Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Dont Touch The Floor

by cinnamonmelonpig - Compo Entry

Control with arrows and jump with space

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#34Graphics4.26
#73Overall3.84
#79Theme4.16
#86Humor3.48
#144Mood3.50
#145Audio3.33
#168Fun3.51
#303Innovation3.16

Comments

meg says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:12am

Cute and fun game, I thought "cabbage" was a nickname but not... :) I started getting stuck around the level with the black floor (before the lava floor level). It can be tricky to estimate distances/positions with an isometric view and a fixed camera... or maybe I am just bad at this game. I always lost as a kid, too!

Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:15am

I love this game. The graphics are awesome, the control is fantastic and the idea is fun! Congratulation!

Mattmatt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:15am

One of my favourite games in LD#32 right now! The isometric art-style is really appealing and the gameplay is quite fun and innovative. I can't think about a game that's based around the floor is lava mechanic and does it so well.
On issue though is that it's not always evident where you can or can't jump because of the depth of the map.

JK5000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:19am

The graphics and music is super great. The idea is also great, but it is often really hard to find the right place to jump from. But overall well done.

SoKette says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:25am

It's fun ! Way easier with a pad, but you still need to use your keyboard to jump in this case :P

siryakko says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:27am

The floor is lave is one of my favourite game concept and you made it well inside the theme and compo. Great game, loving it

Moritz says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:27am

Very polished looks, good lighting, hand-crafted levels, cute character.

I really like the diversity in level design, the difficulty curve, and the visual differences between individual levels.

A really nice "The Floor Is Lava" game. Literally. :)

Aun says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:28am

Very nice game, I like graphism and the colors. At first, I thought there was a way to cheat but when I saw the level before the last one, I understood it was part of the game play. Well done. I just had a problem with triple key (I do not have it and it is difficult to move in diagonal, which is one of the main direction).

amras0000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:40am

The golden rule of LD level design holds true here: if it's just right for you, it's far too difficult for your players. The tiles in the later levels were very small, and the perspective was such that even with the smooth controls I rarely felt like missing a jump was my fault.

Mechanically, the game's rock-solid and well polished. The one suggestion I could make in this department is to allow the numpad as a control scheme. Since there were a lot of diagonal jumps, being able to make use of 7913 would've helped a ton.

The graphics and writing are smooth and satisfying. The sounds are a mixed bag; I'd have liked something more woody for the jumping/popping but that's a personal preference. The music does get tiring quickly, though.

I think theme-wise, you'd have been better off keeping with the generic furniture set throughout the game; just constantly rearranging the same furniture in ever more devilish ways. As it stands some levels just feel graphically incomplete. I understand where you were coming from regarding variance though. I just don't know that it added much. There may have been some ending you were leading up to but, as mentioned above, the platforming just stops being fun or reasonably completable for me on the first lava level.

Cosmic-Hawke says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:41am

Very stylish! I like the furniture rearranging sound in between levels, it's a nice touch. The graphics a very tight all around especially the shadows.

Potato & Taco says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:46am

I liked how you managed to get several levels into the One Room theme. And I loved the music and sound effects!

Tuism says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Cute concept, the enjoyment is really marred by some technical bits - my keyboard for example jams with W,D and space. So yes you couldn't test all the permutations of hardware so that's unfortunate. The lack of a consistent shadow under the character makes distance judging difficult, and in general isometric starts being difficult to judge by eye when platforming comes into play.

Really love the premise and the art :)

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:42am

Held my breath on a lot of jumps here, but I managed to beat it. The lava level was a bit tricky without a shadow but eh, you can kinda gauge it without that. Really clean look in general.

Albert Viader says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:06am

Fun game! I love the graphics, we had a similar idea for this theme but with different gameplay. Good job!

Gulyasarni66 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:09pm

You really nailed it! Graphics is awesome, controls are fluid. Good work!

Gulyasarni66 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:10pm

,

blinry says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:12pm

Wow, nicely executed! A wonderfully polished entry, good job!

Cute backstory and nice idea! Extremely pretty graphics! I would probably have liked a more interesting music, but it's better than none! ;-) I wasn't always sure where I could jump due to the perspective.

Believe it or not, on my Thinkpad, I got a hardware issue with this game: Apparently, I can't press up, left and space at the same time :O Huh.

(SPOILER) I'm proud to tell you that I got the idea of walking over the wall much earlier than in the "outside the box" level! Feels rewarding! :)

erikiene says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Some sneaky monetizing going on! :D

Fun game, good soundtrack and graphics. Don't think I actually touched the floor when I jumped over the wall and out of the map

Tonasz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Simple, but cute and very fun game. I loved it and its humorous "don't touch a ground" mindset, we all remember from childhood.
The only con is that I got technical problem, because room is presented with 45 degrees angle and you often have to press two arrows plus space, which didn't work well in my situation. But WASD was working perfect and gamepad even better.
PS: Where is that chilli pepper?! :)

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:49pm

controls were wonky for me- especially on the level with the first red carpet- when i was moving with UP and LEFT pressed and pushed space to jump - it wasnt consistent. I died so many times on that level-

I wish Up Down Left Right where set so you could just use one instead of having to do diagonals by pressing two keys

I think this would be a lot more fun with a joystick.

Game looks great though- art is fantastic- very solid entry

nice1!

tylerraz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:13am

GG Cabbage, GG.

Last few levels were really challenging, but the difficulty ramps up well to them. Game looks great and the story is nice.

ahmedmohi says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:07am

great game , the controls might need more work but the overall is really great and liked the little character and how he slides good work (Y)

depression says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:57am

Unfortunately, the game lagged to much to be really playable for me. I salute the idea and graphics though.

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:22pm

I get this (Win7, Firefox): "An error occurred running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:
NotFoundError: The operation failed because the requested database object could not be found. For example, an object store did not exist but was being opened."

AlmightyTuna says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:51pm

A grand entry, Really great visuals, audio and gameplay. The isometric view did make some of the platforming rather difficult

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 9:48pm

very clever game. the controls were a little frustrating, but that was the intent I think. great game.

Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Very well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/rMBTPizENS0

jimmynoshoes says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 1:35am

Brilliant game, I love the graphics & the use of the theme.

Bacontree says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 4:25pm

Frustrating but fun. I like the graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]