Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Divorce: The Aftremath

by tigerrenko - Jam Entry

It's only seven days till Ludum Dare and I'm divorced, broke, depressed. I'm trapped in cycle of sadness, nostalgia and apathy. Living only in one room, spending my time procrastinating and idling...

Can you help me climb out of the existential hell and get ready to jam?

Only visual reference to my state is the cell phone (at computer), otherwise my comments should give you hint how I feel. If you manage to cheer me up I can either leave the room and hopefully my depression, or I can enter LD37 and bask in blessings of accomplishment.

However, if time runs out (only 7 days) or I get too depressed, you join me as an epic fail (thaks for nothing!)

Hint: I'm a fatso, so food is probably your best first move...

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Art: Me

Programming (ha!): Me

Music:
"Ranko's Sad" by Richard Evans (rb-evans.com)
&
"Trippy happy beach" by Dalibor Bekerevic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#203Mood(Jam)3.69
#409Audio(Jam)3.00
#489Theme(Jam)3.50
#830Overall(Jam)2.69
#1509Coolness22%

Comments

terop says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:49pm

I didn't like the sad back story, but it's a game. Music and the graphics worked fine technically.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:57pm

This game definitely was immersive in the depressed, single, jobless style of living. I though it was well done in this regards.

automatonvx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:03am

Some glitches with the computer screen staying on after i changed rooms. meds didn't work food didn't work, i give up

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:08am

Every action has chance to drigger a downer as well as upper, meds are the only thing that kick you up for sure. However as time ticks away each day brings new wave of depression... as in real life, you have to try everything and never give up (Matsuoka Shuzo style). Thank you for playing, though

Flaterectomy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:15am

The introduction text at the start disappears too quickly, I was reading it out loud pretty fast to friends and I couldn't keep up.

I would have preferred in-game hints to find the path to happiness. I used food and anti-depressants to get some more positive results at the computer, but it all ended in failure still. It felt a little like randomly selection options to find out what works.

A mouse-over effect on the clickable options would have helped make it clear you can click them. A restart option at the end would have been nice.

The music suited and aided the tone of the game. The sad premise motivated me to try and improve the character's mood, but it was hard to figure out what helped and what didn't.

drludos says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:17am

Woaw, hard to judge such an entry. I won't ask whether it's an autobiographical game or not, but it does resonate with my guts when I played it. The sad and depressing mood conveyed through this game is incredibly strong, and I think it was your intent. If the game is based on real events, I hope you'll get better.

N.B.: I notice that you used Scratch to create your game, so did I!

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:17am

Yea, that is another moral of the game, I think... sometimes things don't work out no matter what you try... as for hints, yea my game design style is notorous for not giving any hints, sorry I'll work on that...

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:21am

@drludos hheh yea I teach kids how to make games with scratch, and it's so awesome that I moved away from RenPy which was my primary engine... also thank you this game was part of my getting better ;)

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:24am

Technically sound other than overlapping images. Given the rating options, it rated higher than i would have liked to rate it but I am rating the fields present in an honest fashion.

KadaDev says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:04am

Rough man I feel for you. Wish we could advance the text faster and there are some glitches after the first part.

Wish there were more personal games like this on LD, this would make a good theme in itself, just how you feel.

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:26am

@KadaDev thank you so much, and yea, we generally need more games that will teach about life...

Iluvatar says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:32pm

Not a bad game. Interesting graphics

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:01pm

It's photos taken with my phone through watercolor filter

pcmxms says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Very moody and realistic. Depression is a hard game to play.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]