Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Word Decor

by ethankennerly - Compo Entry

How much money can you make decorating 100 rooms?

Post your profit in a comment.

Spell the decorations in each room to earn money.

Stumped? Select a hint.

Each hint, letter, and second costs money.

Bigger rooms multiply your profit.

100 rooms sized from 2x2 until 6x6.

Downloads and Links




tylerdoggone says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:18am

Lol, maybe it's just me, but it's pretty difficult to guess what the dowr could be. Nice work though!

torcado says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:00pm

interesting idea! pretty difficult too, i only got through like 15 before i started just spamming hint to see what the words were
nice job

Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:18am

Nice work on the puzzler. Some sound effects and music would go a long way for polish (even simple noises for the letter clicks, word success, failure).

hermetic says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:26am

Pretty sure this accepted words that didn't seem to make sense. Not really my style, but seems to be a complete game. Is the sign off on the "cost"? Needs some sounds as well. Other than that, good job.

hijomo says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:27am

This was a well made entry. The Idea and execution were well done.

Serious Table says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:09am

Not bad, though I was thrown off by looking for furniture specifically and seeing "Luxurious" appear. Might need to clarify you're not decorating a room with words, more than finding "furniture-related words".

BluShine says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:10am

My decorating earned $-2292623. I'm not very good at word games, I guess!

I think 100 levels in a row is too much, although it's impressive for 48 hours. I would rather have a random set of 10 levels with increasing difficulty, so I can play a short session and then try to improve my score.

Graphics were very nice, very polished. I think a little bit of sound would have gone a long way.

Intelli-Gents says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:13am

I loved how the levels looked like floor plans. And I'm impressed that you were able to come up with some many room based words that had exactly the right amount of letters. It's simple but addictive. Great job!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:31am

A really great entry. Reminds me of the games on an "educational" toy laptop I had a few years ago.

local minimum says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:16pm

First off, just to be sure. I didn't hear any music or sounds on Firefox. Just in case there's something wrong with your web-build, as there was the option to rate audio.

I made several thousands worth of negative dollars on the first 11 levels. And I think it kind of broke the setting of the game that you lost coin just thinking about the solution. I'm OK with loosing for selecting each letter I selected (in case I did wrong), that bit felt right. The hint would also cost even when it didn't actually hint (in the case you were spelling the wrong word). So for this scenario, I think it would have been fair to either just reset the word entirely and give the user the first letter, or without a cost just indicate that the user was on the wrong track. The friendliest version of the hint would be that it would erase your suggesting up until it got in sync with the solution and in case there were some letters left, possibly also add the next letter. Because in general I feel like the game should make it hard to get negative results, because having played ten levels and just loosing more and more told me that I sucked and it and that didn't make me wanna continue playing.

So don't take it wrong. It is a neat spelling game, but I think it needs to be a little easier on the player and motivate the player to keep playing by giving the player points in most cases unless the player has failed 2-3 times on a room. If you want to keep speed as a feature, I would have bonuses for being fast instead of punishment for being slow.

xclementx says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Fun game ! But hard when english isn't your motherlanguage :)

Sarge3v says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:51pm

That was a tough word game, but it's very well made and looks complete.

bentglasstube says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:23am

An interesting word puzzle idea. I think it would have done better without the slightly furniture related theme but that might have made it too hard (and of course you wanted to stick with the LD theme somehow).

Shivur says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Good idea with the theme.

g12345 says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 12:48am

Nice word search game. I do think 100 levels is a bit too much. I've stopped at about level 30.

The nicest puzzles were the ones with long words. But there were some harder ones too.

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]