Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

The Growing Room

by eerongal - Compo Entry

The growing room!

A simple platformer for LD 37!

Use the arrow keys to move and space to jump!

All images made with Paint.net http://www.getpaint.net/download.html

All sounds made with PulseBoy http://www.pulseboy.com/

Game made in Unity 5 https://unity3d.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#131Fun3.61
#145Overall3.63
#215Theme3.81
#264Innovation3.28
#281Audio2.90
#307Mood3.11
#513Graphics2.47

Comments

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:29am

Interesting game. Fun and challenging.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:31am

The jumping feels like it sometimes doesn't work in midair (I am counting the jumps)

Intriguing idea but is frustrating as a result of this.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:40am

Interesting. It was really interesting despite how simple it was. The controls were a bit floaty, but I really enjoyed it.

laylow says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:50am

Cool game! The controls do feel floaty, but other than that, it's nice, short, satisfying game.

FiloGC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:53am

mood 6/5

CMLSC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:54am

I like it. The boss battle was nice.

Here are a few things you might want to work on:
It's very glitchy.
It's laggy.
Annnnd, it would be nice if you practiced your art a bit. :D

Avocadosan says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:59am

I like this idea! The difficulty curve was pretty neat! :D

jack-lance says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:09am

It's a really good progression! I especially liked the vertical spike pillars that overlapped three zones, that was nice level design.

Loyance says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:27am

Very nice game!
I liked the idea of "changing" room, to fit more content into, well, one room. The boss sprite is very neat, although other sprites lack details. No concerns about music

bendmorris says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:30am

The hitboxes on those spikes :(

Tauka says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:01am

Man, platformers are the best, one of my favorite genre. I've beat the game, it didn't seem really hard after N game, but it felt like your game was inspired by N.

Attrition says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:04am

My favourite element here was the dynamic levels, nicely done and like the art style. Control was a bit finicky but overall I enjoyed this. Good job!

JK5000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:41am

I especially liked the use of the Theme. The difficulty level is a bit too high for me. But overall well done.

vini60 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Interesting platformer. I just think that the deaths don't count much, but it's great overall!

avalkyrie says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:19pm

The ground feels too icey, but overall the controls are ok, just take some getting used to. I liked the sounds and the enemy dinosaur things.

harark says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:33pm

I really like how the room keeps changing. Clear graphics.

erikiene says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Pretty cool, I actually was considering a "growing room" idea myself, albeit a 3D one. I think You did it better than what mine would have been, good work!

paradxil says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:30pm

The controls were really frustrating but I thought it was a creative use of the theme. Overall a good idea just needs a little more work.

Stefanie899 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:30pm

I enjoyed it! Interesting mechanics -- my only problem was that the controls feel a little floaty.

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:48pm

That's one fun little game. Kept happy till the end :)
Not a great fan of the pixel art but Great work nonetheless

nycolas says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Really interesting! Despite the graphisms, I liked the game.

Sawtan says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Yay I won! Really great game, a good deal of fun and it was hard to let it go at all! Great job!

cr4zyt3rry says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:50pm

i spent way longer playing this than im gonna admit.

TrashLord says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:52am

I won and I'm happy! Idea is fresh, jumping is healthy (and deadly). Hate spikes hitbox and death conveyor sometimes. Game needs some delay after death.

Artsicle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:52am

Kewl

ema1ih says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:54am

I like the idea, it's really challenging

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:26am

nice game! graphics could have used a little more time, but great overall.

dude_the_hero says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:46am

Woo good!

dude_the_hero says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:47am

Woo! Good game.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:23am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

c4m says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:29am

really good game, i just died 11 times until finishing it (am i a pro xD?)

i liked the progression a lot.

and there's a little bug that prevents the player respawn when it dies and costed me like 5 lives.

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:49am

nice Game

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:09am

good game, fun to play. Please add more good graphics.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:28am

The spikes felt like they would get me before I even touched them. It was a bit annoying but still fun.

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:07am

Lol I couldn't stop playing! Great idea and execution!

kraftkar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:22am

Fun game! Cool room mechanic. Boss battle was interesting, nice to see working checkpoints.

pcmxms says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:00pm

18 deaths. Nice way to "cheat" the one room theme. Good game overall.

winwanwon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Win the game with 25 deaths! Very fun game but some items are hard to understand its ability, it would be great if the game has some SFX when I damage the boss.

Nice game! enjoyed it :)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Watch out Super Mario Bros! There's a new platformer on the way with spikey-shelled turtles on hotwheels!

Fun and frustrating at the same time! I thoroughly enjoyed this.

-Art Cat

tommarx69 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Maybe the game I spent the longest time to play :) Very funny, and I liked the simple graphics !

leondryaso says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:42pm

The graphics were, well not great, but the gameplay was really fun and I enjoyed this game a lot, got to the end with 33 deaths :D

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:48pm

simple but deliciously enjoyable. Shoulda give something that makes the boss show some hurt, confuse on how to kill at first.

Mine10blox says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:21pm

jumping sorta sucks some of the time, but it's actually very fun. Graphics and audio aren't very good, but the theme section is awesome!

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Very interested game with original idea. I love it.

justking14 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Interesting idea, but it was kinda glitchy. Found myself popping up in different checkpoints from time to time, and at one point I just became frozen in midair

ceosol says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:07pm

It would be good having some visual feedback when attacking the boss. Even a little blink would let the player know that shooting him has an effect. I know it makes a buzz sound and sometimes says "Ouch", but while you are avoiding spikey wheel turtles, you aren't really looking at the top left.I was live streaming this last night (although I do not know if anybody was watching) :)

Michalidis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:21pm

I really enjoyed playing the game - it was simple and intuitive to play and the game taught me how to play it and what the goal is without giving a direct tutorial
Great Job!

Didi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:56am

You know, I got used to the little purple toy.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:50am

Really fun game! The mechanics are very smooth, the changing environments worked great, those moving spike walls were threats on 3 levels! That's some intuitive design, if I've ever seen it. Overall a fun play, Good job!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:34am

Great game! Really cool concept and well executed

theCrancher says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:28am

hey there, so even though the graphics aren't the best, you made up for it in the game play, that was fun to play, oh and also, i got stuck after hitting of of the buttons

SandBloom says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:46am

Brutal!!!! Nice old game!!! Hard to play but satisfying!!! Thanks for that jewel!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]