Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Escape the Room

by CoderDozer - Jam Entry

This game is a solo effort that was intended for the 48 hour competition but unfortunately ran out of steam and time :-(

The premise behind the game is to escape the room. Start at the bottom and get to the top for which you will score a time. Its a single level game that is intended as a proof of concept. For some it will be a quick game, for others it may induce rage quit. I will admit I struggled finding a good balance with my character controller. Either way I appreciate all feedback as it helps me improve for the next one.

Also, as this is my first time producing a full game with the godot engine, alot of stuff is new to me. i.e. the linux and mac builds, I would appreciate if anyone who runs these to please tell me if they work or not.

Edit: I was having issues with the Html5 build in chrome hence I was recommending firefox, turns out I had hardware acceleration turned off, which explains the odd behaviour.

Thanks,

Will

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#470Audio(Jam)2.78
#634Humor(Jam)1.86
#704Mood(Jam)2.79
#708Graphics(Jam)2.79
#723Fun(Jam)2.67
#764Theme(Jam)2.85
#841Innovation(Jam)1.79
#863Overall(Jam)2.59

Comments

lertsenem says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:53pm

Hi!

I played your game, here are a few points maybe you'd like some return on. Full disclaimer, I only made it to *just before* the ends of the first level.

* controls of the character are very "fast" (in lack of a better word). There's no inertia to it. It makes it hard to walk slowly, to time and adjust jumps right, etc.
* same as above: gravity is very strong, which makes jumps really hard to control.
* the gears are buggy, and they do not seem to bring that much to the game (they are quite easy to pass). Maybe you'd like to consider replacing them by another type of enemy, or just make it a barrels/pendulum/platform sequence?
* a small pause between death and respawn would prevent some very stupid deaths, especially since the checkpoints are so close to the edge of a platform.
* graphisms and animation are poor, but efficient. The green theme and electronic background feels nice. It would be nice to have this theme used more fully, for the design of the platforms, characters and obstacles.
* the music theme is simple but largely enough for a level this size. It would add weight to the character to have some noise for the jumps, walk and death, though.

As a final note, I'd say this is a simple platform game, overall really really hard, but more because of the way the controls feels than because of an intricate level design, which is unfortunate. I like the idea behind the graphic theme and I would love to see it more exploited throughout the design.

I played the game on Linux 64bits and it went smoothly. The only "problem" was that I could resize the window and if I did the background didn't fit anymore.

This is a pretty nice contribution, especially considering you were using Godot for the first time. Well done!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:55pm

Played this in chrome, so i don't know if it's that, but the jumping didn't feel good :\ But it was a good idea with escaping the room from the bottom, going up.

akirassasin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Very cool and fitting music! However, the controls are very... twitchy (is that how you describe it?). I think I did not reach the interesting part yet though...

leewalkergm says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:25pm

Jumping seems really quick
Enemy hitboxes are huge for the small jump

Soundtrack was cool, but no other sound effects
Graphics were decent - Appropriate for the game

skorpyo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:25pm

Nice game, but too hard for me. And i guess, jumping is too fast

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:06pm

very unforgiving! I wish there was a checkpoint (maybe there was I just never got that far) but I didnt like starting over at the beginning every time -

I agree with some of the others the jump was hard to time- you go up and down so fast you come down right on top of the thing you were trying to jump over.

There is a lot going on- a lot of level elements. Great work on that- It could be a lot more fun with some more polish and tweaking movement as others have suggested.

Great work though- good job entering the jam! Keep it up!

quiv says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:26pm

The movement and especially the jumping was very fast, took a little time to get used to! I did appreciate the checkpoints :P It was quite a difficult game, but I found it enjoyable.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:39am

background music was nice and subtle, a run animation for the character would have been cool

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:51am

OK, I finished it in 2:48, and it was definitely fun. However, as others have said, it is a bit too unforgiving, mainly due to the difficulty in controlling your jumps. I would definitely recommend weaker gravity and more slower acceleration of the player to give the user more control.

x1212 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Hm ... this is a difficult one ...
It feels like it would have been pretty good with a little more finetuning ... but as it is it was really frustrating ...

The problems came mostly down to:
- everything being way to fast when the character was not standing on the ground
- no cooldown before respawn (is a big problem where there are enemies right next to the checkpoint, which lead to me not beeing fast enough to release the walking button upon death, running immediately into the enemy next to the checkpoint, still beeing confused what just happened continuing to press the button walking into the enemy again ...)
- not beeing able to tell what just killed you (mostly due to the insane speed, maybe sometimes also because of unintuitive hitboxes)
- evil placement of enemies/traps (having something slow you down while something else requires you to act quickly, for example there was a spot where I had to wait for an elevator, with a pendulum right next to it)

Some of this wouldn't be as much of a problem, if you could have a look ahead from a safe spot and plan for it, but as it is, even if you know the placement of things that can kill you the viewing distance is just too short to see it coming and react to it in time)
Also all of this combined with limited amount of respawns ...


Anyway I think it's still pretty good for your first attempt using a new engine, especially one that doesn't have all that many tutorials. (regarding this: when I began using godot some of my attempts at making games with the built-in-physics failed because I didn't quite understand what _process and _fixed_process are there for, so maybe that has something to do with the physics problems in your game?)

Linux version works fine for me.

Hores says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:20pm

I did like the game and tried to finish it but it proved too hard for me. I personally found the fast dying and fast restarting quite frustrating. Like before I even realized what happened, I was already back at the checkpoint. But I liked the overall mood and I think the game could be really good with better controls and more responsiveness. Good job overall ;-)

patrickgh3 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:25pm

I like the controls and the graphics, I think the player is cute. I agree with others about being too unforgiving, but I do think the movement and jumping speed can be okay if the game was easier. Nice job, especially when using a new engine for the first time (which I would never be brave enough to do in LD). Oh yeah, and sound effects would go a long way.

maartene says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:39am

Rage quit! (loved it :))

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:56am

nice graphics, but controls are waay too sensitive, it's really hard to control, I loved the "lives: 10" in the head of the char haha ;)

Magius96 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Overall, it's a nice game. But as others have mentioned, the movement of the player is very twitchy.

Dragojt says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Nice background!

rnlf says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 1:24pm

Others have already made some suggestions on what to improve (too fast movement, dying several times in a row), so I'll just focus on what I liked: The art style is minimalistic, but works very well with the music. In the future you might want to try to make everything pixel style, including the background and the ropes for the swinging blades.

There was a nice learning curve and once you get used to the physics, it can be played well.

Good take on the theme, very moody, too, considering the minimal graphics and audio.

I recorded myself playing through your game in the third episode of my LD37 playthrough series: https://youtu.be/KZBHX8cfwxc

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 3:05am

Ha, Pachelbel's Canon was amusing. Very hard game though, especially with the twitchy controls. Maybe lower gravity a tad?

RGB Games says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 2:06am

Good start to a game! I gave up after losing all my lives to the part with the low ceiling.

It's got a good base, but you definitely need to tweak the platforming so it feels a little nicer. I liked the theming with the circuits!

It seems like you might be rolling your own physics, or your physics engine is buggy; either way, I'd recommend using something more like Box2D. Overall, good job!

Wan says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 10:46pm

The artstyle is pretty original!

Other than that I died 30 times on the first 2 floors x)

I occasionally enjoy hardcore platformers (finished Super Meat Boy) but this one didn't stick for me - I can work on adapting my playstyle to the fast controls and heavy gravity, so I wouldn't point these as problems actuelly. I think the frustrating camera placement and the very pessimistic hitboxes are what threw me away.

Now I've watched rnlf's playthrough of your game and it looks like you put plenty of love into this, with the gears/pendulums etc. So nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]