Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Me, Myself And The Room

by Artylo - Compo Entry

"Me, Myself and The Room" is my first attempt at a so called "alt-game". The idea came out of necessity, as I was pressed for time on multiple occasions over the past 48 hours of the 37th Ludum Dare competition. To be honest, this is more of an installation or walking simulator than a game.
The game relies heavily on exploration and on audio narration. As always with this type of game - headphones are highly recommended.

========================================================================

Controls: Use the mouse to find one of the many nodes on screen. Then press and hold the left mouse button, until the inner circle has filled and you will be transported to the next node. (i.e. point-and-click) Full-screen mode can be enabled by pressing the "F" key (although not tested on multiple or non 16:9 displays).
You can use the Escape key to exit the game at any time.

========================================================================

I based the narrative off of some old text documents I wrote when I was an angsty teenager, just entering puberty, although making a joke out of it all. I used to stay in my room for days, only going out for food or to the toilet. The only communication I had was between me and myself, talking to the mirror or writing on the computer. For a time, I thought I was going insane, but in the end it developed into something of a self-imposed isolation, which I look fondly of.

... but seriously - half of this is flowery poetry, based on Warhammer 40K.

========================================================================

Postmortem: All of the pre-rendered frames, of which this game is composed were rendered rather hastefully. I had almost a day to model, render and program the majority of what you see before you. As such, I did a fairly low-quality render, which in term developed it's own unique aesthetic for the final product.

Second of all, the code for this game is basically non-existent, outside of some basic room-switching and audio triggers. All 3D is fake. The animation in the beginning took 2.5 hours to render, in which all of the source code was written.

I threw my hat into the voice-acting ring this time, realizing that I cannot possibly pull off a better teenager voice than this. Monotone, lifeless and borderline suicidal - you'll love it. Writing and recording all of it took a few hours, along with the audio engineering aspect.

Hopefully you found it enjoyable - it is definitely not my best work, but for the time I had with it, I would call this project a success.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#87Audio3.57
#156Theme3.95
#161Graphics3.59
#186Mood3.38
#211Humor2.83
#398Overall3.12
#494Innovation2.61
#572Fun2.35

Comments

gene-z says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Nice game, nice concept

kptemre says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Artylo, I couldn't open it . I mean I have downloaded exe and opened it. I saw a spinning room and everything but I couldn't find the correct button to start the game. It is windowed mode atm. Maybe it is breaking up something. I am using dual monitors and it opens it in the middle of monitors. half on left - half on right (ofc I can pull it as a window but maybe that's why I can't interact with it)

Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Works on Wine. I enjoyed the aesthetics.

boddiul says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:04pm

The best point'n'click I've seen this LD so far! Nice mood and concept

Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:05pm

@kptemre the button shows up when you move your mouse to the bottom of the screen; move your window to a single monitor maybe.

stefvanschie says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:50pm

I've got the same problem as @kptemre. I pressed every key and button, but nothing happens. So the feedback is going to be based on the title screen.

The spinning room could use some better graphics. The pixels are clearly visible and aren't very nice to look at. The font isn't always readable. For example, the 37 at the top looks more like an 'n'.

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:51pm

I tried it on Wine/Linux, and sadly it said "Cabinet not valid". (This is not a complaint, given that you didn't say it was Linux-compatible, but I thought I'd give it a try.)

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:52pm

I moved my mouse to the bottom of the screen, a little circle comes up, but I can't click it. Also, the sound stopped working the third time I tried running it. The aesthetics look brilliant though

JK5000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:53pm

This game is really relaxed and peaceful. I love it. Well done.

Minato4th says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:56pm

Very interesting,, this gamplay sistem reminded me VR games.

nycolas says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Graphisms interesting and nice concept. Good job.

Artylo says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:22pm

I couldn't say anything about Linux or Mac OSX compatibility. It seems to be a hit or miss situation for both operating systems. Development time was a factor, and sadly I lack the tools to port efficiently.

ModernMan says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Aesthetics were nice.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Same here, dual monitors, best thing I've done! Hahaha, nice "game", even I would consider it more like... something that you experience that a proper game. I really liked the art style and the artistic felling behind it all.

kebb says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Nice game, good job!

Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:24pm

I really liked this one. Is there an end state though? I think I found all of the things there are to find but it never gave me a message saying so. Maybe I missed one?

Pusty says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Great entry! I just love games with narration :D

Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Interesting, i like this type of games. Very personal. The interaction system is very cool and well developed.

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Cool concept

DrSnuggles says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Wow, nice game. I like your teenage voice :-)
Why i can't rate Innovation?

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:27am

This is like dinner date without the dinner. I liked the voice overs and and the graphics, but I hope you do actually read all those books!!!

pLaw says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:23am

Thoughtful :)

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Really cool game mechanics and it's a somewhat challenging game, which is a good thing! Also, it's fun.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:55pm

This was really fun. It had just enough of a Stanley Parable feel while still feeling original. The writing was spot on in this.

KappaIX says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Really interesting! Found it tough to get past the title screen, after that I enjoyed myself.

You did a good job with the voice acting and the low-key music. Definitely fit the theme and I quite liked the aesthetics as well.

Well done, thanks for sharing!

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:59pm

I love the graphical style of it. Also, I am glad I am not the only weirdo who has had a plank of wood in his room for years for no reason whatsoever. I don't know whether I "finished" this game, but I think I found all the places already. There should be some progress indicator perhaps... Also, kinda good music. Loved the narrative.

blaster391 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Liked the cheeky 4th wall breaking, and the art style was very interesting. It's a great effort and fairly different from any of the other games I've played so far

bigpan says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:12pm

I had a really hard time starting the game, the title screen was tricky. The game/concept itself is ok, it fits the theme perfectly and the narration is nice, but I felt it's lacking something. Nonetheless, congratz!

Hempuli says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:48pm

A fairly melancholical experience! It was interesting to realize that I was exploring the developer's own room, and listening to your occasionally witty descriptions of things there was nice, especially after reading your foreword in the description. It took me some time to realize how to get forward from the title screen.

nilead says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Looks nice visually and the narration is cool, although what is the objective? Is there an end game, anything to do besides spinning around the room? Cool narrative experience nonetheless.

GuiGs says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Nice narrative and visual. Good Job!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Nice and relaxed from the visuals all the way to the dialog. The second monitor truly is a great investment.

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:48am

Interesting concept, great narrative.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Another Ludum Dare voice acting game! There aren't enough people doing voice overs in this compo, I really enjoyed this :)

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 11:12am

Cool idea.
I actually really like the look of the game.
It has something very unique about it.
And the voice over was pretty good too.
With a bit more "gameplay" (however you want to define that) this could be really amazing.
Keep up the good work!

Minato4th says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Hello! I done some update for my game you can try it by downloading Windows PostCompo on game page
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-37/?action=preview&uid=125051

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:50am

Nice art boring game play.

Tkachov says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 10:27am

Pretty nice. I'm not really into walking simulators, but this looks and sounds very good. I think you can do an adventure game with controls/graphics similar to this.

Btw, played that on 16:9, though I've used Alt+Enter to enter fullscreen mode and it was just 4:3 in the center with black bars on the sides.

yuigoto says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:44pm

Looks really cool and feels a bit like some click'n point games like Myst for me. :P The soundtrack is also pretty relaxing.

As a non-native english speaker, I sometimes have problems when games like this one don't have subtitles, but this one's pretty clear and the voiceovers are really easy to understand. :)

Good work there!

Jan 10, 2017 @ 6:31pm

Nice graphics and voice! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/xG2aiO_VsBw

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]