. I will totally keep playing this a few more rounds.

Hamsternator says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Very nice zombie wave slasher thingie =)
I don't have anything big to add that hasn't been said but I did find the camera to be a bit uncooperative when you wanted it to scroll down. The camera worked perfect when scrolling upwards though ^^

Very nice job =)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 2:45am

Got to 121% research before quitting =P Pretty fun nice little game, glad someone picked up this approach to the theme. As you already know, the shotgun is a bit shoddy and the trusty rifle was the one that went the distance. Might want to turn down the volume on the rifle firing sound though, it gets grating after a long while.

As mentioned, the game does get a little bit repetitive, but you guys have got a nice start to something cool here!

mirta000 says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 5:58am

was far more fun than I thought it would be. Could not understand the purpose of a pistol as it felt worse than the axe. I'm not one for zombie games, but this one was fantastic!

JackTheOgre says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Really good game, comrads. Enjoyed it. Though almost impossible to craft a shotgun. It would've been better if damage by the axe was not fixed (like CONST + TIME*KOEF). Or an opportunity to upgrade it. So the player can choose a strategy - gather them together and kill with an axe or slay em one by one.
Mechanics remind Bastion a little(and I love that game).
P.S. Yeah, once you killed a thousand of them - пол действительно мокрый ;в

Almax27 says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 12:06am

Loved it! One of my favorite entries so far! Well designed, executed and polished.

Pros
* Gameplay goals are intuitive
* Tight movement, aiming and weapon mechanics make combat very satisfying
* Graphics are good and UI is clear
* Hold 'e' mechanic adds an extra element of danger as you can't attack or move away without canceling (being able to move was a good choice as it allows a small amount of zombie avoidance and doesn't feel too restrictive

Cons (mostly nitpicking)
* Research takes too long - drags game out
* Tables can block gun shots unfairly (collider too big?)
* Without an ammo system previous weapons become redundant
* Shotgun doesn't do damage per 'shot' hit, meaning point blank does the same damage as 1% of the spread, making the shotgun a more effective long range weapon...
* More enemy types would be nice :P

Jan 10, 2017 @ 6:31pm

Love the fact that we were researching the zombie skin! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/xG2aiO_VsBw

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]