Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

One Broom

by SbstnC - Jam Entry

The story of two witches trying to get home, sharing only one broom.
A tale of courage, bramble bushes, and ways to get around the theme of this edition.

Get ready for the broomance !


*******************************

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#32Humor(Jam)4.04
#51Overall(Jam)4.04
#87Fun(Jam)3.85
#110Innovation(Jam)3.81
#316Graphics(Jam)3.79
#415Mood(Jam)3.32

Comments

calzep says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:43am

Really cool concept!! I love the idea, and I imagine if this was 2 player co-op, the gameplay would be HILARIOUS! The gameplay itself is already fun, it's obvious from the levels that there is so much you can add and do. Doesn't fit the theme very well in my opinion, but I see you kinda did a wordplay kinda thing. I'll give it a 3 in Theme but overall a 4 because the graphics.

I would love to see a version with updated graphics and local co-op!

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:40pm

I like the style, it reminds me of old soviet cartoons. Good job!

SbstnC says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:59pm

-Uliana Galich, never thought of that, but I really like that comparaison.

- Calzep. Thanks, you are right, there should have been a coop. But then again, I should have so much better level design, for that to be interresting.

Shockk says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Really interesting concept actually, and it was kind of fun to keep playing. I feel like it could have been a bit closer to the theme, but all-in-all it wasn't bad. Also, I know you opted out of the theme category, so the theme won't affect any of my ratings don't worry :)

Michalidis says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:05pm

calzep has a good point - if it was 2 player coop it would be less frustrating and more fun to play :D

On the other hand, the level design was nice, I appreciate the checkpoint system a your way of taking the theme to actually "fit" your game into the Theme :D :D

Gave me some laughs :D nice one :D

PS : Background music would be amazing :)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:18pm

A very nice concept. The narrative was pretty clever.

Sundr0 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:34pm

I make it through!!
Haha, the story was very funny, love the "Broom mates".
Not a perfect realisation, but a very good game tho! i'm still smilling :D

guoboism says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:09am

Whew! I beat it! Nice game!

terryg says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:28pm

I loved how this game works. Very unique. The wide and tall witch makes for some interesting puzzles. I LOVED the graphics. I wasn't able to get past the hedgehogs but i had a blast getting there. Good level progression.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:24pm

What a great game! Art style is wonderful, a mix of old soviet kids books in backgrounds and minimalist yet stylish characters; great interpretation of the theme, surprisingly challenging gameplay, and a funny tale. One of the best games I've seen among 50 games I've played so far.

Tilemapping says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:09pm

This game is loveley and the puns add to it ;D

Pierrec says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Woah! This is really good!
Lovely (and funny) story, lovely graphics (I really love the design of the witches) and last but not least : great gameplay and level design! You managed to keep it challenging but not frustrating (I only lost twice or thrice). Really, it's a lovely game! The only thing missing is a bit of music. Didn't you find something?

Few remarks: There's a typo at the end "When does the does the with come from dinner?" (well, I think it's a typo)

And : why don't you let us skip the text with X? My hands are already on X + arrows. Pressing Enter feels weird (and isn't intuitive)

SbstnC says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:55pm

@Pierrec : Thanks a lot ! I think I can answer all your questions by the same answer : lack of time to do it, fix it or think it better.

I swear that someday I'll participate in a LD event and not spend 90% on the code alone, and I have more time to do everything else.

I'll fix the typo and the X/Enter issue, though.

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:23am

Outstanding art style and rock-solid game design. The sizes of the witches were well reflected in the level design. Cute writing rounded everything off and motivated to stay til the end through the challenging final stretch.

Music was obviously missing and the game could easily have benefited from some open source music from jamendo or a similar source.

Another minor issue would be that the branches look a bit unnatural in their square form, so a little less strict edges might appear less sterile.

Overall a great entry. Real shame that there was no music.

Josho says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:40am

Cool game! I absolutely adore the art style!

Vertigon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:21pm

What a neat concept! Swapping brooms was pretty fun, and you did a nice job of presentation. Wanted some sound to wrap it up but time is limited.
The art was pretty rad, nice falling frames, definitely funny.
Appreciated the nuance a few levels in when I realized that the witches were different shapes and fit into different openings. Great work!

oyoh says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:13pm

I love the art except for the tiles, they doesn't match the witch's art really well imo. But anyway, the gameplay is awesome, great job !

DoubtfulGames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:06am

Beautiful! Really lovely graphics.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:34pm

What a gorgeous little game! I really like your take on the theme, that type of humour works really well here. The witches are cute as hell too! The differences between the two witches was a nice twist, but I didn't realise it was a thing until level 4, so maybe you could have forced the player to pass through small gaps on the brambles stage to teach them?

The only thing that dissapointed me was the level transitions. The witches were the real stars of the show, so I would have much preferred to hear a conversation between them than from two bystanders. Overall, I really enjoyed this game, though!

JonathanG says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:59pm

Swapping mechanic is quite novel. Want to see some more puzzles or clever situations and fewer dexterity challenges.

Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:39am

Eventually got to a level where my fingers couldn't keep up to keep switching in midflight. Cool concept.

Dec 25, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Really clever game mechanics and presentation! Well done :)

dunin says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 3:56pm

Really clever game!

Nice funny story and the two sizes witches idea add a lot of fun!

(my only complain is that hitboxes are not intuitive. Maybe sprites are too big...)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]