Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Roomies

by NicMagnier - Compo Entry

This is a Rogue-like Room management.

Pick the furniture your roomies might need to survive.

Every cycle you might have the chance to get a new furniture, new roomies or maybe even to trash one of your hold crappy furniture.

Be patient and compassionate with the little roomies. They are pretty stupid and will not choose their activity based on their needs, only randomly (others would say I didn't program a proper AI which is true)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#22Theme4.44
#150Graphics3.63
#172Overall3.56
#193Innovation3.47

Comments

Quaternius says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Really cool game! It just needs a little bit of music :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:02pm

Very nice! Good use of the theme. I like the visual style, simple but very striking. I played this game for 10 minutes, but then I got a bit annoyed with the AI. But I guess you can't program a decent AI in a couple of hours ;)

Well done!

shillingburg says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:03pm

neat idea! the sounds are strangely soothing. felt weird having to throw out my sink for no reason, but such is life

Phantom Lab says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Lovely game!

gdcvdqpl says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:06pm

"Every cycle you might have the chance to get a new furniture, new roomies or maybe even to trash one of your hold crappy furniture."
Why not trashing one of my roomies ?
.
.
Sorry


Amazing graphics. I havent figured out how to optimize my space tho ?
The sound design is minimalist but pretty cute, you should have add that to the ratings, I would have gave you a fair 3 stars.

kebb says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Nice idea, I really like the visuals. I was having an issue with my roomies not sleeping even though they were exhausted and had beds, but other than that great game!

Logeeker says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:24am

Such a good game! It would be a lot better if the people tend to choose the active that is in emergency.

conradte3 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:36am

Really cool use of the theme to tell a story, and the visual style worked really well. It's actually pretty fun just rearranging furniture so that it makes sense as an apartment.

Rixud says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:29pm

i like it very much, i dont know if is a bug, but "rest" always falling regardless 3 of my roomies are in bed

leondryaso says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:55pm

I like the style of this, but it really lacks a proper AI. Also, throughout one game I didn't get an option of getting a bed, that should be fixed somehow. You should continue working on this :)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Interesting concept, truly innovative. Grew a little bored over time, but the storytelling of the characters live is cool. Good work.

oyoh says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:31pm

Really nice idea, the graphism are neat !

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:33pm

That was a ton of fun! Really great idea. The visual design is awesome and the idea was really unique, I played it until my rest meter got too low which was around 5 minutes of gameplay.

Great job! :)

vcyborg says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:05am

Love the idea and the blueprint style!

n00basaurus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Very good use of the one room theme and I like the idea of using blueprints as an art aesthetic.

When choosing the furniture, I didn't have enough information to make good educated decisions. Still not sure what the table does.

A little bit more detail in the art and more use of blueprints could have been interesting as well.

The title cards detract too much from the game-play making you stop and OK every notification.

erik says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Really nice! A bit slow at the beginning, and the effects of some of the furniture like the shelves was unclear. I think I would have liked the option to speed things up a bit. Good work.

quiv says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Like you said, a bit more of an AI system might improve things a bit, but it's still a very enjoyable game! You need to notice early when one of the categories is starting to decrease, otherwise you'll be hoping for the next furniture cycle to get here as fast as possible :P Nice work!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Cool minimalistic style entry, the concept is lovely and pretty well executed, liked the idea to represent the game with blueprints.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:28am

Good idea :)

MentaL13 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:33pm

Cool game but I could not figure out how to improve Rest - it was always going down

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Good entry. I like the art you made for this game, it's pretty original. I felt bad because I broke that family, but 3 children and the mother was too much to get some good rest. At least they were happy. Nice job and keep working.

Dec 23, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Overall, it looked really clean and simple. I liked it a lot, but I wish it was a bit faster paced.

nick.bota says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 3:23pm

Great game! It looks real clean and minimalist, the sounds also fit very well with the rest of the game, the needs system is very well implemented. You could add a day counter to see how many days I survived, and I also wish I had more control over what's happening in the game, a lot of time I just felt like a spectator instead of actively participating.

dave003 says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 3:41pm

I love this! Cool concept and use of the theme.

Dec 29, 2016 @ 3:14am

Kind of like Sims on Hard Mode. An interesting take on the theme.

Intelli-Gents says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 3:20am

Loved everything about this! I loved imagining how people would live their lives in my insane configuration of a house

UltraRat says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 5:25pm

Cool. It seemed like I just kept hoping the next round of dumpster diving got us another mattress though.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]