Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

STEREOJO

by ChuiGum - Compo Entry

*HEADPHONES RECOMMENDED*


This is my 10th Ludum Dare.

STEREOJO is a puzzle platformer where you have the ability to look past the environment, and interact with the illusion.

Don't understand what that means? Put your index finger in front of your face. Focus on it. Now keep your finger there, and focus on something else in the background. You see two fingers now, right? STEREOJO takes that double vision effect and the player uses that to his advantage. Still don't understand? Play the game and you'll see what I mean.

Wish I could make more levels for the Compo! This is definitely a game I will continue development on.

*Many people are saying that the wall jumping mechanic is very clunky. Sorry for that.

PLEASE CHECK OUT THE POST COMPO VERSION AND LET ME KNOW IF THE WALL JUMPING IS SMOOTHER.


If you've streamed this game on Twitch already, let me know in the comments.

Follow me on Twitter: @ccolongames

Become a Patron: patreon.com/ccolongames

Check out my other LDs or some other games I've made, at: ccolongames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#24Innovation4.16
#57Audio3.75
#140Overall3.64
#154Graphics3.61
#161Fun3.52
#186Mood3.38
#324Humor2.41
#938Coolness45%

Comments

Bejk says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:38am

Love the clean minimalistic pixel art <3
Its innovative and charming and the music fits the game really well.
I would say that my only "concern" is that the wall jump feels a bit clunky at times..
I had fun though, good job!

mmason says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:56am

I've been following this one every time you posted about it. My only real gripe is that it's too short.

Broxxar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:10am

Solid platformer and a neat idea for a mechanic. I would have liked it more if making your view stereoscopic wasn't so binary and slow. Also you seemed to have forgotten/intentionally dodged the theme!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Wow, I really dig this idea! It's really fantastic concept and it's a real shame there isn't more it as once I got into it I'd finished the game. Nice simple pixel graphics and lovely audio really helped set a mood. Really enjoyable! :D

Megalink says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:24am

Extremely clever concept, this is one of the best entries I have seen yet. Good job, dude!

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:08am

Rad graphics and color scheme! The music is really good too, but didn't entirely fit the mood for me. Wish it had a couple more levels. I wasn't entirely sure I reached the end when it starts repeating the last section. Love the "illusion" gameplay!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:47am

Hey man! Great entry once again! Loved the concept, the graphics and the audio. I was hoping for more than 3 or for levels, but this is LD, can't expect a 100% full length game.

Garris says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:50am

A good walljump is hard to pull off. I really like the feel you've created with stererojo, and I think with a little more than compo time you could make the walljump feel just as fluid and silky-smooth as the rest of the game feels. I had a ton of fun with this and your puzzle element is one of the more refreshingly interesting things I've seen in a platformer in a while.

ijzm says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:12am

Really neat idea, love the graphics. Music's good, too. :)

The wall jumping is what made this game overly frustrating. It's a little difficult to get a grasp of the wall, as you don't seem to grab onto it unless you mess around with the jump key and hope for the best. That aside, some of the level designs in this were pretty clever and built around the mechanic of not allowing the player to control the illusion, but rather having it be done mechanically. So I liked that. I would love to see more levels and that wall jumping adjusted in a postjam version.

~Random-storykeeper

arcadehero says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:27pm

Nice entry, man!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Good idea. Wall jumping seems a bit unpredictable though.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:06pm

Great idea! Good graphics and sound! I like it.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Would've liked to have the walljump on another key than up.
Good entry overall though, the mechanic is really interesting! Well done! Had fun playing it on our stream.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Challenging game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/jkCKtsfy-DM

batmanasb says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:04am

Aww, you got my hopes up that I would get to use the double vision trick to find stuff in the level and us it! Like one of those "magic 3D pictures"!

Nevertheless, this an interesting concept although controls don't feel smooth enough. Wall jumping is chunky, making the trickier levels harder than they needed to be. A little polish and larger levels can make this game very fun!

Sean says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Nice entry! Like most people are saying, the walljump being finicky made some rooms a lot harder than they were probably meant to be, but other than that is was fairly fun.

The illusion mechanic is pretty interesting, but I have no clue what the connection to "one room" is; it honestly seems like an idea for a different theme entirely that you just went with anyway! (I suppose that's why you opted out of the theme voting, haha)

nick.bota says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 12:05pm

Amazing game, especially considering it's a Compo Entry! Love everything about it, the cool MeatBoy'esque gameplay with a interesting twist(the illusions), lovely pixel art, very fitting music, tight controls. A bit disappointed it didn't have an ending but it's perfectly understandable given the limited time you had. 5/5 game for sure!

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Nice game, and great mechanic, the wall jumping was a bit fiddely, but I still had fun. nice art style too

Knowledge says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Nice little game. It's a little bit short though.

smbe19 says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 12:13am

Was a lot of fun to play around with. The last level was actually pretty challenging.
Very innovative and nice music to complement the feel of the game.
It didn't fit the theme very well, though.

wowa_u says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Cool idea and it's fun to play, but at some parts to hard. But overall cool and well done :)

rojo says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:16pm

I thought the idea was pretty clever. A bit of stretch on the theme, but it looks like you're opting out of that category anyway. As other people have apparently mentioned, the wall jumping could use some love. All in all great job - the game was fun!

hellfridge says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 11:46am

You could develop this further and get a really good game. Idea: Give more/finer control of the "eye separation"?

Control did not work for me at the alternating wall jump.

One of the best entries. It's cool that you decided to make your own theme. Not mono rooms, but stereo rooms. Still remotely related to the one room theme, in a strange way.

GFM says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 12:14pm

Nice concept! It's unfortunate that you didn't have time to add more levels. :(

I would advise three things about the wall jump:

1. Make the character stick to the wall briefly, so the player may hold the other direction before jumping
2. It feels weird to have a static constant speed for a while that suddenly vanishes. The player should be able to manipulate that speed (e.g., holding toward the wall should make the jump sharper, but not necessarily allow wall-climbing)
3. Sliding (even if briefly) is really helpful on giving the player more control.

Also, I personally prefer games with variable jump height. Again, it gives more control to the player. On that note, it would be great to be able to control the jump's height after wall jumping...

ema1ih says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Nice idea, would love to play a longer version of the game =D

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 2:55am

Very nice little platformer. Only thing I can easily think of to improve is that on the last level it gets annoying to wait for the double-vision to recede before I can continue.

siryakko says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 2:41pm

Nice Pixel art and love the interesting and not overused mechanics. Great game

Levi D. Smith says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 4:31pm

The wall jumping seemed near impossible on a keyboard. Pixel art looks very dated.

Cerno_b says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 9:23pm

This game has so much potential!

The graphics are nice, the soundtrack outstanding. The idea is fresh and promises some really neat puzzles. I would have loved to see more.

Unfortunately the controls are not very tight which makes the game really frustrating. Up key for jumping is a no-no, also the wall jump was a bit fiddly.

Gameplay-wise the stereo-mechanics look and work pretty well, but I would have liked some way to reset the effect. When I missed a jump it took quite some time until I could try again which breaks the game flow a bit.

Two minor things: Sound effects would have been really nice (bfxr ones would fit perfectly) and a Game Over screen instead of restarting the game would be a bit more satisfying.

Overall it's a great entry. I liked it a lot.

Maple says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:47am

Hmm, really cool, weird concept. I managed to beat the game, but it just loops around to the first level again? Would've been cool to have a win-state, but otherwise good job! Nice presentation and tutorial, too. :>

PowerSpark says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 4:52am

Solid game :D I had a feeling the mechanic would be well executed. Movement is nice (played the original, the wall jumping wasn't awful but I'm glad it's been fixed), audio was cool but I'd like sound effects... but wow you have a nice concept going, I hope you develop it further!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]