Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

The Legend of ROOMBA

by limmmmm - Jam Entry

Saving the world is messy business and you're here to clean it up. Take control of a hero's ROOMBA and.... vacuum. Watch out for your battery, dirt cup, and home furnishings while you shoot for the high score.

Changelog:

12/14/2016
- reduced sizes of physics bodies for both the player and the plant. should be a bit easier to move around now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#29Theme(Jam)4.39
#160Humor(Jam)3.42
#185Fun(Jam)3.61
#218Innovation(Jam)3.55
#252Overall(Jam)3.61
#326Graphics(Jam)3.77
#433Audio(Jam)2.94
#440Mood(Jam)3.28

Comments

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Hilarious but frustrating to control. My high score is 57. I took the bar in the top left as a challenge (thought it would be a special of some kind), so I was pretty disappointed to see what happened when it did fill it up. Especially because it's not easy to fill it up.

Spab says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:29pm

Fun Game! Audio is a bit choppy, and i like the referencing to The Legend of Zelda.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:39pm

Nice theme, always wondered who cleaned up the rooms when Link leaves them.

buckle2000 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Interesting! Forget to charge every time.
The house plant's physics collider is too big.

TolMera says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Pretty cool! :)

I also did a Roomba inspired Game :) but your game has way better graphics and sound :)

I enjoyed this!

Marta Viader says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Fun to play :D, well balanced!

dobnarr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:10pm

I liked this a lot. Got 55 on my second try. Controls were fun, and I figured out that arrows hurt me after a while. I wasn't sure what the bar at the left vs. the hearts at right were. I liked that you could recharge, and shove plants and stuff out of the way with repeated collisions. Neat idea, great looking, and perfect for the theme.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:13pm

-sound object
+Now I know where the dirt in the house
+nice job

Archimagus says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:32am

I really liked this, way more that I should have for a game about a vacuum. Well done.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:33am

I love the idea of Link having a Roomba! Pretty fun, but vacuum audio loop sounds choppy and the hatboxes on the couch and plants can be a bit unfair sometimes

Dvorgaz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:21am

Pretty fun. Although being stopped dead by a wall when hitting it in a very shallow angle is kind of annoying, making it slide at small angles would be nice.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:44pm

Great job! I always wanted to be a modern vacuum, and this game fulfilled that fantasy!

Some background music would have bee nice.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:32pm

This took a few tries to get down, but it was fun. It reminds me of watching my Roobma bomb around the room running into things. I am a much worse Roomba than an actual Roomba.

Nixxor says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:35pm

fun little puzzle game! wanted to play this a lot more. Something very satisfying about it.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Great game with that "one more go" feel. Very well made and looks cool.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:33pm

72! I like the fact that you can't turn the roomba until it hits something.

DireGoose says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 6:58am

Pretty decent. Frustrating controls. Looped, non-looping audio ended up being annoying.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]