Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Trip to Riverside

by ZYXer - Jam Entry

---------------------------

They have taken over the world. - You pray to God that they haven't killed her. - You must go to Riverside and find her!

---------------------------


This should have been a Compo entry, but I ran out of time (like always). So all graphics and game code were made by me, however in 72 hours instead of 48.

I didn't get around to making any scenery, so the level is a bit bland. I also didn't have time to add music or sound effects. The background music in the game was added post-Jam. If you want the true Jam experience without music, hit "M" to mute.

I hope you enjoy my game anyway! :)

Make sure to check out my development time-lapse videos!


---------------------------


Post-Jam changes:
- Added background music.
- You can die from the cold (otherwise you could just run through the entire map).
- Added the start screen, which gets you to click the frame with the game, making it focussed so that the keyboard events fire (...and so that I can force you to play the game in fullscreen mode :P).
- Various minor bug fixes.


-----------------------


Music generated by Jukedeck (I can highly recommend that site!):

Music from Jukedeck - create your own at http://jukedeck.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#8Mood(Jam)4.48
#12Overall(Jam)4.32
#28Graphics(Jam)4.60
#66Innovation(Jam)4.00
#68Fun(Jam)3.92
#435Theme(Jam)3.60

Comments

randdir says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Nice game good graphics interesting idea. Keep it up !

smbe19 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Looks very beautiful.

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:57am

Best game I've played tonight! Very well done! -Tweedle

Archimagus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:04am

Wow, this is absolutely gorgeous. Both in the art, and the feel. And the game play is super smooth. Seriously well done. I am bookmarking this to try and come back and see if I can get passed the first 5 minutes (because this is balls hard) once I get done rating some more games.

Ganon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:13am

Was interested as soon as I saw the start screen. Graphics look great and the music worked well to make an awesome mood. The length was a but long if not perfect. As soon as I thought it was getting too repetitive, it ended Game also fit the theme pretty well, which is a bonus. Good job!

Archimagus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:21am

Wow, this is absolutely gorgeous. Both in the art, and the feel. And the game play is super smooth. Seriously well done. I am bookmarking this to try and come back and see if I can get passed the first 5 minutes (because this is balls hard) once I get done rating some more games.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:25am

Wow! So impressed with what you were able to accomplish on your own! One of the best entries I've seen in a LD. Would play again

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:08am

so so so beautiful. It was pretty fun to play on the Moosen stream. loved the animations and the gameplay was very fluid, kinda like the fuel that would run out so often...

Uruca Games says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:11am

I think this is the best entry i see so far! Very good art, game design, audio...Everything on this game is great! Congratulations!!! I love your game!

brisk says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:15am

Fantastic idea that was well implemented! A full game with this concept would definitely have my interest.

calzep says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:17pm

It doesn't really fit the theme but it was nicely done. Wasn't expecting much from the start but the game was so giving after that. I thought it was a walking game, then it was a train driving game, then it was a survival game, then it was almost a shootemup/ zombie survival mix. I didn't get very far but it was definitely a nice experience. I got a Bethesda RPG vibe from this.

x1212 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Interesting use of the theme.
The graphics are pretty good and generate a mood that fits the story very well.

I think the game just has a little bit of trouble when it comes to communicating the progress made to the player, since at least as far as I got the whole way looked and felt the same. To me it was pretty demotivating that all I saw was the loss of resources that were hard to get without loosing health and risking having to start all over again. And even if you had them, sometimes there are just too many enemies around, so you can't even use them ...

Karlux says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:15am

Very original use of the theme. Very beautiful art. Excellent idea to use a locomotive to stay in the theme but enables the player to go beyond. Great zombies! The snow gives a very mysterious atmosphere. The use of the cold adds to the interest of the game. Perfect choice of music.

Junber says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 9:34pm

the graphics and sound make me so sad and really feel with the character. very straight forward gameplay. the only thing i miss here are some sound effects.
-Hisfantor

handoharken says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 1:40pm

Very filmic. Would love to see this being developed into a full game. Perhaps reduce the amount of monsters but make them stronger? as it became too difficult to get around them eventually.

Patomkin says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Nice mood in the game, nice graphics, interesting idea. But it feels game need some more mechanics. Or I just played for to little :)
Good job overall!

Kevin_B says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 5:09pm

It seems good. Not ecellent, but good. :D

keckles says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 6:11pm

great game

pcmxms says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Nice game. Very good mood. The movement could be a little faster and some sound effects would help.

Nino9612 says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Nice game with a smart and funny idea. Had fun playing it and the clean graphics make it also better. Sounds would have been nice because it feels a bit boring only with the background music altough its adding to the overall mood of the game. The only negative point in my opinion is that it not fits the theme very nice but great work overall. I like the idea of the game if you like to hit me up would love to make a android game out off this.
P.S i already have 6 android games on the playstore

Jan 2, 2017 @ 7:23pm

Love the visuals and the mood. I wish there was a way to skip the opening scene, b/c ........I die a lot...Just like in any game I play. I wish there were more sound FX to help build the world, but what is here is still great. I think the death from cold come a little too quick. I will absolutely be coming back to play more of this. Hope there is a full game on the way!

Jan 9, 2017 @ 5:05pm

Psssst - you are in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxWaQ7NzjeI

Jan 10, 2017 @ 6:30pm

Very nice entry, loved the music as well. I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/xG2aiO_VsBw

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]