Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Room

by insane66 - Compo Entry

My two sons wanted me to make a game while they made games too. So I made this shmup. All made in game maker studio pro (thanks humble bundle), sounds via sound recorder app on my phone.

my two son's entries:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-37/?action=preview&uid=52596
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-37/?action=preview&uid=125218

Room.

Use the mouse to look.
Hold the mouse button to shoot. (I hate clicks-a-lot games so just hold it down when you want to shoot)

NOTE: The HTML5 export has like 90% of the game features working, plus depending on your browser/computer it might get slow and stupid. (missing score, game stats, proper restart) Download the windows exe if you want the full experience. It is just the game maker export, but if you don't trust me that is fine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#297Fun3.19
#366Audio2.56
#387Overall3.13
#452Graphics2.69
#480Theme3.13
#485Innovation2.63
#1462Coolness24%

Comments

Palarus says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:33am

Pretty solid twin stick shmup. Being able to play with a controller would be nice!

It's nice to know your sons wanted you to participate in the jam!

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:01am

Loading the web version get stuck at the Connecting stage, sorry.

badabooom63 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:25pm

all the links are not working(

jacobturn says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:34pm

it wouldn't launch

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Website down :(

Thijs Tak says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Links are down, so unable to play:(

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Liked it. Is somewhat similar to my game, and I always like action games. Well done!

insane66 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Something was goofed up with my DNS, I think I got it fixed again.

jaxturnmir says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Awesome game 10/3

dominisz says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:31pm

"Clear vision before death" -> funny idea :-) You should mark "Add fullscreen button" in "Edit entry", because the frame is too small to show all game screen. Windows version works without any problems. Gameplay is intense. Good that you opted for holding mouse button instead of clicking. I think that it would be nice to find "first aid kit" from time to time. Congratulations to your sons for motivating you :-)

insane66 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Thanks added the check, missed that option before.

Knowledge says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:45pm

OK game, nothing special and becomes repetitive after some time.

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Funny and a bit addicting game! Very easy to play. Had fun

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 12:32pm

Simple game, but I did like being able to move and aim with just the mouse. A score - kill count - would have really improved the game and made me want to play more than once.

Reiv says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 5:05am

I like the controls, easy and simple to use. I found the sound effects a bit annoying.

Levi D. Smith says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 2:59pm

Nice entry! I like how the screen gets red-er as you take damage. Lots of enemies and solid shoot-em-up gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]