Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

FUNRiDE!

by SUNFURY - Jam Entry

== Story ==

They're all tough,
They're all determined,
But there's only -one room- in this arena (which is also one room ;D)
Animals from all over the world have gathered together to decide
which animal is the ultimate ride and the best survivor?

Pick your animal, choose the way you control it and start the entertaining fight!
You can play against bots, or your friends (on the same keyboard)!

== Set Characters ==

1) Click on the button above the player to decide whether a human plays it, a bot, or noone
2) You can also pick a name for each player
3) Click on the character to change it
4) If you chose a human, choose the way you want to control it

== Controls ==

Click the button below a character to change the way you control it,

Keyboard keys - decide which way to apply force (up, down, left, right)
Mouse - click on the arena and the player will follow your mouse

== Powerups ==

1) Boot with wings - speed up
2) Cake - shrinks your character
3) Blue Potion - grows your character
4) Red/Blue Capsule - let you pass through objects

== Team ==
>Tom - Unity programmer
>Rom - Character Designer
>Artur - General Designer
>Assaf - Music

== Team Say ==

We must say, that we really had too many unpredictable occurances,
therefore we couldn't work full time on the game
yet, we're pretty satisfied with the final result,
especially because it's our first time trying Unity and going 3D
(All our previous games were developed in Gamer Maker engine)

Hopefully you'll like what we came up with :)

Oh and, it's very recommended to play with your friends since the bots aren't that smart ^-^''

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#67Humor(Jam)3.83
#83Fun(Jam)3.86
#162Audio(Jam)3.67
#213Graphics(Jam)4.02
#225Overall(Jam)3.66
#233Mood(Jam)3.63
#496Innovation(Jam)3.00
#569Theme(Jam)3.36

Comments

Palarus says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:19am

Really nice party game! The visuals and sound design are perfect for this kind of game.

There are some problems with the snake collision and how movement is handled when the giant powerup is on, but the overall experience is rock solid.

Congratulations!

Sean says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:01pm

This is pretty great! I only played against the bots, but I'm sure it would be fun in the local multiplayer mode too.

The music was really fitting and well-done as well.

Some criticism:
-The feedback (for the mouse, at least) felt a little bit too loose. Obviously not having full control over your character is part of the fun, but I actually found it really hard to figure out what was even going on because I couldn't tell if clicking did anything at first.
-The UI was very minimal, and could definitely use some improvement.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Simple and fun. Nice graphics, nice music. Power ups. Great!

Patacorow says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:01pm

PRO

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 2:53pm

wow, a very good use of theme, and a clever game too. my only problem was with the controls, they seems a little off. still, one of the best entries I have played. also, thanks for the having a computer ai player. solid game.

Dragojt says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 6:05pm

Nice job! I really liked the game but I can't play it with more people :(. The graphics, music, sounds are awesome! The only think I would improve is the menu design before the gameplay. I had a lot of fun!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Great little party game! I'm not a huge fan of voxel style, but you pulled it off well! Also props for doing Unity for the first time but not using the default lighting/materials setup!

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Very nice and solid entry. Game looks very polished and I know how hard is to make complete and solid game in 72 hours) Like!

Dec 20, 2016 @ 7:06pm

That is a really nice game you guys made there. It was really fun to play and I enjoyed it.
I like this kind of low poly art style!
And please go and try out my game!

Dec 21, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Super fun little game, I really like the mood and music!

handoharken says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Nice, simple and polished game. Would be cool if there was a bit more to it, but pretty fun nonetheless!

Reiv says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Fun game and addictive too! The music and graphics fit really well together. I really liked the sound effects. It's a pretty solid game. Great work!

Dec 22, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Very nice game, we had fun playing it and we loved the audio. ^^

bentglasstube says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 4:22am

I really enjoyed the graphics and sound effects. I couldn't quite wrap my head around how the physics worked.

aeveis says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Nice art! I also like the animation of the animals, it really makes it feel more bouncy. Wasn't sure why the dolphin had crutches? Gameplay-wise it felt a bit loose (was playing against bots but it didn't feel particularly skill-oriented), maybe giving a bit more control could make it feel more competitive. Keep up the good work!

youngbrothers says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 10:25am

That was fun! Unfortunately, I did not have anyone around to play with, so it was bots for me, but this alone kept me playing for some time. Nice work.

Kroute says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 10:33am

Really fun to play, beautiful graphics and good audio. Congrats !

Anti says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 11:33am

A really fun game to play. Great idea with great execution! Awesome work.

Japes says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 11:58am

Great game, actually quite like the voxel graphics. Unfortunately only played it by myself but I'm sure it's a fun little party game with friends. Does it make a difference which animal you choose? Do some weigh more than others?

Minato4th says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 12:03pm

This game is very nice, and so many elements is accounted. Go ahead and make it via internet!

nick.bota says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Thanks for bringing me back to the time I used to play Crash Bash with my friends! The concept is great, it looks very well, the sound fits perfectly and the game is fun! I did have some problems with the controls though, they seem unresponsive at times and it kinda kills the vibe, everything else is great!

Stending says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 2:20pm

The music and SFX are perfect, and the graphics looks really great!
Had fun playing with my little brother!
Really super entry, congratulations to the team!

popogames says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 3:43pm

the hahaha got me :P

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Really love this game, might also be because it reminds me of a mini-game in Crash Bash. Nostalgic memories!

Can't really see anything bad with it. Really like the sound effects, music, graphics, gameplay and the player/animal models!

If I get a chance I will try to play it with some friends!

Congratulations on a really well made and fun game! :D

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 8:45pm

AWESOME! Nothing is clear, but very fun. The characters are fun, the music in the subject. It is very hard to stop and to stop playing.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Nice variant of a classic Mario Party minigame. Whoever came up with the dolphin though... that looked so goofy it was hilarious.

wowa_u says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 7:04am

Simple and cool game idea, and it's fun to play! Well done!

Ping78 says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Great and fun game. Nice work.

Dec 26, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Hilarious. Love the sounds and the fun bouncing graphics. Well done.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 12:46am

Gorgeous game! The controls feel super fluid, the voxel art is impeccable. Seriously, I have rarely seen this good voxel art.

I love the design of the characters, there are cute, funny (especially the walking dolphin) and relatable. I like that the fenced break over time.

The sounds is well done and funny. I love the whistling sound when you fall off.

It's really hard to do multiplayer for Ludum Dare, as people are usually alone when rating games, so I love that you included bots. And the bots are very well done! I also had the opportunity to play the multiplayer with someone else, we had a blast! (Couldn't stop playing :P)

Three things I personally liked less:
- The style of the GUI and the text don't quite fit that of the voxel art. (and I'm only saying this because the graphics otherwise are awesome)
- The collisions at times felt weird and unpredictable. There was several occasions where I just "glitched" through another character.
- I don't quite see the theme here. I know, there is only "room for one", and the arena is "one room". But it isn't really, so it is a bit of a stretch. ;)

Overall, the best game I've played so far!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 2:56am

Very fun, especially with friends :) Feel like the gameplay could definitely be improved a bit in terms of controlling your character and not sliding everywhere, etc. but the basic idea is there!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 3:04am

Nice little party game! The visual style is great, and the sound effects are pretty funny and work well.

The controls feel a little bit unresponsive - I imagine that's deliberate to keep things challenging and unpredictable, but they could due to be tightened up somewhat.

Adding bots was a great idea - it's hard to find people to play multiplayer games with when I'm doing my LD rating, so having bots makes the game more accessible.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Really nice and simple multiplayer game :D The physics are funny, and the art and music are well crafted. Congrats on your entry!

Dec 29, 2016 @ 3:10am

good job. I think the art looks really good, but it's a shame the UI and menu doesn't match. My guess is running out of time since you are using the default UI look. Controls seemed a little loose for me. I feel you were going for the Mario Party type mini-game where people are on big balls rolling and bouncing into each other, and thats what the controls felt like, but to me I would want to see the controls a bit tighter to match character designs.

I love the menu with being able to select your controls, I thought that was a good touch, and its fun, which is awesome.

Dec 30, 2016 @ 11:38am

Spot on ! The voxel art is awesome, the concept is a really good find, theme-realted and well executed, I enjoyed playing it. Stellar music too. you can and should be satisfied, especially for a first time with Unity ! I remember playing some of your past LD entry, good stuff.

Apr 13, 2017 @ 9:52pm

Cute graphics, fun game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/9I4q6tJ6Ge8

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]