Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

TILT Service

by Birke - Jam Entry

Fancy a trip around the multiverse?
See the sights! Get awestruck! Get confused!

All these experiences can be yours dear customer for one measly download, what's holding you back?

Controls: Mouse to look around, click to interact.

Art for this was made entirely in Tilt Brush, the VR painting program for the Vive which I think might be the first game to do so?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#33Humor(Jam)4.00
#129Mood(Jam)3.86
#164Graphics(Jam)4.16
#281Innovation(Jam)3.41
#309Theme(Jam)3.81
#350Overall(Jam)3.49
#634Fun(Jam)2.84

Comments

Logicon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:47am

I liked it. Very nice visuals

Lucas Knutson says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:52am

I really like the graphics style! Not much for game play though.

EthanBierlein says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:58am

Love it! It doesn't have much gameplay, but the art is cool.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:23am

Haha wow that was an incredible experience. It reminded me of when I was a kid and me and my dad would go around town looking for the best place we could find to get a proper garden hose and we could always go to the isle with the garden pots and my father would always make jokes about the garden pots and would put them over his head like a hat and we would both laugh. I sure miss him.

Hexcolyte says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:29am

The art is nice! It must be cooler if it has a longer story and gameplay.

NotExplosive says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:43am

Hiya, you reviewed my game (Puppertrator) so I'll review yours!

I loved it. Short, snappy, and hilarious. You have one joke and you tell it really well.

My only gripe is the warp effect made me dizzy.

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:11am

Really cool game. I love the graphics and what you got from the tilt brush, but in my opinion when it comes down to it, it's the story that matters and you nailed it :) Cheers

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Really cool. TiltBrush looks awesome. Very classic sci-fi. Also nice and short, perfect for a jam game.

smaganik says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Really interesting trip, good job

timgarbos says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Hahahahahahahahahahahaha!

Moritz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Wow, assets painted in tilt brush! That's a first :)

Good sound, good audio, very nice visuals. Sadly not much of a game. :(

Treborginho says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Wait a moment while I sort your scores out.

Simple Ghost says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Haha... small yet funny game! :)

Soundless_dev says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:48am

Very pretty, good job with the tilt brush. I want a vr headset ]:

Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:06pm

I really love it! It's really funny. The only thing I miss are subtitles XD I'm not native english and I guess I miss some of the machine's monologue. Good job!

Birke says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:09pm

EtherealPsycheGames That's a good point! If I end up doing a Post LD version that's on the list of things to fix

slovakyan says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:45pm

This looks cool, really awesome graphics!

elmoGames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Well done i laughed my ass off. Also its nicethat ou can type in anything you want

Albert Viader says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Art is very nice!. But I would like more gameplay :( Very good job! Congratulations.

neontropics says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Wow, this was super charming. Really great voice and script, and great design on everything.

I'm glad I downloaded it!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:30pm

very well done environment and humour, reminded me of what a Sirius Cybernetics Company Device would be like.

edve98 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:25pm

Nice visuals! also it's a cool idea to use tilt brush for graphics. I wonder how game like this would look with Vive... Too bad I don't have one :P

tinyworlds says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Felt like triggering a cutscene. Would have loved to actually be able to explore the worlds.
As far as it comes to "first game that uses entirely Tiltbrush graphics": you're pretty close, but my university mates beat you to it :P (and prob someone else lol) But yeah, it's a really interesting aesthetic, especially for alien worlds!
Sound design was pretty good imo. Liked the elevator music and narration.
Cool idea, would have loved some exploration!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:03am

Funny interactive short movie I'd say. The graphics are also neato for the most part. I think you'd be better off using traditional 3D modeling for certain, box-like, objects, but for natural, curvy stuff Tilt Brush seems to do the trick.

You could/should work on the interactivity some more next time. Non-linear storytelling is where the money is at when it comes to interactive movies and stories.

Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Unique graphics, interesting game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/rMBTPizENS0

axoona says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 8:51pm

the idea is really cool and the graphics are great,
the game lack's interactivity though. it would have been nice to actually have some influence on the places you visit.
if you add that the game could become really great!

Dec 26, 2016 @ 9:10pm

short, and not very interactive, but you did a very nice job with making art with tilt brush. I think that is a very clever idea for making a quick prototype for a 3d model, and seems like the perfect thing for a game jam.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 1:58am

Short and sweet. Definitely add subtitles next time though! :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]