Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Shadow Fencer Theatre

by ShuddaHaddaLottaFun - Jam Entry

- Shadow Fencer Theatre -
A Game for Ludum Dare 37 - One Room


Developed by: ShuddaHaddaLottaFun
Alex Schuster - Game/Noise
Mikhail Delinois - Art


**Please Review Patch Notes Before Voting**


Ahem... Alright, settle down Ladies and Gentlepuppets! Welcome to Shadow Fencer Theatre. That's right, feast your eyes on a tale that will be woven right before you, from the cozy confines of my shadow puppet theatre. It's a battle for the ages!... BUT WAIT!... It appears we are down a performer and I require your assistance. The show must go on!...Don't take a moment to think about it...*grabs hand*...Follow me!

You'll be fine. It's just a stick and paper my littlest nephew cut out. He just acquired the skill of using safety scissors and already I think he's quite good.... anyway...




Keyboard Controls:

Menu Navigation: W, S

Menu Select: Enter/Return


Player 1:

Player Movement: A, D

Player's Fencing Hand: T, F, G, H


Player 2:

Player Movement: J, L

Player's Fencing Hand: Up, Down, Left, Right Arrows



Gamepad Controls (X360):

Menu Navigation: Left Joystick

Menu Select: A


Player 1: - Gamepad 1

Player Movement: Left Joystick

Player's Fencing Hand: Right Joystick


Player 2: - Gamepad 2

Player Movement: Left Joystick

Player's Fencing Hand: Right Joystick





** A Note about Patch Notes**
Hello everyone. For the sake of transparency we are updating this anytime there is a new web build posted. These will be pretty much bug fixes, but we want them to be listed for your information. Please feel free to adjust your judging or comments if need be based on the changes made. For instance, If you think a patch change is too much to be graded in the scope for the jam, then just omit that thing from your brain space and rate us on how good you think it is without that? ok? Does that make sense? I just want to make sure everyone is cool as drool with this.


Patch Notes -
Version 1.0.0.0.0.0.1 -
- Fixed bug with X360 Controllers on WebGL build.
Version 1.0.0.0.0.0.2f -
- Attempted to reduce frequency of joint breakage.
Version 1.0.0.0.1.2.Centurian
- Added Vertical Fencing Hand Controls. A bit more intuitive and helps swords from getting stuck.
- Added in game controls to menu for those that don't like to read.

About this last patch -
We want to bring awareness to our last update because some feel that it is outside of the scope of what is allowed for jam updates. We received feedback from a number of players that their swords were getting stuck to the ground. To fix this, we added vertical control to be able to lift the stick off the ground. We also created a graphic for the controls to post as a screenshot on the page. Knowing that all jams must end, and us wanting to continue sharing our game without supporting it as we make major changes for a new version, we decided to add these controls in game. This way new players that stumble on it who aren't a part of Ludum Dare can know how to play.

We feel this does not change what the game is. If you do, please please please adjust your voting or feel free to not vote at all. We understand and don't want to upset any sanctity of Ludum for anyone.

So, If you want the true as glue version that was our first submission, don't look at the controls screen, and don't use the T,G or Up, Down keys.

Happy Ludum Everyone!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#87Humor(Jam)3.73
#91Graphics(Jam)4.36
#144Innovation(Jam)3.72
#165Audio(Jam)3.66
#198Overall(Jam)3.71
#203Mood(Jam)3.69
#210Fun(Jam)3.55
#592Theme(Jam)3.31

Comments

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:02am

Really amazing job on the visuals and audio, they really work well together to create a kind of quirky mood.

I can't speak for the multiplayer, so I might be missing some hidden complexity, but I think there's room for improvement in the core fighting mechanic of the game. I think that perhaps controlling the height or angle of the sword rather than simply which side the fencer is holding it on would help make it more satisfying. That said, I was using keyboard controls, so it's possible that the joystick controls provide better game feel.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:21am

Love this concept, and sound effects. AI needs a little work but I understand this can be 2 player. Overall top 5 i've seen tonight!

Jungle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:13pm

5/5 all... Simply fantastic and creative. Mouth audio fx are hilarious. Controls are a bit odd but is one of my favorites of LD37 so far.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:19pm

Mad fun playing your game on 2P mode. Keys are a bit close when playing on the same keyboard but it's contributing to the fun of "party games"! Didn't really understand how swords are working though but... who cares?
Love your audio too.

Dexyne says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:55pm

A really good game here, not easy to understand how to use the sword at first but after that it was fun!

Great job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Well done. Funny game. This is hard to win but all works fine. A clever entry ++

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Love the look and audio especially XD but the fencing mechanic needs more depth... Keep adding to it!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:58am

Yea! Just played the two players mode and we had fun !
The audio is cool, and kuddos for the menus, that's super polished for 3 days !

jakebooyah says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:47pm

Great job guys! Such fresh battling concept

Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:53pm

I liked the idea and the concept. It was a bit difficult to play (sometimes my sword is stack in the ground and I have to try to move myself and the sword at the same time to move it).

The idea is great and I would like to see a future version. It has a lot of potential. It remembered nidhogg but for me, I prefer your game mechanics. Nice work

Ayxs says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:40pm

we cant play it due too severe lag.. bummer cause it looks great

antishow says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:56pm

I really like the style in this one! The gameplay felt a little... random? loose? Like all I can do is just hold my sword forward and hope for the best. Might have made more sense to control the sword's vertical movement instead? Either way, great job!

KairosXIII says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:27am

The art style is superb. Sound effects literally made me LOL. Honestly, I still don't fully understand the controls, but I played at least 10 matches until I won. Peaked my curiosity early with this one...like trying to box your friend with a numb arm. I think the sword control can be improved. Perhaps some variety can be added i.e. a weapon switch or an attack from elevation. Totally see this as a minigame in a popular game.

Coauctor says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:39am

Excellent job on visual and audio style. Interesting control mechanic, but it's not really every time working. Good concept - now I want a full game!

jake321 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:30pm

little bit glitchy but fun

SbstnC says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Awesome sounds and graphics, the animated menu, all is very well polished. The gameplay is fun but get frustrating pretty quick, as there's not much room to improve your fighting skill. And also sometimes it's difficult to unstuck the sword from some positions.

Still it was fun game to try.

Simple Ghost says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:05pm

The sound effects are really funny! :D Good job! I enjoyed it :)

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Great jobs on the graphics, looks like proper shadows. The sound effects made this much funnier. Had some difficulty with the fencing controls though.

tylerraz says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Great mechanics and art/sound style. As for post jam, it seems ripe for adding more content (maybe even a 'story' mode), so keep working on it!

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:05pm

I like your style and the game is kinda fun! hope to see other your games in future :)
I'm designer and artist myself, so I really appreciate your work on graphics, we spent a lot of time on it too :)

hexachrome says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Really fun game! Well done!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Great visual aesthetic! It seems like the fencing mechanic could use some touching up, as swinging felt a bit random and the sword felt way too weighty.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Aww please don't hate me and my game, this is honestly one of the best games I've played this jam, this has way way more style than mine. It's honestly fantastic and you should extremely proud. The gameplay is simple yet extremely clever and well done that it makes it seems challenging in the good way. Fantastic work.

(Sound tests are just the best, I love putting them in all my games ;)

cushycode says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:57pm

Oh my gosh! It's soooooo cute and well-made.
Marvelous atmosphere, brilliant animation, awesome concept.
Just perfect submission!

Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:44am

You have to make the large change in controls (the new vertical movement you mentioned in your post) more obvious. People do not always read to the bottom of the Ludum Dare description, and most would likely ignore patch notes after a wall of text, and even anything placed after the controls.

You have to make the change more clear.

In its current state, this is NOT the original submission, and with the current setup of the page, most people will vote as if it is.

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 5:34am

well made! cring cring the odd control just add the beauty of it.

Dec 21, 2016 @ 5:42am

This is a beautiful and well polished game. Really like the art style. My only complaint is that it there isn't more of it to play.

SeaDads says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 10:01am

Excellent on so many levels! The style is so sweet, and works perfectly with the mechanics. Really charming stuff!

mirta000 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:34pm

the graphics are very nice and the game is interesting for what it is. Audio is REALLY silent though.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Awesome work on the visuals, so unique! Loved the music and voice overs too. I found the combat a bit glitchy but appreciate that tweaking these kind of physics based games can be a nightmare. Impressive work given the time frame!

wowa_u says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 6:27am

This game is great! Very well done!!!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Brilliant visuals and audio, it totally feels like a shadow puppet theatre. Top marks here.
The fencing mechanic, though, felt a bit awkward to me, but I'm not generally a fan of physics-reliant combat.

Nice job!

Junber says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 9:30pm

the graphics are very cool with this shadow theatre style. also the UI is very well made here. the handling of the swoard is interesting and looks like in a shadow theatre whats very sweet but for the gameplay its more or less luck if you hit or not.
-Hisfantor

Ping78 says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Really well done game.

ema1ih says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Really nice graphics and sounds :D

axoona says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 1:27pm

cute little game. I really like the style: minimalist graphics and voice sfx.
I suppose the AI could use a bit of reworking (I quickly became master at this) but the 2 player looks fun!

pmarincak says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 2:21am

Nice little game. I liked the aesthetic and the little sound effects. The controls for first player weren't very obvious to me though. I thought for first player the arrow keys would be the fencing controls. The gamepad controls also didn't seem to work for me at all.

Great job!

Dec 30, 2016 @ 11:15am

Very good concept, and very good execution. This deserves to have more game play for 1 and 2 players in the future.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 12:58pm

Wow! Those graphics are awesome. Not only the shadow puppet effects, but also the gorgeous menus. The sounds are also well made and funny.

I'm not quite sure about the gameplay, I discovered that I can just hold H and my guy will hold out his sword all the time, making me the winner 100% of the time.

But with a bit of refinement of the fighting mechanic, this could be an awesome game! Keep up the good work!

Dec 30, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Great job! Although the mechanics are a bit clunky and glitchy sometimes, the game feels really nice, smooth and, most of all, fun. Best graphics and audio ever.

fabsy says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 6:53am

Really interesting art style and funny voices/sound effects (good job on those). Haven't tried it with two players but I manage to win almost every time against the AI usually by simply holding the sword forward. The gameplay is fun though.

This would work very well as a party game because of its short rounds. Nice concept overall!

automatonvx says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Looks and sounds fantastic, really works well as a style.
In Single player it was really easy to just win by walking towards the opponent with sword pointing at him, so seems the AI needs some tweaking, but apart from that great entry.

Naca says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 5:18am

Very funny game :) Great graphics.

Levi D. Smith says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 5:17pm

The controls seem to be a mess. The move buttons are too close to the sword buttons, so it feels like you're supposed to do everything with one hand. Most of the time I could win by just pressing 'h'. It would have been nice if I could control the sword and attack with the mouse.

Sean says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 5:35pm

Great entry! The physics were really fun to play with, and the concept is solid. It isn't a particularly inventive use of the theme, but the game itself is fun, the designs are great, and overall it felt very polished. The audio was an especially nice touch (though the levels could have used a bit of editing; I had to turn my volume way up to hear it).

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:13pm

This ran a bit choppy for me for some reason which made it a bit hard to play, but I love the concept and the visual design is excellent!

yuigoto says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:32pm

The concept of the game's really nice, great take on the one room theme too! I really dig the shadow puppetry style of the game, feels really good and it's pretty well-made! Nice work on that!

Audio effects are really fitting too, as well as controls! :) It would've been fun to see another hand handling the sword, to have that feeling of two people really "dueling", but it's really nice already! :)

Congrats, and Nice Work! :)

Jan 10, 2017 @ 6:31pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/xG2aiO_VsBw

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]