Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Doom Tomb of the True Room

by Flatgub - Compo Entry

A brave explorer sets out to make it through the Doom Tomb to find what lies within the one True room!

A relatively short but difficult platformer made with the intention of not letting the player off easily. Sure, It might be too hard, but what't the fun in it being too easy~!

TO USE FULLSCREEN, PRESS ALT + ENTER

My usage of the theme feels kinda cheap, Basically I've used the literal interpretation of One Room, as my game takes place in a single, 1600x3200 Game Maker "Room", and the abstract interpretation of find the "One true room" as being your goal to reach.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#35Audio3.88
#44Graphics4.16
#98Overall3.76
#98Fun3.72
#99Mood3.67
#213Humor2.82
#457Innovation2.72
#589Theme2.52
#893Coolness46%

Comments

rogual says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:04pm

I may be alone here but I find it a bit distasteful when people ask for money on the download page for their LD games.

It's a decent game though. I like the music.

kptemre says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Too hard! I mean I couldn't even jump to other side with my jump boats 0.o

CandyCreep says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:13pm

@rogual: It is a functionality that is built into itch.io. It's like their thing (making users make a small donation if they wanna support the developers).
But I get that when you have no knowledge of the site beforehand, it can come off as "begging".

Anyway, it was a great game. Really love the pixelart. The music was good too!

pagi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Great game, fun, nice graphics and music. For what the other commenter said, if he meant the voluntary price itch.io automatically asks you, I think it is ok.

HawkSandwich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Pretty nice, it plays well and looks good. Nice work :)

pcmxms says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Quite hard. Check out my games if you like hard things haha. Good entry.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:19pm

The sound effects are top notch, best I've heard so far. Art style is decent. Gameplay is pretty interesting with your different take on the double jump mechanic. It's very very hard though, I didn't beat it. It terms of the theme I have no idea how this fits the theme at all...

Almax27 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:29pm

That was an genuine pleasure! Tight controls, clearly explained mechanics and solid level design. Best game I've played so far.

tinyworlds says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:41pm

Damn I'm so bad at this xP
Cool little game, I love the art style and the color palette you used! Music is very nice, creates a good mood.
Maybe a bit text to read at the signs imo, but it still has an ok length.

Great little game! :)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:59am

This is probably the best game I've played so far. I'm a huge fan of challenging platformers so this is exactly the sort of game that I really enjoy. I thought having the 99 life limit was maybe a little bit too harsh though (I ended up with 18 left over on my first try). Also a fullscreen option would have been nice. I don't really like squinting at such a small window when trying to do precise platforming.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:25am

Atmospheric and complete game! I made a bloody mess of myself, over and over and over. After I got hit by the thing lurking on the ceiling above the key, I didn't know how I could get out of its way if I got to it again.

juxipolo says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:42am

The blood running down walls of spikes as your body falls to the ground is fantastic.

Couldn't beat the agility challenge :(

GogglesKitty says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:28pm

I figured I'd let you know, this is the only Ludum Dare game I've ever come back to play again. It's just so frustratingly satisfying! I love it, and did manage to finish it after 3 attempts or ~260 deaths.

KappaIX says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Tough game! Good graphics and sound. Like the touches like the bloodstains after you've been spiked/smushed. Would be good to have a bit more of a difficulty ramp up into the hard bits (introducing the moving saw blade things and stuff) but I understand the LD time constraints for that kind of thing!

Well done, thanks for sharing!

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:07pm

Ok, this game is awesome. I love hard game and puzzle game. The limit of 100 lives add to the trill to pass the game before a game over. Nice job! For me it's a complete game.

Did it in 175 lives (2 attempts).

A bug I saw : When I was in full screen, some text box did not show all the appropriate text (the line jump is not well placed).

Maybe you can give the player the choice to use arrow keys or awsd keys.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Really well made but oh so difficult (at least for me) ^^'

Patacorow says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 9:18am

Too hard for me.. I didn't even finished the first levels and I tried a lot.
I like hard games that challenge your skills,
but you need to balance the difficulty so more players will feel comfortable to keep playing.

Overall - the graphics and the music is are well done
but in my opinion it was too hard at the start.

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:03am

wow, way too hard for my simple abilities, nice game though.

Dec 30, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Challenging game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/iiDZ_Pg3Qr4

Palys Plays says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 3:30pm

Very challenging and well polished game. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]