Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

12 Angry Tenants

by Coauctor - Jam Entry

12 Angry Tenants is a game where you create the best house plan you can starting from one room. The better your plan is, the faster you will return your investment. Try to create the best!


- Tenants die without doorways and pay no money
- Tenants need a minimum living area (app. 4 squares)
- Tenants like doors

Controls:

- Left Mouse Click for everything
- Hold LMB to move field
- Mouse Scroll for zoom

Interface:

- Press "Thumbs Up" icon to complete a level
- Your check shows your profits and loss

Credits:

- Viktor Smirnov - code, design
- Svetlana Liakhina - art, ui
- Bohdan Sereda - design, music, text

Balance: Broken!

Thank you for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#105Innovation(Jam)3.83
#211Overall(Jam)3.68
#217Audio(Jam)3.52
#257Fun(Jam)3.47
#316Mood(Jam)3.51
#337Graphics(Jam)3.74
#461Humor(Jam)2.55
#469Theme(Jam)3.55

Comments

yarrrash says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:45am

Nice!))

Insality says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:22pm

hey! defold mate! good job
was interesting expierence to play in your game

i got the all levels!
nice music and art

mpe3us says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Great job! Really nice artstyle which sets the mood perfectly.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:37pm

nice and relaxing vibe with the music and colour choices

HadikCZ says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Everthink is so perfect :) Graphics art and music are greate :) Very fun. I got it :)

raconteurnick says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Really impressive for such a short time frame! I wish I had read the explanation about what tenants want before I had started, but it's a quick process and the tutorial is very useful. I'm impressed and I'd definitely play an expanded version of the game!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Interesting game! I wish there was a bit more of challeng.

Cole Chittim says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Loved this! The game play was fantastic, the building felt really good and I loved the idea of planning out apartment rooms! (great take on the theme by the way) I only wish I could've been able to have a deeper simulation with the rooms I was building (after I'm done building I couldve have people move in and I could watch my money rise and fall etc.)As for the art and sound, it was minimal but still really nice and accompanied the game play well! Overall really great game! Would love to see this continued and improved!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Hey, nice idea!
You really sticked with the theme.
The art style is really nice and gameplay smooth!

leewalkergm says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Really interesting game.

The algorithm is a little busted (Adding multiple doors on the same room should be a negative?)

But kept me hooked enough to work up a bit and try different things :)

Also the hitbox/controls for placing a door were a little un-intuitive

Rakart says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:59pm

I really enjoyed the game, it was a nice experience.

It was a bit hard to grasp at first but when you finally click ("oh. Oooh, okay") it's a really nice puzzle.
Congratulations

Devastus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:04pm

A nice, relaxing little puzzle game, I liked it! Could have used the possibility to drag mouse click to create several walls at once.

However, let's be honest though, there's multiple rooms here instead of one :P

leondryaso says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:30pm

I like your take on the theme, quite a nice idea!

Palarus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Interesting idea, great presentation! This looks SO professional. The music, the colors...everything adds to a very warm puzzler feeling.

Congratulations!

youngbrothers says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Nice style. There is a lot of potential here. I wish there was a bit more of a challenge, but that might be something for later.
Good work!

Oxeren says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:43am

Cool and engaging! Though I could not fully figure out how payments are calculated :)

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:54am

Had fun playing this one, great job!

Fuad says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:33am

Nive idea, very actual and show that profitable != comfort for tenants :)

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Really cool concept!

jramell says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Great game! I really liked it. Art and sound are amazing, it feels new and though mechanics could be more polished, it's quite fun as it is. I'm sure you'll be at top 100.

Vadim Ivshin says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 12:12am

Great puzzle, thanks. Spasibo!

pixzleone says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 12:23am

Cool idea, would be fun to see this as a full game!
Well done!

Quaternius says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Loved the game! not exactly "one room" tough :P

Flaterectomy says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 3:57pm

This is a pretty cool one! I enjoyed trying to be as efficient as possible. Not a clear loss condition in here, but it takes some fiddling for the win. I'd have liked some ramping up of difficulty though. But props for the tutorials int he first levels. There's room for a post-LD game in here.

The graphics were simple but very suitable. I've recently bought a new apartment, and the floor plans I've been seeing look very similar to the game.

The music was soothing and fitted very well with the game (both the background ambient music and the victory music). Sound effects were decent, but I wasn't keen on the placement sound--kind of a sub-bass 808 tom drum.

Altogether very good!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 7:11pm

Great entry! Gameplay was fun, well implemented and can get addictive very easily, I was sad to reach the end.

Also, visuals and sound are clear and polished, so the whole game feels very solid. I could easily see this expanded into a larger game.

Awesome job!! :)

Junber says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 9:16pm

i like to design rooms so i loved this game, sad that its so short. I really like the simplicity of the gameplay using only the mouse to interact. and very good explanations in the first lvls
-Hisfantor

icefallgames says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Nice, different game.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:17pm

understud sorry))

badtorse says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Nice game, but there is a weird exploit with doors, you can replace every walls with doors and it just makes the price goes up like crazy.

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Good game, but it felt like I was just playing the tutorial for the actual game. I also didn't know what my goal income was supposed to be in any level.
Btw, I got a float error at some point so it showed my income as -4.000001 or something.

Dec 27, 2016 @ 12:44am

great overall game. I wish there was a little more guide as far as how to get ROI.... but a little playing and it can be figured out i suppose

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 7:45pm

This is a nice concept, i enjoyed it, though it felt a little easy, didn't have much trouble with the puzzles.

Not sure if i missed something, but the winning condition for each level felt arbitrary, often i won before i was done.

I also like what you were going for with the music but its compression feels too high, it can get grating after a while.

Overall a pretty enjoyable game, nice work!

Dec 29, 2016 @ 7:58pm

It was more like multiple rooms, but it was still pretty fun!

I would have liked to be able to drag to place pieces, and to have a universal delete button.

Overall, great job!

maxim says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 12:51pm

Solid concept, very nice art style. The only complaint I had was that the building system was much more difficult than it had to be.

Jan 2, 2017 @ 9:48am

Loved it !

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]