Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Lost in pandation

by deepnight - Jam Entry

A survival game with an iPanda, lots of snow, horrible creatures and a cable car.

Tips:

- your objectives: produce Oily Fruits to fill the Generator in the upper right corner, use the machine in the upper left corner to build Batteries, use Batteries in the slot on the right to escape :)
- plant everything and maintain a good production at any given time
- unlock the extra Pot as soon as possible
- kill all enemies using the button above the Fire camp if submerged by them

Music by Volkor X!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Graphics(Jam)4.73
#31Overall(Jam)4.20
#32Mood(Jam)4.22
#55Audio(Jam)4.00
#132Fun(Jam)3.73
#205Innovation(Jam)3.58
#206Theme(Jam)3.95
#1798Coolness0%

Comments

Remicy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:05am

Amazing. Love everything in this game, and it's very fun. I took half hour on it and still couldn't pass, but I'll keep try it. Really nice entry!

axoona says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:38am

it never ceases to amaze me how much you achieve on such a short notice. I love the game idea and the graphics are astounding, with attention to detail.
I didn't manage to beat the game though, are you supposed to be able to use planks of wood at the generator?
anyway great entry.

cjke.7777 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:46am

Very cool. Always hang out to see what you create each LD. You dropped your signature mosaic - but I like this style - very clean.

The game itself is very fun, but very difficult!

Sublustris says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:36am

Great entry, 5/5 :)

sollinxp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:42pm

I love all your games, but for me this one need more adjustments.

Reuno says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Alright I'm really bad at this game :)
Great job mate, loved the snow/cold effects.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:09pm

This is way too hard for me.

I was having fun in my tiny house, planting baboos, trying to keep it warm, and then a weird thing arrived ans kill me. I sadquit.

Seriously, I find this game way too hard. Managing ressource + jumping from platform to platform is hard enough, but if you add ennemies...

But maybe it's just me. I'm pretty bad at real-time videogames.
Anyway. Nice idea and gorgeous graphics as usual! It's just too hard for me.

Moritz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:58pm

The music is really awesome and kept me trying and trying again. It really supports the nintendo-hard survival theme of the game!

The graphics are wonderful and polished. Excellent animations.

The puzzles are approachable, but the "you are freezing to death" time mechanic makes thinking hard and errors costly.

Totally love this one. My favourite Jam entry so far!

Moritz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Brutally hard, though XD

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:29pm

I loved it. Really nice idea to mix escape room and survival. A bit too hard maybe, could not escape, too much monster and not enough charge in my generator . Very hard but fun nontheless. I had too leave so i stopped playing but I'll try again later.

Really cool graphic style and mood and overall quality. My favourite game so far. good job.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Oh this is cute! And quite challenging too :) Very well done, as usual.

Valandre says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:09pm

Very good entry, quite hard due to a lack of wood, but very fun anyway

harusame says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:01pm

It's haaard but a really good entry !
Love graphics, musics, animations, effects ...

My favorite jam game :)

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:25pm

OK, I really wanted to complete this game before rating it but I lost over an hour on it now and I feel like I got what I should be doing but I keep losing anyway and it's sooo frustrating.
Amazing graphics, the music is nice but gets repetitive after the first half hour of die and retry. Sfx would have been nice too. The movement and the interactive bits feel really good, watching stuff grow is both nice and intense at the same time.
But it's too difficult. There are just too many factors causing death. The heat meter is tight af, the blizzard breaks everything and makes the heat meter even way more tighter, and the monsters barely let you any chance of surviving, especially if you let them trap you in a corner. Challenging. But too much.
I hope you do a post-jam version or you introduce a fix that makes it slightly easier because I really want to finish it, it'd be so much fun if it wasn't so hard! D:
(also hey we met at Indiecade I'm sorry I couldn't come to Bordeaux for LD :X)

LDP says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:41pm

The game is hard but just...amazing, there's nothing more to say. As usual, it's always a pleasure to discover your jam games. I wish I had your talent someday. Very good work, keep going !

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:31am

Extraordinary as always, though I agree with the others that I find the game demoralizingly hard.

Drenghel says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:32am

Looks gorgeous as usual, really good game play but I liked ot more if IPandas were cold proof :D.

But ! Like the guys said , a tiny bit too difficult. If you don't play perfectly blizzard hits while you're getting the generator working you just have too little time to get that pot working, defense yourself and not freeze to death.

Well done, Monsieur !

madlee says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Wow, really nice work! I tried several times but kept getting killed by the monsters. Really neat concept and the whole thing is surprisingly polished. I'd definitely play more of this!

Junber says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:55pm

That was unexpectedly quite hard. It took me a few attempts to just get the generator running without dying, not to mention producing enough batteries. The graphics are amazing and the audio was great too. But I found using space to climb bamboo but using up to jump to be pretty confusing for some time.

ScreamRawr says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:42pm

I finally beat it! (The Jam Version). I really enjoyed it. It wasn't a huge pain to die at first, so I was able to quickly learn from trial and error. Really well done buddy. Always a fan of your stuff.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:08am

When I saw the gorgeous and atmospheric snow, I was enchanted! When I climbed the bamboo pole and it wavered, I was impressed. When I got a couple of bamboo poles and froze to death I wasn't sure what I could have done next.

theCrancher says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:39am

hey there, the graphics were amazing, i really like the concept, but it took me dying a bunch of times to understand it fully, very fun, i will most likely be returning to play this game again in the future! nice work!

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:50am

Oh boy you have to figure things out on a timer in this game, I've made a game sorta like that once. It wasn't a good idea, I think you see why now.

Other than that, amazing art, music and mood.

Also, VOLKOR X IS OUR ONLY TRUE AND FAIR LEADER

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:43pm

This game is awesome.
The gameplay is hard but really interesting. You nedd four/five tryes to get in the better path toward the end.
The art is Awesome and the music great! Well done!+

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Very well done- Great experience playing through. Challenging but not too much so, flow felt good. Amazing artwork and animations- everything comes together nicely. You did a great job!

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Like it! )

Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Awesome graphics and nice gameplay, music is also really good, feeling the pressure :p

But it was really hard, even with the post version I didn't manage to beat the game (maybe I didn't pay enough attention to the survive tips ^^).

oyoh says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:19am

I've followed you since the Ludum 23, and you never cease to amaze me. This game is awasome. It's unbelievable what you manage to achieve everytime, bravo ! I'm your fan

Afendar says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:45am

Very nice game ! I have won after 1 hour :) XD. Mechanics is very cool and I love panda !!

Greek85 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:07am

oh! Nice! the desing and the mechanics are amazing!! And it's also online! Can I find it on indiexpo? I'm making videos about the games of this Jam, but only about the games hosted also on indiexpo.net! Tell me if you will add it, so I can include it in my next video ;)

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Great as always. A little bit difficult gameplay, but all the other stuff is awesome :)

giordanno92 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:12pm

One of the coolest entries as usual. I don't have too much to critique except for the time it took for me to figure out things, but learning was part of the game, so it was great. Overall, nice job!

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:22pm

A-w-e-s-o-m-e.

It took me a while until I understood all I could do, but:

Gorgeous pixel art and music contributed to an awesome, frosty mood. Also the mechanics were elegant and made for a trully hard but definetly fun to play little game.

It was my favourite entry so far and I would totally play a complete version of the game!

It was probably impossible to beat at the first couple tries but to me it was worth trying.

Simple Ghost says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Really nice! I really like the art and gameplay is fun!:)

Sean says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:17pm

This is a fantastic entry!

I found this to be tremendously well-balanced. I died quite a few times before beating it, but every time it felt like I had learned an important lesson during the run and managed to do better the next time. The only death that felt a bit unfair was getting caught out in a blizzard while already low on heat: even if you have supplies, sometimes it just takes too long to get them to the fireplace in time.

There's so much depth in such a tight package of mechanics, and then on top of that the pixel and art and background audio are great too! Definitely one of the best entries I've played.

Some minor criticism:
-I froze to death while in the air, then landed and stood back up while the UI stayed put. Very very minor thing, but it seemed a little weird when it happened!
-Dropping an f-bomb when you get killed by the enemy seemed a bit unnecessary. This game is pretty much "E for Everyone" in every other way (it even stars a cute panda)!
-Some sound effects would nice and add to the level of polish.
-It's not a great use of the theme: the central area, the generator, the cable car, and the battery dispenser all felt like separate "rooms" to me.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:22pm

It's an amazing entry! It just lacks some sounds to be really complete, but what a tremendous work in only 3 days :o The mood, the art and music are top notch!

Chezardy says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:01pm

Amazing game ! But you should add this tip to the post-compo version : You can add more than one combustible to the fire camp, it will be warmer.

Once I've understood that, it took me only one try to finish the game ^^

Kurakurt says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:27pm

Amazing!

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:58pm

Awesome entry, took a couple of tries to get the hang of it but eventually I had a strategy to survive and I beat the game. Love the visuals and the music. Could've used some Sfx but amazing work nonetheless! :)

Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:40pm

Really neat entry as always, super polished.
I found it a bit hard but the mechanics are really cool, I like the Lost planet (the first one) vibe.
I found the controls a bit confusing at first but I guess I'm not used to jump with the up key :)
Really great entry!

gabriellpweb says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 9:50pm

I love this kind of art and that hud effect remember me metro game. Congratz, just need some story for the game action.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 2:09am

As good as expected. Like always. I can't rate this time, but I would have give it full rate. :)

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Pretty nice. The game looks very lovely, the music is good, maybe some sound effects?

I think it could use a lot more explanations, as well as things to do. At first I thought it was extremely difficult, because the waves of cold would make me freeze even though I had a fire going – I didn't realise you can put more wood / bamboo in the camp to make it even stronger. When I figured that out, it was just farming. I never really felt the 'menaces' added anything to the game. I got rid of them, but I never touched them – do I die if I do? Can't I just jump over them?

I imagine there could be lots of little things that could be done – more plants? More places to find? Use the generator to unlock inaccessible parts of the room? I don't know. Simplicity is always nice, but this has potential :)

Well done though!

runvs says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Wow, that was quite the best entry, I played up to now! It is well balanced, controls feel intuitive and direct, the puzzles are great and the graphics are just awesome! I also like the music very much. Some critics on a very high level are the missing sound effects. Very well done!

aeveis says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:43am

fun figuring out the correct order of things, beat it! I would have a hard time getting through the first opening to put the batteries in though, sometimes I would get on the bamboo by accident. Otherwise like the puzzles in the single space.

ValiaP says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Haha, never thought that you could play as a panda in a post-apocalypse. Really cool game.

wowa_u says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 9:49am

A difficult but well thought through. Very well done! :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 9:44pm

Your visual style is great, as always! It's pretty neat seeing you experiment with different variations on your pixeling, with different shaders and particles and all.

This game was extremely tough at first, but pretty addictive to try and come up with an effective strategy to manage everything. Was extremely satisfying in the end to have steady production going and combat all of the different elements. I do wish that it was a little bit easier to learn how exactly the different elements of the game work as you are first learning to play, for example the different states of the fire.

Great job overall!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Played the jam version. Really, really difficult, but very nice concept. Gorgeous art, too. Nice work!

Jan 12, 2017 @ 8:36pm

Lovely graphics, really nice game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/Ysp76gwDV8M

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]