Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Xenopunch

by Pietro Ferrantelli - Jam Entry

[Better with headphones, tested on Chrome only]

"Xenopunch is one of the most reknown underground arena in the galaxy. It's not easy for a little human like you to compete against its most famous fighter during boss-fights, Are you ready for the challenge ? Well, Probably not..."


----------- XENOPUNCH -- INSTRUCTIONS ------------------------------------------
Beat the most famous fighters of the galaxy with this abilites during boss-fights :

Q : Quick dash
W : Punch
E (unlockable) : Lazer
R (unlockable) : Huge Impact
Arrows : movement
You can also double jump, climb energetic walls and fall through platforms
Jumping on enemies head deal damage (and when they fall on you, you'll take damage too if you're not jumping)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PRO TIPS : Jump on enemies head while punching them to deal more damages


Pietro Ferrantelli - Game Design, Programmation & VFX @PietroFerrantel
Florent Juchniewicz - Game Design, Sound Design & Music @flojuch
Joe Rogers - Charater Design, Environment Art & Animations @jrrogersart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall(Jam)4.47
Coolness100%
Graphics(Jam)4.87
#4Fun(Jam)4.42
#5Audio(Jam)4.56
#48Mood(Jam)4.11
#115Humor(Jam)3.62
#174Theme(Jam)4.02
#348Innovation(Jam)3.29

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:13am

Link is broken. Takes me to a login screen. Ill be back when its fixed ;)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:39pm

omg that was siiiiick! the game was super fun, art and musics are so badass! great job guys!

YoopuDZ says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:43am

Well... This is the best jam game I've ever played, what can I say ? Is a 5/5 on everything.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:18am

Great game! The only thing it was lacking was a little story pre-game. I saw it was in the description of the game, but just a simple menu or intro cutscene or something explaining the story a little bit would have been added the icing on the cake. The only other thing I wish is that it had gamepad support. I'd have loved to try that out.

Palarus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:30pm

5/5 a lot of features, strict to the theme... Great work! Plus the animations and art looks fantastic.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Great entry! I like the art style and the gameplay is smooth.
Well done! :D

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:48pm

Great graphical style. The aliens remind me a bit of French SF comics. :)

TeamAxolotl says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Good job Pietro ;) Well made game, graphics are gorgeous, music is cool, but I think it lacks a bit of variety :p I still think my game is better :p
Félix

TeamAxolotl says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:10pm

Good job Pietro ;) Well made game, graphics are gorgeous, music is cool, but I think it lacks a bit of variety in gameplay :p I still think my game is better :p
Félix

Mayhem Makers says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:51pm

Great graphics and a really fun game overall

Patacorow says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:12pm

I didn't notice you guys took part of this LD :O!
So I'm really happy to see this jam.

As always GRAET graphics, I love the background (and the foreground especially hehe). The character looks good and monsters too.
But something when the arena got too crowded, it was a bit disturbing. And the movement felt a bit confusing due to the keyboard that not was intuitive for me.

Other then that, there was a lot of content and polish to this entry, and that's impressive.
Great job, and was happy to play another game from you :>

Firellon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Coool! I'm not a fan of fighters, but this game is just so well-made.... art is gorgeous, music is just right and good controls are nice, and there's so much content... Marvelous work!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:13pm

[BUGFIX UPDATE] thanks for your comments everybody

Ithildin says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Great entry as usual. Packed with content and highly polished both in terms of gameplay, sound and visuals. Congrats! :)

Splendidus says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Dynamic, fun. Good job!

davisan says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Very good! Loved the art and animations!

ato says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Amazing work for three days time. I played much longer than I expected too. Respect, guys.

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Phenomenal game. The music is some of the best from this jam. :D

pfirsich says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:07pm

A very nice game, almost full score. But I'm too stupid to beat the first boss (the twins).

ChatPion says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Incredible entry ! That was super cool, thanks for this game !

Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:48pm

The art is very polished, really well done!
Animations are sick!
This game have a lot of potential cause it's not just beauty, it have a good and fun gameplay as well.
Good job guys, 5/5 in most of the aspects!

Sawtan says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Super awesome game, would be awesome to have gamepad support on this ome!

RetroSpecter says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:13pm

The only complaint is that the character feels a little bit too stiff, but other than that fantastic game. I can't believe this is a jam game

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Wonderful game :D so much fun, liked the challenge!

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:47pm

WOW! Really solid Entry!

bigpan says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Best game of the Jam, hands down! Congratsssss

doppelgunner says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:41pm

this is perfect

lonesurvivor says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Wow. Great work in every category! Nothing else to say. 5 Stars.

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:20am

Great work here- Gameplay was super fluid and fun- controls felt right - I played til the end and enjoyed the whole experience. Very impressive work! Loved the pixel art / animations as well.

Green Soda says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:32am

Hello! Thank you for your very nice comment on my game... I played your game, no wonder you appreciated my game's artstyle so much, we have the same taste in art! Your game's art is really beautiful!
The cool VFX nailed it!
My eyes are full from the eye candies on screen... I can imagine the game with a cool multiplayer feature in the future... if it will, i'd be happy to play this with my friends. It felt like playing a DMC game topped with a metroidvania playstyle. I can feel every punch and it felt so rewarding doing a combo and seeing the enemies SQUASH! I think this is the best game I ever played in this jam!
Solid 5/5!

Green Soda says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:43am

Lots of feature, animations and polish in 72 days... you guys are gods!

2Bit says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:52am

Dudes, buy your artist a beer, it is ridiculous to have made so much quality content in that amount of time. Sick game too!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:11am

Really high quality entry, especially the art.

Sentu says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:34am

Man, that's amazing. Could be easily one of this LD winner.

Kalkatos says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:32am

One of the best games of this LD for sure! 5/5 in Graphics and Audio. Gameplay is well polished, also.

You could allow changing the controls, I am used (and I believe many people too) to use left hand for directional (WASD) and right hand for action buttons.

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:19am

Incredible entry! Had so much fun with it! Very responsive controls are a must in such games, and you nailed them. I used all skills but the dash which I found less useful. Congrats!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:06am

Everything in this game is extremely satisfying to do! I probably would have swapped the first and last bosses, that insta-kill was pretty rough, while the final boss was a pushover. Amazing job, I enjoyed this a lot!

jakebooyah says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:32am

Very well done entry. Congrats guys

panurge says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:56am

Like some of the other commenters, I would have appreciated a gamepad option but apart from that this is awesome! The amount of polish throughout is very impressive - great graphics, audio and general design. The gameplay itself is satisfyingly crunchy and the difficulty curve is spot on. I played for a long time and enjoyed every moment. Thanks!

Split82 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:08pm

Amazing graphics and game feel. Great job!

HoraceRIBOUT says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:12pm

One of the best game of this Ludum Dare !

lyskaros says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:03pm

THIS IS FUCKING EPIC. Best game I've seen so far with a big margin, in fact this is so good that it could be a full paid game with only few adjustements . The game-feel is just amazing, I love how enemies are projected and each feedback seems right, I really feel the progression and getting more and more powerful through new powers. The boss Design is top notch and unbelievable for a jam game. The animations are spot on, the soundtrack is super badass, the epileptic TV animations are a real plus, it has little wall building, good IA, funny storytelling, heavy mood. Each mechanics seems to stick with the theme and there is so much variety in enemies pattern. Love the ending too haha, so much intensity vs Darth Mic, the force is strong with this one.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:05pm

One of the most polished and fun game out there! Amazing visuals, audio and feedbacks. Just an outstanding work in only 3 days.. Congrats to all 3 of you!

Obvious_San says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Really juicy and well polished. The art is gorgeous, the sound is excellent, and the gameplay is frantic and fun. Good job all around!

- randomhuman

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Solid entry! Love the gameplay, it feels like a mix between Smash Bros and a Beat m Up! The sounds and the graphics really match the game well. :)

wowa_u says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:47pm

Wow! This is great! And was fun, great Job!

JayProg says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Hard to imagine a better platforming beat-em-up in 3 days, congrats. The punching felt very solid, you could almost take out the laser blast and ground pound and just focus on close-quarters, melee combat (It would make enemy design easier too). With a little more polish I think you could have a faster-paced, single-player take on Brawlhalla/Smash Bros (I'd buy it!). Great job!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:45pm

DAMN this runs smooth! Nice graphics, nice sounds. The gameplay with just the punch seems a bit awkward. But very juicy nonetheless. good job!

Sean says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:54pm

This is great! It's not particularly innovative, but definitely one of the most polished and fleshed-out entries I've seen this LD! The audio in particular was really well-done.

Some criticism:
-I feel like the first wave should be shorter. I appreciated that you didn't have to start from the beginning when you died, so the length of later waves feels justified, but the first one went on so long that I was starting to wonder whether the game was bugged/unfinished and I'd seen everything it had to offer.
-Playing with a MOBA-style keyboard layout was a bit annoying; I think this would map really well to gamepad controls.

Nice entry!

MementoGames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:57pm

Wow... this entry is amazing!
* click to see past submissions *
Ohhhh I remember you, guys!
Well... Just perfect.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Holy shit, this game is awesome, the spritework is amazing, the gameplay is smooth and responsive, the game works with azerty and qwerty keyboards without needing to switch which is really cool :D

don't know what i could say more, nice job ! slowclap :)

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Stellar art and animations, love the whole design of it. Difficulty is a little low for my taste, but it's a minor quibble. This was a very nice brawler with some really cool abilities. The laser in particular feels really slick. Nice work.

erikiene says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Pretty awesome! Great art and sound

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Wow - there's so many ideas and so much polish packed into this game. The quality of feeling of the controls is pretty superb - it easily beats many commercial games that have taken much longer to make. I would have loved to have the audio a bit clearer - I had difficulty understanding who was talking or what they were saying.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:44pm

That was a lot of fun !!!! A great entry, pixel art is great, gameplay is really nice and controls are easy ! The big green thing took me so long to kill XD Really good job on this game ! :D

JackTheOgre says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Oh damn, man! This game is insane. I don't really play well beat'em up kind. So I had to fail a lot. But what's important - I know what exactly to do to improve my skills. Also the game feels very good. And the way you teach player how to play is also an important part.
Long story short, I'm amazed you managed to do this in three days but you are really good at this. I'm gonna explore your other games. Good luck!

Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:45am

Amazing game. My only complaint is the second boss's one hit kill attack. It made him harder than the end boss for me.

sollinxp says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:11am

guys, this game was one of the best I have played in this ludum, please keep working in this game, make a full version, I really loved

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 10:56am

Really fun, great style.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:18pm

Great Game Guys !

seano says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Very pretty game. It's a bit hard to figure out what's going on. I was button mashing for most of it. I think decreasing the resolution, and thus increasing the area in which the player can move would really help

solekk says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:42pm

Holy... Nothing to note except that it's excellent.

mrhill says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:02pm

A little fast and confusing, really beautiful graphics though

Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:11pm

I LOVE YOUR GRAPHICS SO HARD! The mood and music were perfect! Gameplay was really fun. I kept getting stuck in the stands with the aliens in the audience on the right. I had to button mash until it let me out.
I really wish there was a pause and a way to earn life back once or twice a round. It is so polished looking. I would for sure love to see a full game with more levels and arenas.Pretty Rad!

tellus says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:29am

Really good game. The audio and graphics were very effective.

Ednei says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:33am

Very fun game, well polished and the sound is incredible! But in the twin opponents, one always froze on the wall and I needed to restart the game (about 6 times) and in the last boss I left the game area and had to restart again. Other than that, congratulations for the excellent work.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:48am

Best Buttonsmashing fun i have had in a Ludum Dare so far.
Sound, animations and gameplay are very polished.
Great Game as always.

Valandre says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Impressive graphics, very very fun and polished game!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:36pm

As always your games have unique art style and gory fun.

Tkachov says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 6:46am

Really good. Controls are really weird though.

Music/graphics are really polished, the gameplay is fun, but there are some bugs. I managed to get stuck in the wall and get out of it, I managed to beat one of the twins into the wall and then beat him to death, and when I tried 'R', the character disappeared from the screen. And I actually got there twice, but when it happened the second time, I decided not to play anymore.

Dec 21, 2016 @ 5:23pm

You guys are the best at these type of fast-pace games! I remember playing your grim-reaper-time-sheet game last LD jam and it is fantastic! What's your studio's name? I'd like support your commercial project!

-Art Cat

resty says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 10:52am

This game is super nice! It's fun, with nice art and audio. The abilities is well designed and fun to use.

Dec 25, 2016 @ 2:42am

Wow! Tremendously polished, great music and graphics, and really fun.

Outstanding work for 72 hours!

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 6:09pm

5 Stars!!!

Flaterectomy says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Holy shit, this is impressive. You guys definitely understand that floaty concept of 'game feel'.

Awesome graphics and animations, good audio. Crisp controls--I'm not big into fighting games, but I grasped the moves very quickly.

I'd love to offer some constructive criticism, but I'm coming up with nothing. Fantastic game, 5/5.

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Pheeeew you are awesome and this entry is amazing!
it really reminds me of our previous entry
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=32169
(Galactic Arena) well at least that what I was hoping to achieve when starting it hehe (actualy I made it in like 1-2 days alone cuz I was too lazy lol)
Bravo I really like it, everything about it is just great!

t4u says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 5:09pm

It was fun. Cool at everything. Criticism: I felt that fight often felt random. I will rate high on everything except for humor because I don't felt there was really anything in that entry would make me laugh. Good thing that you made checkpoints.

As expected from your team: very strong entry but when comparing it to the gems your team have delivered in the past I felt this one is lacking a lil bit.

peredm says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 8:56pm

10/10 amazing game!!!
You guys surely make a good team. The art is incredible; the game design is well done, everything feels good including the learning curve; the visual effects also feel amazing and the music and sfx fit perfectly.
I'd like to give some constructive criticism but I haven't been able to find anything to improve.

MrTroy says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Woah, this game was very very well put together. I got all the way to I believe the final boss, and I got stuck in the wall.

pyokoanarogue says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 3:37am

you three are a well oiled gamedev machine . keep up the good work (also ... never seen rotational screenshake before)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 5:53am

Flawless!

siryakko says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 6:59am

Really great entry, i dig the arts so much. Fun game, well executed. Excellent job overall

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 8:51am

A very rich game. I liked the animation(and sound!) bumps. The atmosphere of the ring, the lunacy of the crowd - beautifully conveyed.

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 10:34am

Definitely one of the entries with the best art style and animations. Very inspiring design.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 11:20am

Wow amazing game! Brilliant graphics gameplay, and decent use of the theme.

nick.bota says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Tons of fun packed in one game! You guys really did an amazing job, the game controls very well which makes punching enemies very fluid and pleasant, the art looks amazing and the audio is on-point as well. I really have nothing negative to say about it, a well deserved 5/5 for a great game! BTW are you going to finish it? I would be very interested to play a full version.

tylerraz says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 1:40am

Nearly perfect, great ramp up in difficulty and progression with abilities.

Jan 2, 2017 @ 7:01am

Beautiful looking game, absolutely loved the graphics and animations thought they were extremely polished. The level progression with the badguys was also nicely done but I did at first find the green boss really hard with his one kill charge. Great polished entry, nice job.

Stending says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:30am

There's a full 5/5.
That level of polish and design kills me every LD!
Everything feels perfect.
Congratulations, like every LD! <3

Multiplexor says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 2:34pm

Lovely! The art is absolutely fantastic! And the different combats are very well designed! Somehow I got stuck on the final boss fight (My character disapeared after doing a smash attack). Other than that the game is flawless!

Good job people! keep it up!

louisera says ...
Jan 7, 2017 @ 8:25am

Great game!I love it!The man is fast and have lot of actions!
But I find something wrong with it...when I unlocked the second skill,I press R, then, I sink into the ground and vanished! I tought it might be some kind of skill designed like that but later i know i was just vanished...hope you can deal with it than we can enjoy it much better:)

Jan 9, 2017 @ 5:04pm

Psssst - you are in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxWaQ7NzjeI

Jan 20, 2017 @ 7:33pm

Lovely, lovely game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/1nLjn2-nhmQ

May 4, 2017 @ 11:31pm

I also included this game in an article of my favorites! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-37-gwqmcmek

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]