Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Abandon Ship

by drakekin - Compo Entry

You wake up on a ship, floating through space, with only one instruction. Abandon ship. No gravity, no memory, just an automap and the vaguest of directions.

Mouse to look. Hold and release left mouse to push. Holding for longer will push harder. Hold shift to push backwards. Right mouse to slow down. A and D to roll. E to open doors/cryopods/activate escape pods. F to toggle the light.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#150Graphics3.63
#228Mood3.28
#292Innovation3.20
#387Overall3.13
#476Fun2.75
#567Theme2.72

Comments

wrexialmt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Wow, the controls are not made to work for WebGL, found the experience a bit nauseating myself. Good attempt though and great graphics for such a short time.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Very well made! Cool graphics and I kind of liked the weird controls. You might want to edit your code to lock the cursor in the center of the screen, because I kept clicking out of the window.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:17pm

The framerate makes it really difficult to play. Also, when my mouse left the game window, the mouse cursor became unbound to the game window and the camera became impossible to control.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:36pm

I liked the graphics and mood. You need to add mouse grab for the online version though (not sure if this is possible)

erikiene says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:43pm

Took me a minute to understand that the weird controls are probably meant to simulate what orienting oneself in a low gravity environment would feel like. Still, a little too hard to control, especially without cursor lock as mentioned previously.

Otherwise, solid entry, good work!

kebb says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Liked the graphics, really added to the mood of an abandoned ship. Controls were a little confusing at first, but great job!

drakekin says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Thanks to everyone who has played it so far. I'll try and fix the cursor lock issue ASAP (it should be getting cursor lock, and is for me). The downloadable options should have better performance and be cursor lock bug free.

caranha says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:06pm

Ok, that was a good idea. I think you need to work more on the mood of the game: Circuits sparking out, sometimes the ship shakes for no reason, More voice overs at certain rooms -- It is all about the experience!

After figuring out that I was way, way on the wrong side of the labyrinth, I just gave up :-(

The web version was not holding the cursor lock, but the binary version worked without a hitch!

Thanks for the game!

Phantom Lab says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Very big scope for an LD. Kudos to you!

harark says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Interesting concept! I really liked it. The text was a bit small and the sound too low. Took some time for me o figure out that I the cryo pod was closed since it looked like I was supposed to go through what proved to be a window in the hatch. The controls is my favorite part. It felt really nice to use once I got a hang of it. It was, however, frustrating that I was often propelled not directly forward but rather forwards and upwards, or something like that.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:13pm

I really like the way you push yourself in a direction with the mouse click, but I got pretty dizzy and the idea is cool. The main issue is probably that the mouse doesnt directly control the view rotation...

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Really nice idea and game!

avalkyrie says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Nice concept. I liked the weird controls at first but they became a little frustrating, I felt like I kept getting stuck facing into walls.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:10am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Tygrak says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:16pm

The controls are pretty funny :D, I have managed to escape. It really feels like a abandoned ship so thats awesome, smashing into walls and spinning around really captures the feeling of no gravity. I like the low poly graphics too.

Ednei says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:14am

controls are a few confuse in the beginning, but the concept, graphics and the voice is very cool! :)

Dragojt says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:20pm

Nice concept, but the movement is so hard to control. Anyway, good work!

bigpan says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Great graphics for a compo entry, congratulations for that. The controls are indeed messy, but maybe this is a feature? Overall good game.

ato says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:28pm

I played Windows version. After few tries controls were very intuitive for me. Unfortunately I started to move freely so quick that I started to feel nausea :). It's not the game's fault. I feel like it while playing some games sometimes. I'd like to play some AAA game with that controls, heh.

jimmynoshoes says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 1:54am

Good work. The controls made it feel a lot like being in zero-g which was cool. I liked the spoken instructions too. I managed to get to the escape pod.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]