Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

BreakOut

by Neonian - Compo Entry

You play as a prisoner that is trying to dig his way to freedom. Every so often you have to return to your room, so the officers don't notice you escaping.

The game is played in the browser. I coded in javascript, made art in Paint.net and created music in Soundation.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#133Audio3.38
#185Fun3.44
#200Humor2.88
#205Overall3.50
#211Theme3.82
#272Mood3.18
#357Innovation3.00
#412Graphics2.83
#1252Coolness33%

Comments

DrSnuggles says ...
Dec 11, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Nice one. I like it. Well done

wrexialmt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Cool, well done. Love the twist of the guards coming back to check on you once in a while in a "digging" game. My only complaint is that the music sounds like a xmass song... xD

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Really cool game!

tybantarnusa says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:54pm

Pretty fun. One thing, it's sometimes too far to go back to your room.

erikiene says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:08pm

The game didn't really announce that a timed bar appears when you need to come back, so my heartbeat sped up as I ran back thinking holy crap I'm not gonna make it a couple of times before I even saw the bar appear for the first time.

Great submission!

erikiene says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:09pm

Oh and yeah, the soundtrack is christmassy :D

avalkyrie says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Reminds me of an old 90's era shareware game. Nice.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Nice little game, my only complaint is that the messages from notes disappear too quickly after moving. I frequently found myself not knowing what a a note said.

drludos says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:44pm

Nice entry, I really love the concept! The gameplay is nice, and the going back and forth to your cell was very fitting to the theme! Good job!

LozzaDawg says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:16pm

a nice game, but the general pace of the game is a bit slow, Fricken loved the soundtrack though.

Ramon.Robben says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:55pm

Fun game I escaped within 5 minutes and it wasn't too hard. Maybe add a hard / medium mode where they check more often or it takes longer to dig out.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:11pm

Interesting game, but I would have like more powerups like for example different types of pickaxes for blocks with different types of hardness so that the game feels less like a go back and forward game. :)

Fiote/Phanx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:27pm

This is the first one I actually completed haha. Loved the music and the gameplay is simple enough to keep you interested. Good job! We also did our jam with javascript, if you want to check out ;)

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Jingle bells!! Hahaha that audio reminds me a xmas song totally ;) I escaped. Yay!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]