Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Ukhu Pacha

by fishbrain - Compo Entry

You are Maita. You have been trapped in the underworld of Ukhu Pacha by the Incan God Supay.

You must find his "ONE ROOM" - the THRONE ROOM - and defeat him to escape. On your journey you must dodge foes and traps, and plunder as much treasure as you can!


Control with cursor/arrow keys.


"Ukhu Pacha" ia an old-school 8-bit style adventure, with heavy use of the Commodore 64 colour palette.

Software used -
Photoshop
Audition
Bfxr/Sfxr
Bosca Ceoil (brilliant free little music composer)
Corona SDK (Lua)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#88Audio3.56
#94Mood3.69
#132Humor3.18
#230Fun3.33
#232Overall3.45
#265Graphics3.27
#564Theme2.73

Comments

TheRare says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:56am

Mo idea how this fits the theme. No WASD controls. The music and audio design is great atleast for the most part (getting hit sounds horrendous).

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:58am

Wow you really captured the old school feel with that unforgiving hit box :) I really love the look of this game too. the gameplay definitely takes me back, reminds me a bit of this game I played on the TI-99/4a called "Shamus". Also enjoy that evil laugh... :)

cyfixus says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:16am

Thank you for starting us with 1000 health. that skull though. Spectacular music and style !!

onyon says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Biggest hitbox of my life :D

I like the audio design, dislike the pretty much everything rest. That's a personal preference though, I don't think it's bad, I just don't like it.

Keep jamming!

paradxil says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Hey thanks for playing my game Five Star Hotel. I agree it needs something more.. but I could not figure out what as well. I enjoyed your game.. the graphics were very nice and the gameplay was challenging.

Soundless_dev says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Nice little game. Doesn't really fit the theme though.

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:36pm

I entered your throne room!

Loyance says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:46am

Wow. Hitboxes on this one are really weird. It is a good implementation of the theme, where you have to find that "one room". Good job!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:16am

Re:Hit Boxes:
Yeah, it's just classic coordinate checking (no fancy box 2d here) but with a little bit of lee-way, so, for example you can slightly overlap walls.

Re:Theme.
Yeah, OK, it's a loose interpretation of the theme. But that's OK - a theme is supposed to be a springboard not a straitjacket.

"One room" was way at the bottom of my theme preferences, and the last thing I wanted to do was make a game in a literal single room like hundreds of other entries.

Thanks for the reviews and critiques so far.
Cheers,

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:26am

This is one of my favourite games yet! Super addicting. Wasn't planning on playing for that long. One trick after another, until I finally realized that the only way to win was to forgo all the treasure. A metaphor for life. Love the colour palette too - reminds me of old SCI0 games.

martincohen says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:23pm

That Zelda sound made me so happy! Also nice to see games made with Corona and Lua, feels rare in my little bubble.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:18am

Original entry that reminds me a little of Windows 3.11 games, such as Chip's Challenge ;) I really liked the music, it was weird in the best possible sense, and not being able to attack was challenging. Good entry!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:57am

Totally nailed the style, liked the subtle use of the theme as the goal (instead of a mechanic), sound and music were great too. The random-ish use of different blocks to build the labyrinth gives a nice touch without looking too cheap. Well done.

Shivur says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Very fun game!

parias001 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Great game, it could use some polish but it gave me that old PC game feeling. Kudos!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:54am

The audiovisuals are great, really feels like a blast from the past.

The hitbox could indeed be a tad smaller, but the biggest issue when it comes to damage is the fireballs. They sap your health in an instant. Dying to one of those and going right back to the beginning is frustrating to say the least.

Patience is the key. I did manage to catch all the treasure and find the throne room in the end. Only 266 hp in the last room, quite nerve-wracking in a good way.

Well done!

Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:09pm

For some reason it gives me a weird C64 vibe while also Sabrewulf (which was a speccy game.) Massive hit box but overall a well made game, good stuff!

jcsirron says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 2:43am

This was a very interesting game. I thought the music was top notch and the art style was unique. I think the hit mechanic needs a rework, but I still enjoyed the game.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]