Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

One Room - One Door

by bes_kurales - Jam Entry

One Hero. One Room.
Hero enters room and sees a lot of doors. But it is not a simple room with unusual doors. Can you find a way out and survive?

WASD - Move;
SPACE - Hit;

Team:
Beskorsy Nikita
Barkar Ivan
Osyak Nikita

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#489Audio(Jam)2.71
#489Theme(Jam)3.50
#533Humor(Jam)2.32
#701Innovation(Jam)2.59
#738Graphics(Jam)2.68
#749Fun(Jam)2.61
#770Mood(Jam)2.59
#830Overall(Jam)2.69

Comments

TeamSemiColon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:04pm

The game looks quite nice and it fits the theme very well. The gameplay is a bit random and repetitive, since you seem to have no control over where you'll go next and trying to kill the zombies doesn't seem to have them not hit you back. Running through a door and being overrun happens all the time. Also, there's no drawback to literally always holding space. When you finally find the exit, nothing happens but being teleported back to the intro screen

Dene says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Nice idea with doors :)

velvetlobster says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:00pm

I like the blood effect when you kill an enemy or get killed. Its kinda hard not to be hit so we cannot plan much of an attack strategy. The art is simple but passes the message. The music is also kinda nice and intense.

leewalkergm says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:29pm

I like the door idea

The killing was a little tricky, but generally a nice little game.

The graphics could have perhaps been improved a little, but they suited the style of game

BlackQuiltro says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:31pm

Very nice game. Your idea for using doors is great. Very well made in terms of graphics and sound and overall style.
A bit difficult for me. killing enemies should be easier (or run from them). Felt unfair at times. Liked it a lot!

martincohen says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Would be nice to have a fullscreen (for people who have 4k displays). Loved the attack move, has a nice feel to it.

limmmmm says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:56pm

it doesn't really seem like there's a way to attack without also getting hit. the player and enemies are animated pretty well, though.

bes_kurales says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:15pm

limmmmm, Run, Forrest! Run!

Holofire says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Such a punishing game, cant take out an enemy with them getting in a hit or two. My strategy was just to ignore them and keep going straight through the doors, hoping it wouldn't screw me over and put me in front of an enemy. Pretty fun, nice job :D

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Nice use of the theme :)
Im sad there's no way to help the player know which door has been visited. The minimalistic approach of combat is good though it could have been better to show the HP.. or is it shown?

Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Very clever idea with the doors. The enemies being very difficult to hit without getting hit yourself made for an interesting mechanic of having to keep moving as much as possible.

I did keep losing because I couldn't tell where I popped out -- could have used some sort of transition effect so you can keep track.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:23pm

It was difficult, but the attack was satisfying :)

psilon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Good game. That Wilheim scream! :)

Eggplant says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:04pm

Really fun! I loved the portal-like mechanic with the doors.

maartene says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:54am

nice variation on the theme. some knockback or stun when you hit the enemies would probably make it less a war of attrition.

Mr_Field says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:40pm

The animation quality is super impressive, especially the player attack. I felt that, with some screenshake, knockback and meaty sounds, hitting enemies would feel perfect, but it is pretty satisfying as is.

The door idea was also pretty cool.

Some fine work done here, guys.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Enemy knockback would have made the combat feel more satisfying, as it is hitting stuff is fun, but more like cutting through butter. Good music and mechanics otherwise, didn't find any bugs.

+1 for using the Wilheim Scream :D

DOXM says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:47pm

The audio is great, and the gameplay is smooth.

antishow says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Good work! I really liked the extra touch of an idle animation. Just a shame the camera was so far back.

Attack feels good, but a little more range, or maybe some way to dodge or block or *something* would have helped. I might just suck at this, but I felt like there was no way to attack without always getting hit.

Only big complaint would be the awful font choices.

bog13 says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 1:43pm

The game is not so fun since you just have to try every single door without any hints. However, the graphics are great, the music is great, the fights are nice except the fact that ennemies can hit you several times before you can touch them (it's a bit frustrating).

I really like the mood of the game, but the gameplay could be better :)

jramell says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 5:00am

The Wilhelm Scream is really funny. I liked the graphics. It's pretty difficult to attack without getting hit. It felt unfair that most of the game was based on luck, because if a door suddenly took you too close to an enemy it was about over.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]