Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Broken Breakout?

by timgarbos - Compo Entry

Just play it.

I played around with the idea of you being the game room in some classic games. Took a turn a few hours in and went in a little different direction.

It's pretty simple production value since I started on Sunday, but I like the idea.
If stuck press SPACE to reset current level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#7Fun4.22
#7Innovation4.54
#14Overall4.15
#158Mood3.45
#178Humor2.95
#188Theme3.88

Comments

Zer0XoL says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:14am

Very cool idea.

FiloGC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Awesome

Quaternius says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Great idea! Really liked the sound effects too.

paradxil says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:01pm

Really cool game! I loved the game mechanic, the graphics were clean and nice, and the theme use was super creative. Good Job!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Very nice entry. Easy to understand how to play, cool mechanics, and I love the minimalistic approach for the game. Well done.

BerneyTD says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Really enjoyed it!

tjmolinski says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:28pm

That was super cool, really liked the idea and you executed damn well on it.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Reminds me of tilting a pinball table. Very clever!

jack-lance says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:02pm

I love the idea! It's polished and there are really interesting levels too, I'd love to see what else could be done with this!

peredm says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:29pm

The idea is very original and the graphics and sound are good.

shillingburg says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:51pm

really neat idea! super simple and super fun. great sound design too

Kurakurt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:52pm

Cool idea! Cool game!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Thanks for your comment, I have now added download links for standalone versions :)

Your game is really cool! It takes a while to get used to the physics, but when you figured that out it plays well!
The movements are smooth, and the sound FX, while minimal, are really good and fitting.

Nice job!

nikitapash says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:26pm

F@CK! The game is really awesome!

Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Nice idea and implemented nicely

Hovester says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:16pm

Good Game. #WEALLHATETHEREDBRAS

egoregor says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Very cool!

Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Just.. Awesome! One of the best Ludum dare casual games! When the room shape changed I was like: that has potential! The graphics and sounds are simple but fit well, develop it further (maybe with slicker graphics though) great entry

cushycode says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Simple and neat mechanics. Cool idea and a quite good implementation.
I like the sound effects also.
Wish to see this game as a game for mobile phones one day.
Good job, dude!

littleball says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Tricky to play on a track pad, but I really liked the game. Graphics were spot on, sound and game play were just right.

vipper says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Very enjoyable and calmness!

ccglp says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Seems like a super good idea for a mobile phone game.
Good and interesting mechanic here mate.

PD: Submit the source code, is a compo submission :D

timgarbos says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Oh! I had missed the "http://" in front of the Mac and source download. Sorry. It's available now.

Thanks for all the feedback. I'll definitely look into making a few more levels and putting it up on itch.io sometime.

acotis says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Neat idea! But, I found the physics of the ball kind of annoying. I would have liked if (1) the walls were frictionless, so I can slide the ball around on the floor, and (2) the ball would stick to the ground while I was moving the room upward, and only fly off when I stopped the room (which is how it would work IRL).

But, I liked the sound effects, and the concept was very well introduced -- I was never confused about what to do!

DMinsky says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Wow, really cool mechanic! And well realization too!

JK5000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Great idea and great game.

rburema says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:37pm

I really like how level 7 is a suddenly a lot like regular breakout again. That doesn't mean I can get pas it, but still...

In all, the best minimalistic experience I had so far :-)

sollinxp says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:59pm

so awesome! I reached the 13th level, really hard

Ithildin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:56am

This is a brilliant idea! I really liked the level progression and how you introduce new block types or other game elements.

I've noticed a couple of bugs during my playthrough, but worked around them by resetting the levels: first, Level 4 started with the ball outside the game boundaries, I couldn't tell if it had spawned outside from the beginning or if it fell through the walls on the first frames. Then on level 7 I hit all the green blocks but still wouldn't progress to the next level and hitting the red block on the bottom wouldn't kill me either.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:45am

Fun little skill game. It's so satisfying when you succeed! This is the kinda game that could have 100 levels and people would play them all. Great use of the theme, too!

ema1ih says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:17am

I love the idea, nicee :)

zoopei says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:53am

It's very easy to get the ball out of the level if you move the room off-center a lot. But other than that bug, the game has an interesting idea, and fun gameplay.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:32am

Great game with fresh revise of brekout gameplay. Seems also will be good for mobile devices.

Cole Chittim says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:44am

This is a great idea for a game mechanic and a great take on the theme! This could be a fantastic mobile game with a little polish

d3uced says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:46am

This is legendary what a great idea, well done.

onixowl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:35am

Awesome game mechanics, it was really fun to play!

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:01am

very cool game, good job

kraftkar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:36am

Cool mechanic, nice entry

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:46am

Wow!

ionprodan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Cool idea! I like it!

negativice says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:17pm

Wow, its so simple yet so good.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Incredibly clever take on Breakout, managed to get all the way to level 13. Would be cool to see a full breakout level done in this style.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Great idea, well done! It's a bit difficult allowing the virtual screen to go off screen though.

kebb says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:34pm

Really fun mechanic, great job!

FinGamer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:27pm

This game is awesome! Easy and simple to understand. Very addictive! Nice job!

Outbreak says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:00pm

This is awesome! Had a lot of fun playing! Great concept!

Ryuko13 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Amazing!

Feips says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:00pm

I like it!

pcmxms says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:06am

Nice game. Neat idea!

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:15am

Really good idea for the theme of one room. I love the different take on breakout!

dunin says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:15pm

Cool idea!
Clever levels, and I like that we have to be soft to win this game...
(Just: I had a problem in level 10: after removing the second green bar, the game didn't change level, and if touched a red bar, I didn't lose...)

The end level is really frustrating by the way...

Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Excellent concept and execution. It's totally one of those "why didn't I think of that ideas!"

Very well done!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Really smart game with a great realization !!! A bit disturbing in a few levels, but I loved it ! Well done !!!

resty says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:30pm

I like your entry very much. It is super fun. LOVE ^ ^
the only question: is the Level 13 passable or just an sign of the game's end?

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:47pm

This is a very original idea, have to say! Interesting gameplay, intuitive and fun to play. I really liked this one.

pythong says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:02pm

I like it! the later levels are getting aggrevating though ;)

JOrbits says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Was very fun too play

harusame says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:13pm

It's simple but a very great idea :)

Clever game, great job !

TeamSemiColon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Managed to glitch the ball out of the level at one point, right at the start. Very original take on the theme!

Patacorow says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Very innovative and fun entry! Liked the audio as well and it's a shame that I couldn't rate it :/
Awesome work!

pixzleone says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Very cool idea, but I found the controls a bit frustrating. Also, it was a bit irritating when you moved the room, and then you couldn't see the ball anymore.. Maybe you could add some slow camera pan towards the ball or something like that?
I think you should keep working on this! Well done! :D

royalcivilian says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:29pm

I would LOVE to see a mobile port of this game. With like 200 levels lol. GREAT idea. :)

urfbound says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:02am

Really enjoyed your game! I liked the unique twist on Breakout, and I thought that the physics (esp. weight) of the ball and the feedback from hitting blocks and walls felt really good. I also liked the sound effects, that gave really clear feedback on what you were hitting. The only thing I found was that sometimes you got stuck having to drag the room out of the screen to keep the ball from hitting a red block - maybe making the room collide with the borders of the screen would help? Overall I thought that the game felt really polished and a lot of thought went into the levels and the progression of what it teaches you. Great submission and thanks for entering (also - thanks for your review! :D). Hope you have a great Ludum Dare :)

axoona says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:14pm

cool game, very innovative. quite tricky with the red bricks espacially when using the touchpad but I think it would make a great smartphone game.

Split82 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:29pm

Super awesome :D It was a little too hard, but I liked it a lot. Great job.

velvetlobster says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:11pm

We couldnt stop playing until we reached the end, very nice game.

rainssong says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:01am

nice gameplay

Pierrec says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:07pm

This is super cool!
I couldn't beat level 12 though! That's a hard one!
I wonder if it would be possible to play that game using an actual Windows' window. That would probably be even more fun/weird
Anyway the gameplay works super fine and I love it!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:55pm

very cool idea and well executed. controls seemed very fluid, and well done. great entry.

LeoM says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:29pm

Nice concept and well executed.
Well done. ;)

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 12:00am

Great use of ambient audio to create a really nice and inviting void.

wowods says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Very funny idea. Make an old school game into very interesting game...

Sos says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 10:29pm

This is so good! I'd love to play a mobile version!

saucygames says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 7:14am

It's cool, could use some swaggier music

skorpyo says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Very cool idea! Simple and innovative :)

wowa_u says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 6:47am

Simple but very solid idea! I had couple issues while playing it 1. sometimes while resetting the level, the ball appears outside the room 2. i could not complete the level despite i destroyed all green bricks. But i had a lot of fun to play!

Dec 26, 2016 @ 9:15pm

really good. the one thing i didnt like was having to drag the mouse out of screen to hit the bricks. like, i wanted the camera to follow or something so i could still see what i was doing.

Dec 27, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Clever idea. Gets frustrating when there's a bunch of off-screen action, but otherwise a fun little action-puzzle game. Very nice job.

SbstnC says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 10:42pm

I had stopped voting for games 2 days ago, but I just came by a review of your game on a french website, and played it. So now that I've played it, I might as well vote for it.

Awesome game ! A very broken mechanic, but one that is fun to play. Very fun. I could have play some more level.

Maybe you already know, but you can get the ball out of the room by shaking the room recklessly, and after doing that some times, touching the pink block doesn't restart the levels. It happened to me on the last level, so I don't know if it's on every levels.

And last thing, the level 8 is awesome.

Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Really awesome twist on a clasic game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/kL8oXDGWrLQ

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Top Notch! Minimalistic art and sound the work very fine!

Played till level 12 (Too hard for me) ...
The Bigger levels are interesting but things get easily out of control
and if the ball get out of the window... its worse.

I think this would be best played in toucscreen devices (laptop here).

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]