Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

It Only Gets More Cluttered

by mortus - Compo Entry

It Only Gets More Cluttered is a puzzle platformer where the room gets more cluttered with walls and platforms as you move towards the level completion.

Select the order in which platforms will appear in the beginning of each level, and then run around and collect glowing spheres to warp in selected layers. The exit will open once you've collected all spheres on a level.

R or Escape to restart level.
WASD / Arrow keys to move around
Space to jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Overall4.25
#13Innovation4.30
#23Mood4.11
#62Fun3.85
#65Theme4.20
#77Audio3.61
#122Graphics3.75
#1037Coolness42%

Comments

Dagorlad says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:11am

Wow! I sincerely think that the concept is so good and original, a final product must be built on top of this idea. It doesn't just fit the theme: it's built around it.
To improve it, I would show the chosen images in a queue to be able to remember which ones I picked.

Great job!

fivecyclops says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 12:58am

Good concept, excellent gameplay, clever puzzles.
Just excellent.

Blobo says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Really well done! Absolutely incredible. I cant see much room for improvement. My only complaint is that i'm playing on a laptop, so I had framerate issues.

Vadim Ivshin says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Simple yet pretty graphics and lighting, good music. Thanks for this game.

JK5000 says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Super great idea, and fun little game. Well done.

indrkl says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 7:53pm

I see it as a game about building a mental image of the puzzle and then solving it. A really good entry, I completed the game, it took me a while, but now some constructive criticism. I feel like too much of the challange was about understanding how does all the pieces relate to each other. For example if the floor was tiled, it might be easier to understand if some pieces collide, touch etc. with each other. Also it would be nice if you could see the white balls in the pictures of each piece. It was especially tedious during the labyrinth puzzle. Still, a great jam entry.

Minato4th says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 8:20pm

I liked this game, It have very good and different puzzels and mood is perfect. God job and Like!

Ellian says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Wow, this is a very curious game! I wish there was a better way to plan things than just try and error, but the concept is great!
The ball's hitbox could be a bit bigger, too.
Overall, a very solid entry. Congrats!

Shellest88 says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 9:04pm

Beaufitul graphics!

Ristoretto says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Very interesting!

I took some time for me to understand that the position of the balls was not part of the layers selected.(I was first thinking that each layer had a ball which would activate it, then that each level had a "ball slot" which would active the next selection)

It might be a idea to show all different layers in the room as wire frames in different colors to make it more clear how they relate to each other.

As long as its possible to make some easier introduction puzzles I think this could be really great :)

Louspirit says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:56am

Very interesting game. The music and the colors bring a zen mood. The puzzle are complex and original. A must play.

Coauctor says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Stuck at level 2. The concept is very interesting though. :)

The color palette is also nice despite it's all about red.

Zgragselus says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Actually the concept is original and game is logical. It just misses the "Aperture-science" like graphical mood like in Portal, it gave me similar feelings.

The music and sounds were tearing my ears a little bit and they didn't match the game very well in my opinion.

erik says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Really nice concept, well executed. Good job! I played through to the end. With the mid to later levels, the complexity starts making it hard to solve the puzzles mentally, and I started brute force looking for solutions. If you do develop the concept further, I think that interface work to help the player visualize the possible solutions along with some really well thought out level design could make this quite interesting.

Flaterectomy says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Fully fledged concept, very well done. I gave up during the hedge maze level. That was just too many things for me to remember.

Art is basic, and could probably do with a better colour scheme, but it suffices. Music was pretty spartan, but at least you had some. The sound effects were kinda shrill and not pleasant.

You should continue with this one!

Dragojt says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 10:30pm

Good game, simple graphics and a very nice idea :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]