Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Turn the Lights On!

by Outbreak - Jam Entry

Turn the Lights On! - Ludum Dare 37 (One Room)

Hi everyone!

With this Ludum Dare I decided to challenge myself and create a 3D game. I am no artist and have never done modelling before so I figured I would learn Blender and learn to model and texture things and import them into unity!

About the game
--------------
The game is about turning on the light, nothing in the world matters other than turning on the light. The game is a puzzle / escape room kinda game. Basically you need to go around the room and interact with things to solve the puzzle and turn the light on! Since the game is about turning the light on, it is pitch black in the room and you use a lighter to find your way.

Controls
--------
Action - E
Movement - W A S D
First Person Mouse Movement for moving the camera around the screen

Assets
------
Everything except the character controller I made myself, I decided to use the Unity FPS Character Controller to give myself some extra time with learning a new program. I only had 48 hours to work on this and had full intentions of joining the compo as I wont be able to take advantage of the full JAM deadline.

I hope you guys have fun playing it and wish you all good luck!

It was a great jam!

*Edit* It takes a little bit to load up, but it will load!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#243Mood(Jam)3.62
#274Theme(Jam)3.86
#371Audio(Jam)3.10
#456Humor(Jam)2.56
#689Graphics(Jam)2.86
#731Innovation(Jam)2.53
#792Fun(Jam)2.48
#800Overall(Jam)2.76
#938Coolness45%

Comments

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Nice little escape the room game :) The mood was on point! At first i thought there will be a jump scare! :D

nataha says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Couldn't run it

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:33pm

That was pretty cool was a bit frustrated that you had to press e like 20 times to interact with stuff but eventually I beat it! The interactions and descriptions of the furniture was funny. I also loved the little background tune you had, you can tell where you got it?

dobnarr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Fun game. A little frustrating at first, because it was SOOO dark, but I got used to it. SPOILER: Didn't know you needed to check places multiple times, either - that was tricky. Music was appropriately gloomy, and I appreciated the humor in the text. And yes, Harambe.

Simboubou says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Nice atmosphere. I took me a while to realize that all was happening through text, but I eventually beat it. :p

Smiley says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Unfortunatly the Webversion didn't load anything. :( (didnt vote)

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:17pm

That Harambe wasn't expected...xD It was hard at the beginning! Nice idea, good job!

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:21pm

I liked the dialogue you wrote, that was awesome. And its a great idea, but I just couldn't find a light bulb, apperently it was too hard for me.

kleinzach says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:52am

Great mood you evoke here. Definitely thought there would be a jump scare, so I appreciate that you didn't do that.

Galan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:15am

Web player isn't working for me either. Firefox on Windows 10.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:28am

I had to click the same thing many times before it would do anything, looking like a good start not sure why it did not like to interact.

ninjascript says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:05am

Neat game, and definitely gets full marks for mood. By the end I was kinda wishing I could just set everything on fire with the lighter :P

Linear says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 9:01pm

So, I wanted to give you an honest critique here.

Here's what I think you did well:

- You modeled an entire room full of furniture, etc. The scene fit together properly because you made all the stuff to make it convincing.
- The music fit the setting pretty well.

Here's what you did wrong:

- There's really only one objective, to find the lightbulb. Nothing that you find along the way seems to help you find the lightbulb, so the entire objective of the game is to search for one thing in the dark, and then you win. There's no buildup, there's no challenge and reward (with the exception of winning the entire game in one move), etc.

- Dark is a bad mechanic. It's frustrating to bump into stuff in the dark constantly. The light the player had was very faint and fell off too softly, so you could never truly look at something in full brightness without bringing it to within 2 centimeters of your face. You also didn't capitalize on the light for aesthetic purposes. The fire from the lighter didn't flicker or cast shadows. You could have switched the lighting to linear space (instead of gamma space) to give the player a very harsh circle of light that fell off very quickly, making the first several meters in front clearly visible but everything beyond that would be extremely dark. As it was I could barely see enough to orient myself in the level.. the light was very faint and diffused out far into the room, so that everything was just pastel colors with no contrast to delineate where floors ended and walls began.

- There was no crosshair. I couldn't tell what I was looking at when I was pressing E. Is it the fridge? Is it the counter? The object I was pointing it could have become outlined to indicate I was about to interact with it.

- The particle system for the flame was very unconvincing. The particles didn't have a high enough spawn rate, so that you could always see gaps between individual particles. Considering the player is forced to look at the flame the entire time they're playing, it would have made sense to focus more effort on making it look more polished. Likewise with the way the lighter appears.. the light seems to bleed through to the underside of the lighter cap, which didn't seem correct. The lighter itself was also attached to the player controller, not the camera. If it was attached to the camera, looking up and down would have appeared more natural, with the lighter always staying in the same place on the screen. As it was, looking up or down at things would always leave the lighter (and thus, the light source) hovering in the center in front of you, making it difficult to see things up high or down low.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]