Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Hypercell

by PixlWalkr - Jam Entry

There is no room for viruses in your Petri dish! Collide and destroy as many virus cells as you can before the time runs out.

Controls and Instructions:
Left click to move the cell

You will adapt the color of the cell that you collided with.
Keep in mind that virus cells with the same color as you will be immune and won't be destroyed upon contact.

Credits:
Osias Bantug - Game Designer and Artist
Romello Martin - Game Programmer
Marty Sy - Game Programmer
Kristoffer Lirazan - Audio Composer

We hope you'll have fun playing our small game! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Audio(Jam)3.90
#132Fun(Jam)3.73
#155Graphics(Jam)4.18
#165Innovation(Jam)3.68
#195Mood(Jam)3.70
#301Overall(Jam)3.55
#489Theme(Jam)3.50
#938Coolness45%

Comments

Zanmato says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:33am

I love the concept and the gameplay! I do have a small concern regarding the game over UI, but that's just me! Great game!

Green Soda says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:55am

Simple mechanics but very entertaining. The audio goes well with the gameplay. Good job!

Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Lovely graphics, well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/T4pyhw3TqqI

Dec 29, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Really nice aesthetics and music. It could use a bit more sound feedback but apart from that, that's a cool little game you made here, congrats.

Gipzo says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 12:58pm

Nice concept and music. Movement is a bit slow for me =)
Nice job overall :)

Skruffye says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 3:10pm

Really simple idea with some cool graphics and nice music. I might have said that you could have come up with a more intuitive control scheme than repeatedly clicking with the left mouse button, but overall the idea was pretty well executed!

Also, the cursor looks like the Windows 7 "loading" cursor, so that confused me for a few seconds. :P

Good job! ^^

tompudding says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:35pm

Top notch entry, such a simple idea and quite fun. The movement of the objects complemented it quite nicely, I had quite a few fun moments frantically trying to avoid blobs of my own colour

graebor says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 7:09pm

Cool idea, though I found movement to be a little difficult. Nice and simple concept, good for a jam project :)

pkenney says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 7:55pm

Wow, very cool game! My high score was 29.

I liked the atmosphere, and the fact that you let me discover the rules instead of teaching them to me with a hand-holding tutorial.

My favorite part was thinking a bit ahead and ramming myself into a section where I could quickly alternate and scoop up a bunch of points in a row!

Every death felt totally fair, which is important in a game like this. Great work!

Jan 2, 2017 @ 8:20pm

A nice easy to understand concept, and a simple but effective art style. It might have been nice to use arrow keys instead of the mouse, to feel more in control of my movements. That might help against the frustrating experience where you collide with a virus, but as soon as changing colors a similarly-colored virus collides with you, without giving you a fair chance to avoid it.

Ant0nin says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 8:59pm

Score 25, nice conceppt.

fabsy says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:01pm

Nice and polished entry. Simple mechanics and a fair test of skill. Good job on the UI as well. I liked it!

Cerno_b says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:07pm

Very nice game. Graphics and music are great. Gameplay is pretty smooth, might be a bit tighter.

The only real complain I have is that it seems that a new virus can spawn at exactly your location which makes you lose immediately and there's nothing you can do about it, which is a bit frustrating.

With a bit of polish this would be nice on an app store.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:07pm

Pretty fun concept although half of the time I instinctively went for the same colour when I'm not supposed to (probably because of agar.io XD). My only issue was the control scheme as I would preferred it if the cell followed the mouse cursor rather than moving to where you clicked.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]