Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

OneRoom

by Danman9914 - Compo Entry

You log in to a chatroom. Some of the members have just completed a game jam and want your opinion on their work. What could go wrong?

** WARNING: ONEROOM CONTAINS STRONG LANGUAGE AND IT MAY NOT BE SUITABLE FOR CHILDREN. **

This game takes around 10 minutes to complete. It's a complete narrative experience, so stick around until the end!

Tools Used:
* Unity3D
* Photoshop
* Audacity
* Garage Band
* BFXR

vv All platform download links on itch.io vv

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#8Innovation4.50
#11Theme4.54
#15Mood4.19
#46Overall3.96
#107Audio3.50
#147Graphics3.65

Comments

ElysRealm says ...
Dec 11, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Just a heads up your download link isn't working. I get a "We couldn't find your page" error.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 11, 2016 @ 11:28pm

Hey Elys, thank you! I was just setting up my page in advance. The download page isn't ready yet.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:58pm

That was a very nice twist to the theme ! Well done !

relick says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Cool game. Not entirely sure what happened in the very last part but I really liked how real the room felt.

Great use of the theme too.

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Neat twist. It turns out that I have a really foul mouth when I talk to in-game bots, though.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:21pm

this was totally weird..

I hope the ingame-games aren't representative of what ludum dare will have to offer ;)

I am also not 100% sure the error that was encountered at the end was intentional? Too meta for me maybe.

(It started glitching, a private chat was going on and then it encountered a fatal error)

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Danman,
Overall: a very nice game with a very nice twist on the theme.
Innovation: I didn't see a game based on chatting in a chatroom. 5/5. Perfect!
Theme: 5/5 for a very nice twist on the theme.
Graphics: 5/5. Simple and fitting. Each "user" has its own graphics style, so another point for you!
Audio: Chatroom sounds are nice, but games could use a bit of sound.
Mood: Hey, you nailed this perfectly! And that virus file at the end. (spoiler: <3.exe) 5/5

Leeman says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Loved it. Great game! I seriously had to laugh nearly the whole time

pixzleone says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Wow that was unexpected! I really liked that, cool way to implement the theme! Good job!

Hovester says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Really cool experience good game well done.
"It seems a little RNG heavy" <--- Best line

Now the sizes of the game arquives a bit off..

tjmolinski says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Really cool idea, crazy twist!

Somnium says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:26pm

A great twist on the theme!

You captured the mood of a chatroom perfectly, and the various elements played really well together - although the the ending was a bit unexpected. The game also felt really polished, e.g. the different profile-pictures for each user, and the small "mini-games".

An excellent game!

DMinsky says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:41pm

I like the kid, haha

DMinsky says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:42pm

I caught all the candies! ;)

Paradoxa42 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Didn't understood but the idea was pretty cool

Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Mr. Mullins, you are a maestro of self-aware gaems. This is the first time I'm giving 5 stars in each category.

The Linux build crashes X for me (apparently it attempts to create an absurdly huge window), so I had to use Wine.

makiki99 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:45pm

I am honestly impressed.

Bomany says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Really good idea and really cool game. Good Job!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:32am

Just got done playing it myself and still don't get the ending. Also, no means no, but these downloads just keep spamming me!

Although I still think this could have done very well in humor if you didn't add that particular chat in the end :P

Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:45am

Oh pretty cool entry, it was pretty interesting. Love your theme interpretation and the twist.

Pyrofoux says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Very funny and intriguing !

Jan 26, 2017 @ 5:03pm

Pssst! You have been featured on today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQuGv2kBvnw

Jan 27, 2017 @ 4:52pm

Very nice game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/dPGA6ze9lwQ

May 4, 2017 @ 11:31pm

I also included this game in an article of my favorites! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-37-gwqmcmek

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]