Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Downside Up

by oh_cripes - Jam Entry

The game takes place in a single room. But! You can run on the walls yo! You didn't expect that did you? And when you kill all the monsters on a wall you can generate a new maze on the opposite side. More monsters, different mazes. It never ends! Fancy that.

The team was:

Joe Bain - @oh_cripes - Programming

Ryan Timpany - @cYnborg - Modelling / Animation

George Cheal - @bonsaitreehouse - Modelling / 2D Art

Dicky Moore - @dickymoo - SFX & Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#159Innovation(Jam)3.69
#191Audio(Jam)3.56
#309Theme(Jam)3.81
#469Graphics(Jam)3.44
#549Overall(Jam)3.19
#604Fun(Jam)2.88
#1294Coolness32%

Comments

Xero560 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:35am

Trippy. Shout outs to that audio, really sets a mood, and that goofy looking character. Not a veteran game designer here, but randomly generating maze stuff sounds p impressive, no idea how you did it. Walking on walls blows my mind in more ways than one. Was this stuff difficult to pull off?

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:15am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

hildegain says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:58am

Tried it out and can say a few things.

The artwork is simple, which is a compliment as in this game's case. The more abstract it is, the better.
The sound is pretty much perfect. The running sounds actually surprised and impressed me.
The camera and movement is a little weird, attacking animations feel off but overall there's nothing really bad about it. Just awkward.

Combat is simple enough. Melee lizards from behind and reflect bird attacks. The bad is that the birds attack too slowly for me. Causes me to lose a little patience with them. No worries.

Pretty solid. Wouldn't mind seeing something like this expanded on in future.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:27am

Can't play you need more downloads for systems like linux.

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:35am

@pianoman373 Sorry we ran out of time, check back tomorrow and we should have mac and linux.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:46am

The wall walking and maze generation is great. However, the camera and walking need to be adjusted. The melee attacks seem to finish no matter what you do once you start attacking. This could be really good if you guys keep working on it. I hope to see an updated version!

kamranwali says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:41pm

The game was really fun to play but the response time of the attacks were a bit slow but overall a nice game. Keep it up!

jusw85 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Unique concept! I had problems with mouse look when the game wasn't full screen though.

sfje-team says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Mood, Audio, and Graphyc-Stile fit together nicely, Gamplay has some awesome mechanics, but feels a little weird.... but still nice done !

(there were some bugs where I fell out of the room but I always got teleported back so.. no big deal)

MonsieurDuc says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:07pm

really cool project ! a bit sensitiv but really funny :)

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Very good idea and art of the game is really very cool

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:15pm

This game doesnt have a lot of gameplay, however the way the gravity is simulated and how trippy it is makes it a lot of fun just jumping around. The character has amazing hair :P

kolbjorn says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:28pm

I liked the visual effects on the character animation when I attacked with the sword. Able to walk on walls was pretty neat. I did fall outside the room a couple of times, but did not interrupt the gameplay.

Rixud says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:55pm

i like the idea very much, but i had some probles with W-A-S-D controls, my avatar dont move for some reason...

Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Really nice graphics! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/_uiGr8frPv8

TurboCorp says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Nice concept, but attack animations run for suuuuch a looong tiiime that they get in the way of playing

Shide says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Good idea and very dynamic gameplay! Cool graphics and neat sounds that set the atmosphere. Pretty solid game, keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]