Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Crawling Crowd

by psychonull - Jam Entry

Crawling Crowd is a puzzle game. You have to take a random alien out of the room by moving the other ones to free spaces.
Do it in the least amount of movements you can!

Controls: mouse down and swipe to move

Tools used:
Framework: Phaser, Redux to manage the game state and React for views (javascript, html5)
Art: Created with illustrator and photoshop
Music and Sounds: some weird files we have around (we don't know where they come from)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#199Humor(Jam)3.28
#254Audio(Jam)3.42
#410Innovation(Jam)3.17
#450Theme(Jam)3.58
#456Overall(Jam)3.32
#478Mood(Jam)3.21
#486Graphics(Jam)3.40
#533Fun(Jam)3.00
#1003Coolness44%

Comments

Megalink says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:58am

Very creative! Good job :)

DireGoose says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:25am

Dancing seagulls for the win!
I found the periodic flashing really annoying though.
Great job having a bunch of sound tracks!

The Vall says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:00am

Interesting art, the soundtracks were good.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Aha, it's an funny idea ! The graphics and the music are ok. The game is a little bit too easy, so it's even shorter. Good work though !

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:58am

The characters were funny and the game played nicely. My only complaint is the effects were a bit too flashy. I get that they were supposed to be disorienting and that worked, but it was quite hard on the eyes. All in all, good job!

ursagames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:06pm

The animations were quite amusing, and the gameplay idea felt pretty solid, but without a penalty for exceeding the number of moves there wasn't much of a challenge. Something that could have made the puzzles more interesting would be dancers who attempted to move on their own when you move moved a dancer. For example, a dancer could always move to the right when space was available- perhaps making big dancers able to shove little ones if there was space? Just some idea I had while playing.

Alexbrainbox says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:36am

Really funny. I loved the animations and the music was pretty fantastic as well. Nice job!

DoubtfulGames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:18am

Cute, hard to play. Pretty simple puzzles, hard to control.

Protrance says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:37am

Really creative and fun idea. My only complaint is that moving the aliens can be a little hard sometimes. Other than that, good job!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:46pm

Didn't understand lights until stage 2... lol how hallucinogen to play this. Simple idea with a bit of LSD. Well done!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Basically, it's a "I'm in a night club and I want to go to the bathroom" simulator. Very realistic.
I like this dancing ambiance with fast music and flash/light effects for a reflexion game. It makes it original and fun

caryoscelus says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 6:05pm

Can hardly play because some aliens are displayed as black boxes, but atmosphere is pretty nice.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]