Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Fear and Freedom

by Andrew Deem - Jam Entry

Locked away due to a terrible curse, an opportunity presents itself and the prisoner's "other half" realizes the chance for escape. Race to the top to become free again, or lock yourself away forever.

Has three endings -- depends on whether the prisoner, the beast, or both (at the same time) reach the top.

Created by Andrew Deem and Bez Imlay.
Made with GameMaker and GIMP.
Grandma Engine by Matt Thorson.

Didn't have time to do any audio work so we opted out of that. Barely finished this before I (Andrew) had to work, so there are a few knowable bugs. If you encounter one, please feel free to comment about it (would love to find more so I can fix them later). If you get stuck, just press R to restart from a checkpoint.

THANKS FOR PLAYING! :)

EDIT: I have an HTML5 version in the works that I will upload later! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#456Humor(Jam)2.56
#548Fun(Jam)2.97
#602Mood(Jam)3.03
#610Innovation(Jam)2.82
#676Overall(Jam)3.00
#770Theme(Jam)2.82
#808Graphics(Jam)2.37

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:40pm

This was a cool story, I did like the challenge of trying to escape with both characters at the end, but I couldn't do it so I just reached the ending with the prisoner but still had fun doing it. I did notice there were a couple small glitches in the graphics but apart from that the game seemed to function well.

Megalink says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:34am

The artwork needed some work but the story was awesome. I feel like they should replace the 'mood' rating with a narrative rating. Good job.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:46am

This had some great level design. The final climb was a little too challenging and I ended up giving up after a few minutes. With some polish this game will shine! Good work!

babyjeans says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:00am

I felt it started out a little clunky, the graphics are a bit rough, but it was a neat twist to change the control scheme up.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:01am

Cool little story. Controlling both characters at once was pretty cool. It would be cool if each character had a different mechanic when you were controlling them individually. Nice job!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:05am

Good Game nice mood and fun to play once you get use to it.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:07am

Solid entry. I liked the difficulty progression. I wasn't able to get both to escape at the same time, so I guess I miss out on the third ending.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:08am

The golden ending challenge certainly isn't easy to get right. I'm glad you had the sense to add so many checkpoints.

Uruca Games says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:09am

Good job with the history!!! I win with the monster eheeh is pretty hard win with the kid. Congratulations, good game!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Nice twist at the end! :)

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Nice platformer. Graphics a wee bit small on the web version, but definitely playable. thanks!

MementoGames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:01pm

Oohh I loved the final challenges! I managed to escape with the beast only :(
Awesome entry!

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:59am

Pretty fun to play, nice and fast but controlling two melted my head and I couldn't master it. Story was fun, shame you didn't get time for music to add to the drama. Nice work.

pcmxms says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Wow, in the first try I found a bug! Haha if you press "R" before begining, the player will respawn outside the playing area :P Interesting story and level design, but the "R" button is a bit buggy. Also, it would be nice to have some indication of where is the checkpoint.

There are some issues with the collisions too. The char, when jumping against the wall, keeps shaking and all... Not game breaker, but still nice to see it fixed.

Another interesting thing to add would be different obstacles.

Cheers!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:23am

@pcmxms: Ah, thanks for pointing that out. Just fixed it! You'll no longer be thrown out of the room when pressing R when you first enter the game.

Thanks for all the comments, everyone!

Patomkin says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:08am

I like how you introduce new mechanics over time. Like, moving platforms, then temporary platforms, and then Boom! You control both at once! Adds new gameplay each second, it's fun :)

ahmedmohi says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:09pm

Good work and nice story it would be better if movement and jumping was alittle bit faster

MrErdalUral says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:22pm

I really liked the last part. Very well done! Thank you for the game!

mirta000 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:56am

reached one of the endings (if there are multiple anyway), it's a nice little game :D

Iak says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 9:36am

Nice little story for a platformer. Getting the 3rd ending is rather challenging, fun.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Nice game. I liked how main character changed throughout the game. Final puzzle is fun too: first I thought I must bring both characters to the top, which is pretty difficult :)
Finished the game with both endings :)

Dec 25, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Nice work integrating a story into your game in such a short time. I get a bit frustrated about hitting the side of spikes.

Nice level design.

Clemzd says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 8:57pm

I won with the monster =)

acotis says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Nice. I like the story here, it was simple yet not underwhelming, and compelling. The art kind of took away from the game, though, as the background was very simple (but in-focus) while the character's icon while talking was blurry and out of focus (did you perhaps scale it up with the wrong scale tool in GIMP?) One other issue was that, when I am racing the beast out of the tower, the camera doesn't scroll up enough for me to get out unless the beast is up far enough as well. But still, this was good overall and I look forward to what you come up with next time!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]