Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Hotel One Room

by runvs - Jam Entry

Manage your hotel from a one level building to the biggest skyscraper in town. This game has been created in a team of three people within 48 hours. There will be a post compo version.

The game is controlled with the mouse. Scrolling can be done with the arrow keys or [WASD], actions can be canceled with [ESC].



------------------------
----Game Information----
------------------------
Guests will come to your hotel and demand a room of a size (S,M,L) and luxury level (low, med, high). This is the minimum required level, they can also book a room that is larger and/or has a higher luxury level.

You can build rooms with the three house icons in the top bar, small to large from left to right. The price is shown as an overlay if you select the room to build.
Rooms can be upgraded by clicking them and pressing the update button.

When a guest books a room, you get an initial amount of money (reservation fee). The larger part of the payment (the tip) is delivered at the checkout and based on the guests satisfaction.
Satisfaction depends on the waiting time of the guests (also increases annoyance) and on the room. If the room is better than what they require, you get an extra tip.
Satisfaction is influenced by the dirtiness and noise level (created from generators) of the room as well as if the room is powered.

Rooms can be powered by a generator (also generates noise, which powers the level below, above and the level it is on. So you need a generator every three levels. Generators also have a running cost.

You can also employ cleaners, who will search for the most dirty room and clean that next. They will need a service room (bucket and swab icon) where they can pickup cleaning equipment. You don't need a service room on every floor.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#140Fun(Jam)3.71
#210Mood(Jam)3.68
#218Overall(Jam)3.67
#358Graphics(Jam)3.67
#445Innovation(Jam)3.10
#835Theme(Jam)2.48
#1037Coolness42%

Comments

radmars says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Nice! Really well executed management game, really scratches that simtower itch :P It was fun to try to figure out the mechanics on my own, but some tooltips on the build icons might help for showing costs and what the different rooms do. Wasn't sure what the sound stat was for, but I guess people didn't mind. Great work!

thedashdude says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Each time I played I got stuck with 2-3 floors without any increase in money, just fluctuating between 500 and 2000, not enough to do anything.

HugoStudica says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Very weel executed idea. This is an awesome game, and I want it to become a real game, it has potencial. I loved managing the rooms. I don't feel like the theme entirely fit, but it was very close.

My experience:
It took me some time to understand the game and to figure it out what was each of the icons (I don't know what the last one means tough, never used). I feel that there are information that I should know better before playing, maybe a tutorial would solve this. Other thing that could improve is the line, when there are a lot of people in the line I can't figure out the info, there is too many overlaping text boxes, I just did what I thought was correct.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Hey, I liked your game it was actually fun. You can improve the audio and the graphics at some point but overall not bad! And please go and try out my game!

indrkl says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 10:12pm

Quite an ambitious piece for a game jam, I imagine it was a lot of work putting all those pieces together. Something that would help a lot, was some reputation system, cos I don't know if right now it mattered much weather or not the customers were leaving or not.

Garris says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 10:28pm

Your mechanics are solid. All the systems seem to work, and I had a good time building up my hotel and making money. I didn't feel particularly challenged though. Is there a lose condition? I think the biggest thing to add to really make this game shine would be a customer rating system. You could make it fun, too. Like maybe a fake Yelp with customer reviews procedurally written based on their room stats, and whatnot. Good game, good entry!

smbe19 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Why do so many guests want a large room?

It seemed like there wasn't any way to loose the game so I didn't find that engaging. Otherwise solid game.

Japes says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 11:48am

Great game, reminded me of the sim tower days :) graphics and sound were great, just needed a bit more difficulty and a lose condition as others have mentioned.

The file I downloaded ended with _postcompo so I'm not sure this is a fair rating :/ I'm going to subtract 1 from my 4-star rating for fairness.

Dec 25, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Even though this isn't really my type of game it was well made. I especially liked the graphics :) Well done!

rburema says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 12:55pm

Ah, nice 'n relaxing :-)

Good thing the music is so mellow, otherwise I'd feel bored when gathering enough money for the next elevator-block. Consider a speed-up button?

Also; what does the last icon do? It's grouping suggest another empolyee, perhaps a handy-person? It doesn't seem to do anything when clicked.

Maybe there should be a way to unselect... if you've selected a room-type to build, and have little money, there is no way to upgrade rooms instead.

Another thing; maybe make the purple room an unlockable, give the player something to work toward :-)

... this may seem like a lot of critisism, but I /did/ have fun with the game!

ferranduran says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:21am

Good idea and nice entry! But when does it finish?? hahha

Multiplexor says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:29am

Supergreat!! It was a bit hard for me to figure out how to expand properly! but once I realized that not everyone wanted big luxous rooms all was well :P!

Graphics and gameplay are awesome! keep up the good work people!

carlotes247 says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 4:55pm

Really well made hotel management game. A lot of fun, and very very stable. 5/5

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]