Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Room 007

by Lancelot Gao - Compo Entry

Room 007 has accepted a new mission.

===============================
Goal: Get rid of the bomb.
Controls: Mouse click to interact with the furniture.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#4Overall4.27
#6Theme4.66
#7Fun4.22
#11Innovation4.40
#18Graphics4.45
#42Humor3.75
#83Mood3.72
#215Audio3.12

Comments

meg says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:05am

I really like the art style. The whistle sound means that I won, right?

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:23am

@meg Yes. Collect all of the 16 whistle sounds and beat the game.

ManuelLau says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:12am

Nice!

resty says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:10pm

很棒的作品。解谜加上一定的时限制造出的紧张感让简单的谜题也能充满乐趣。
画面还是一如既往的给力。

如果能有一些线索提示游戏的进度就好了(关卡号或百分比之类的),可以当作解决问题的奖励,促进大家坚持到结尾。
另外这个可爱的画风和主题稍微有点不搭。

再感叹下这个时限的设计真的是不错,即使是简单的puzzle,最后一关还是重试了好几次。。。

relick says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Other than the whistle sounds (although you worked with what you had available) this was pretty cool. Graphics are neat and pretty, the explosions were cool and the puzzles were quick and fun.

Nice job!

NicMagnier says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:33pm

This is awesome. Really well made.
With only few (but great) interaction the game stay varied and challenging.

This is really a great entry

Kitkom says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:06am

Awesome.
It seems to have multiple solution for one level?
It could be better if there were more time to do the level designing. A really nice game.
I like it.

DillonEA says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:21am

I must say, this is an incredibly neat little puzzle game! When I was playing it, I kept having little jumps of joy after solving the puzzles, even if they are quite simple. What's more, is the game makes losing fun too! And failure doesn't keep you waiting to try again, it all starts up again really fast.

I can't claim these to have been feasible in the time-frame, but here are some additions I feel could make this idea potentially better:

- It'd be neat if some of the actions the player could make were a bit more environmental, namely being able to click on a weapon on the wall that slips away in order for it to fire? They could not even play into the solutions, but little additional things the player could click on that would have an effect would be neat, rather than just having the few basic options available.

- A few times I wasn't quite sure if my attempted solution would be quick enough to dispose of a bomb, and there's no real indication how close a bomb is to exploding until it's already happened. Maybe a timer, or just a super obvious color change over time?

- As much as I loved the puzzle idea, it would be neat if the cliche black bombs weren't the only thing needed to be disposed of. Like, if there were sticks of dynamite that moved in a different way that would require more precision, or a clock & bomb that doesn't move, and has to be flung away somehow.


Again, I'm not saying any of those ideas would have been feasible, only that they (in my opinion) could have been neat additions on top a surprisingly fun game.

Logeeker says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:50am

Such an amazing game!

onixowl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:52am

Nice game, love that feeling of panic when you not fully understand what furniture does:)

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:55am

I liked this game, the graphics are nice.

Tribbs says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:56am

Best submission I've played so far. Nice work dude!

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:59am

This game is so good! The art style, the gameplay, the way the room elements work together, the whistling! So so good. Great work!

Tezra says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:02am

Art is awesome. Finished the game, nice puzzle design.

Dogeveloper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:04am

Interesting gameplay, fantastic graphics. Too bad there is only one room.

CFallonArt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:16am

Great game, I couldn't put it down.

Xwilarg says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:41am

Great job, it was fun :).

Squid says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:07am

This game is great! Love the music.

JoeYoshi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:32am

Great idea, if this was developed further, it could be incredible!

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:55am

Awesome fun little game! Love the art style and the idea behind it! Great job!

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:10am

Nice work!

kn2322 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:46am

Great small bundle of a game, everything is packaged nicely with the theme, gameplay, and graphics. The concept is pretty great imo, especially with the crazy physics interactions. Overall, awesome entry.

Lipedal says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:30am

Awesome game! Reminds me of McPixel, but with nice physics and actual puzzle solving instead of only trial and error. Something that I think would add to the game is a shorter lose screen. The player loses so quickly that you almost spend more time looking at the bomb explode than actually trying to solve the puzzle, haha! I'd go for almost instant retry, like games such as Super Meat Boy, which are super based in trying and trying until you succeed. Congratulations on the amazing work! :D
If you wanna play my game Humanity Walks Into a Bar, it's here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-37/?action=preview&uid=29565

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:42pm

Very cool art, concept and use of level design.
Maby you will show what's the number of puzzle during the game and when the bombe explose.

Rainbow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:39pm

cool level design! Art and sound are also great!

rayriver says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:20am

Good game!

YE Zitao says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:22am

GAO MING DA FA HAO!
非常完整且体验很赞的小游戏。
真的能在炸弹爆炸前感到紧张感,很欢乐~
不是那种非常纯粹的解谜,而是物理的技巧+解谜的混合产物。
——以此衍生出的多解非常的有意思!
机制也足够成熟,完成度很不错。
支持高鸣大大!

——叶默哲 & art9

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:28am

设计精巧,因此看起来简单,但有趣,感觉也可以作为 10 秒参赛了。
蜡烛人一役高老师关卡设计又有了大幅提升,辅助线与 retry 都是看似无意的点睛之笔。
另外很爱 lowpoly

Zemmi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:53am

Wow I really love this. It felt really good when I found alternate solutions (or at least I think they weren't intended) like on level 4 rather than using the conveyor carpet you can use the map bed to flip into the wall, rebound and roll back under the bed and out. If you ever expand on this, I hope you do, more opportunities like that would be stellar.

Room 007 is a great name as well.

DeqingLi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:20am

不愧是前辈!!很多关卡的解谜方式很多!!让我玩成了卡时间差的游戏。。哈哈

rainssong says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:44am

Amazing...

Mik3 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:20am

Simple, but loads of fun. Really enjoyed it.

marcelomori says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:39am

A really fun puzzle game! Nice art style. Simple but cool sounds. I scared by the first explosion and the whistle sounds are the best, makes the game funny! Nice work man!

doppelgunner says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:41am

I like your whistle it's so funny. I also like the gameplay

JK5000 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:45am

Amazing. Well done.

dunin says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:09am

Nice, clever and fun!

My only complaintis that the solutions (except one) include only one or two object(s), and so never become harder. But that is a remark for you if you want to continue to work on this game...

Marta Viader says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:29am

One of the best games I've seen so far. It feels completely polished.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:31am

Very stylish and good concept for this theme. Nice work.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:09pm

One of the more interesting takes on the theme I seen so far. I like the animations when they reveal all the spy stuff, gameplay is simple and easy to understand. Only thing I didn't like was the whistling.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Really cool puzzle game. Liked your take on the theme and those homemade sound effects. It's also super polished and fun, well done! :-)

Feng says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:56pm

Mission complete, everything is awesome especially the whistle. Very well done!

tarcisiotm says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:15pm

This was fun! Polished, well executed! Good job!
I really enjoy one idea being iterated over and improved within the same constraints.
Of course that means it might feel repetitive sometimes, and the fact that I couldn't tell my progress didn't help but these things are easily addressable.
And the whistle was a nice touch!

wowa_u says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:19pm

Daamn! This is a great puzzle game!!!

Split82 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:21pm

Nice art style and clever mechanics. Great job.

2Bit says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Hey, good puzzles, sounds not so much.

Firellon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:59pm

Wow! That was nice! Whistle were weird, but the idea was unusual and theme using was perfect. Riddles are pretty simple, but as a compo entry this really cool.

Awpteamoose says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:13pm

Very minimal, no frills, loved it.

VILAM says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:19pm

Wow, very nice puzzle game! It could fit perfectly on a phone =D

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Really nice little game. The whistling was a tiny bit annoying though :D

t4u says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Love the art style and idea - both for gameplay and furnitures. I would prefer faster gameplay though. Something to indicate how many puzzles are left would be a nice touch as well.

Junber says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:32pm

That was pretty nice. The art style was great and the sound is pretty funny even though music would have probably improved the game further. Also the difficulty curve felt pretty uneven especially towards the end.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Perfect!! Good graphics, intersected gameplay. Add soundtrack and new rooms and will be great game. Good luck!

roxrox says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:30pm

高老师实在厉害,带孩子还能做的这么有趣。
机关设计得挺巧妙的,简单几个机关就能做出这么多关卡。
不过玩到中期的时候觉得有点重复,有点多就是了

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Overall really neat idea and polished entry! Add a quiet background music and it'll do the trick :)
It could easily become a commercial game, especially on mobile imo. Well done!

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Stop being better than the rest of us at LD. ;)
Great game, congratulations.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:25pm

Hahahaha Great art style!
And the wistling behind is great!
Well done!

thu_denny says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:33pm

007的主题十分绝妙!让原本简单的家具变形增加了十足的惊喜与幽默感(小清新的房间?背后藏的是枪支弹药、战争沙盘、火箭发射器...)
难度循序渐进,进一步发展的话,是不是可以同时掉两颗炸弹之类,更加手忙脚乱一点233(个人想法)

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Lovely art, I had my eyes on this one ever since I've seen the WIP. The whistling adds a nice touch and I had a good chuckle. The "success" whistle could use some variation especially since the first levels are quite easy and you tend to hear the same recording repeated a lot.

For all the great ideas and the awesome visuals I wish the gameplay itself offered a few more surprises toward the end but over all it's a very good entry.

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Really nice style and mechanics! And you got so many puzzles in there! If you had some variation in levels you could probably make a pretty cool mobile game with this.

TeamAxolotl says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:11pm

I'm not sure if I like this entry or not. I like the mechanic of getting rid of a bomb that spawns differently, but most of the time I'm not sure if I'm making progress or not. Graphics are really simple but the game is well made. I'm not a fan of the whistles, but it's not that big of a deal anyway. It's a great game, but I feel like it lacks of something, and I can't seem to find what.

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Wow, Cool idea. I complete game. Nice work!

Saiodin says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Beatiful style, nice little puzzles. For some reason I needed to solve the first one two or three times it seems? Made me think there is just one drop spot for the bomb.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:00pm

This was really fun, I loved the concept and the puzzles were perfectly balanced to be challenging but quick. The art and even the whistling was great. I love the humor behind having weapons stored in such an innocent looking room.

V0odo0 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:19pm

That was pretty fun to play. Love the style. I think it defently should be on mobile with more levels and interactive stuff.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:39pm

That was a really clever game !!! Liked the simplicity of the gameplay and how puzzles were built from it !

Also good graphics !!!

Musics were pretty funny XD

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:04pm

surprising amount of levels with the limited mechanics. well done

Dege says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Ahahahah, that's one of the best (if not the best!) I've played so far. The whistle at the beginning made me LMAO :) I like that graphic style, it's a 5-star for me, also colours are somewhat nicer than what you can expect. It's surely a 5-star for fun and humor too (I mean, a 007 room, really?!?). And it perfectly fits the theme. I hope you get to the top 10, at least of one of these categories!

Tkachov says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:12am

Very nice graphics and good idea, but some music wouldn't spoil it.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:15am

Very clever - very impressive. You've done so much with so little. The theme of the room is one of my favorite parts - functional, weird, yet definitely starts to build a story about this space. One of my favorites of this jam!

cushycode says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:34pm

Fun gameplay, cool color scheme and art style.
Perfect compo submission!

Kyrv19 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:07pm

I love the art style

Sean says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:32pm

This is adorable! The art assets are simple but effective, and I feel like you made great use of the limited number of interactions. There could have maybe been one or two more puzzles, but the game ended pretty much right when I was starting to feel like there wasn't anything interesting left to do. It was a really nice take on the theme as well.

Great entry!

alexfoo says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:37pm

A polished puzzle game with pretty good graphics, kudos!

SoulBound says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Amazing game. Balanced and polished. I didn't like the music too much but the art fit the game well. Nicely done! :D

Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Fantastic entry, really enjoyed the game, and very innovative. Well done :)

Ellian says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:41pm

I dig the art style, I dig the idea, and I like the dumb wistling. Very very solid entry, congratulations! :D

Obvious_San says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:25am

That was really fun :) I like the combination of puzzling with timing/reflexes, and I like how unassuming the room looks before you start clicking on things :)

- randomhuman

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:12pm

I love this so very much. The art and animations are sublime, especially the explosion animation, and the puzzles are all very cool. It's surprising how many puzzles you were able to get out of just a few small props. Very impressive!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Incredible mood and art style! Really enjoyed this entry, good job

seano says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Excellent! Great idea and execution.

LeoM says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Very well done.
With a few more levels and variations I'm sure this could be very nice as a mobile game. ;)

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Graphics are great,
the execution is fantastic
perfect for the theme
solved it all,
it would be a really neat game if you could add some more rooms/obstacles, maybe more than just one bomb :)

pmarincak says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 7:06pm

This was a really fun game. I laughed at the whistling. Great job!

pyokoanarogue says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:47pm

t'is a game to die for ... mwa ha ha ha ! so charming and understated!

Dec 21, 2016 @ 1:04am

This game has to be in the top 3 overall! Perfectly executed! Stars all around!

Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:45am

Really liked this game-- great work. The sounds, though simplistic, worked well enough, but it would be nice to get some other background audio going. As for the gameplay: it isn't extraordinarily complex, but it is still fun with the mechanics as they are.

BluShine says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:47am

Awesome! Very cool idea. I was surprised how much variety there was in the puzzles. A lot of fun to play through, even if it wasn't challenging, kinda reminds me of Monument Valley in that way. Perfect use of the theme. The silly music worked great with the concept of the game, too.

ValiaP says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 5:29am

Awesome art work and great mood! Using whistle for sound effect was genius. The mechanics was fun.Great work!

Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Great concept and neat execution.
The whistle sound is a bit too much lo-fi for me and goes against the cleaniness of the rest but apart from that, a super entry!

Serval Games says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Little fun idea!

jack-lance says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Amazing! Very impressed by how many levels you put in the one room!

Intelli-Gents says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 2:55am

I love the style that is exuding from this. A really cute version of 007 and spy vs spy. And the whistle noises were my favorite :)

Dec 22, 2016 @ 2:55am

I really love the very simple style that you have going here, from the diorama

NuSan says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 9:55am

Excellent game. I loved that just by changing the initial bomb location, the solution can be completly different. It's realy elegant. The bomb effect is also quite nice. Whistle are original, I like it. I just miss a music. Great work !

barkergames says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 2:25am

Simple, yet fun.

novotmike says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 1:58pm

If there is something I really like it's minimalistic desing. This game is so simple in concept and graphics yet it is very fun to play. It's cool that there are multiple ways to solve a level. Great work!!

Tanton-XHX says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:45am

neat,smooth and vivid...very interesting,also let me feel comfortable with avid attention. espically the 3D-aesthetics impressed me alot.

Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:46am

Extremely well done game, loved the different puzzle and solutions and impressed at how many different ones you were able to get in. Couldn't stop playing until I finished and got to the complete screen so nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]