Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Sonder

by Ludipe - Compo Entry

A short game about waiting rooms made for #LDJAM.

No keyboard required (only a mouse).
Bugs could happen(let me know if you find them!).
Couldn't add more levels because of time constraints.
Hope you like it ;-)

@Ludipe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#34Theme4.36
#65Mood3.82
#118Overall3.68
#170Innovation3.54
#198Fun3.41
#274Humor2.59
#307Graphics3.17
#353Audio2.63

Comments

Truck says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:11am

I had a similar idea, except instead of 'waiting room' I was working on 'interview room.' This is more fleshed out than my idea.

I had some issues with placing folks as I didn't really see the mouse color change when dropping someone was valid. It worked but perhaps a bit more contrast/change in color so it's more obvious, as often when you THINK you're over a valid seat, you aren't.

The game ended a bit suddenly, the story did seem to be building to something. I imagine that was 'time' related.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:40am

@Truck

Yeah, I had many doubts regarding the placing system; it really could use some more iteration.

About the ending, you said it, I didn't have as much time as I would have liked to.

Thanks for the feedback! :-)

Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Great work, the placing could be a little better improving the visual signals. The puzzles are difficult and engaging. Very good work for a 48 hours game.

Mark Overmars says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Some great level design for a very interesting concept. Fits the theme perfectly!

dunin says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:25pm

That was pretty pleasant to be carreful of these people...
Too bad this end like that...

avalkyrie says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:07pm

It's always bugged me when a logic puzzle has seemingly arbitrary constraints. Nice work and cool concept.

tinyworlds says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:07am

Awesome! I love how much meaning you put in this puzzle :)fart

tinyworlds says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:07am

(shit I must have had fart in my clipboard. So sorry didn't mean to write that xD)

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:21am

Poor Will ... good game, but I do not understand why they always wanted to be away from Will, xD. I liked it a lot.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:48am

what a nice puzzle game. I like the idea and the storry you are telling. feels good. You need some music and some more visual fx's ... such like animation :) Enjoyed playing this!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:20am

I really like the concept that inspires the game (at risk of sounding pedantic, it reminds me a bit of Unamuno's "intrahistory", which I've always felt could have some interesting implications on games as opposed to the usual "chosen one" power fantasy tropes), and both the gameplay mechanic and story bits serve the purpose nicely.

I've had some minor issues selecting and placing characters (perhaps it would help to use the full icon + name box?), but the entry is pretty solid overall. Congrats!

Matlahvi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:34pm

Cool idea! I've always like this kind of riddle :)

Really enjoyable ^^

NinjaPatBeck says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Great game! Matched the theme perfectly!

Hores says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Great idea! Waiting rooms are fun :D

Neowedge says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Very good game and awesome mood. Human relationships are too complicated... :(

60fingers says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Nice concept!
Yet I find the introduction text at the beginning of each 'level' kind of annoying because of it's vertical centering. I don't want to wait for the text being complete before I start reading, but it is super hard to read moving text. :-D

gdcvdqpl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:03pm

That was cool. I liked the level design. Very well though

Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:04pm

This concept is really interesting - I would actually play a full game of this. This was really cool.

kraftkar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Very nice entry, the mechanics are solid and interesting

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:01am

Really enjoyed this - some puzzles actually got pretty tricky towards the end. The writing was excellent as well - found myself caring about the characters by the end of it.

Pikas96 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:59am

Loved the mechanic. I enjoy so much this kind of logic games.
Also, having that sort of background storyline was a good touch, I'd like to play the "full" thing.
Great work :D

Awpteamoose says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:26am

Mike should add a "story" or "writing" category for ratings because how the the plot was laid out is my favourite part.
I wonder if Rebecca and Will would get along.

josemwarrior says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:43pm

This is a good entry. Good ambient, good sound effects, and a pretty clever puzzle. This is a good example of how a puzzle game would be. Congratulations.

Ellian says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:19am

Aw man, the ending left me frustrated!
I'm not very fond of puzzle games, but I wanted to see if the story was going somewhere... oh well

This is a very good take on the theme, tho! I really liked the idea, and it actually works great. Art looks good, writing is appealing, and the gameplay is simple but efficient! Awesome work. :)

hadesfury says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:58am

Pretty cool!
We also did some kind of Waiting room simulator, so I have to say it's a good idea for this theme ;)
It was pretty fun! I liked how the "patients" would sometimes change their mood to mix things up, and how you adapted those rules with and even gave an actual reason to it with the character's stories, well done!
ps: its missing a "l" to "already" in the later levels somwhere...

francismoy says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:49am

Really cool! Beyond the mechanics, which are fun and fit perfectly the theme, the idea of giving the characters some traits and thoughts make the game an engaging experience. Good work!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Really neat game! love the little story as well. I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/HllFgHUemY4

Zener says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Cool concept, it is a fun puzzle game, congrats!

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Well made puzzle. I did a couple of rounds of it and it was really quite complex in an interesting way. I wish the story text didn't animate like it was because I basically looked away or clicked through waiting for it to be done. Not really sure why it felt so hard on my eyes. The sofas also kind of looked like they had room for three people so there was a bit of confusion in the beginning before I got the hang of the tile system. I did enjoy solving the levels I played through though.

Nice game all in all.

neontropics says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Fun little game, great use of storytelling! I liked the clock sounds a lot. Graphics and placement are a bit unclear and could probably be a bit more obvious.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:48pm

The puzzles were introduce in a really smart way ! I liked it. Good job !

seano says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Great stuff, the game was fun. The graphics were functional, clear and added to the mood. I found the clock sound a bit repetitive and the text jumping around was hard to follow.

Insality says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:53pm

interesting puzzle idea
there is one bad thing (for me): hard to read this font :)

entry done very very well! got fun from the game

qualia says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:12pm

Nice game, enjoyable narrative. There were a few UI problems - the text reveal is painfully slow, and it's very hard to distinguish valid placements by the change of outline colour. It would be nicer to draw a faded outline of the person sprite on the chair you're going to place them on - and to make the hitbox much larger, perhaps even Voronoi regions.

I found on the later puzzles I could assign things almost randomly and find a valid solution. It would be nice to be able to sort the dossier before placing people.

Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Very fun little game! Well done :)

axoona says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 4:52pm

very nice concept, you should make a post-compo version that continues the story!
however I never really knew if I did ok or not, the game seemed to continue whatever solution I provided. It could have been nice to see the effect of my errors, but it's a minor detail.
anyway really good entry!

wowa_u says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 11:11pm

Well this was fun! Nice idea for a puzzle game, well done! :)

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 3:13am

The narrator reminds me of Iwazaru from Killer 7. It might be fun to take this in a dark direction like that, though I also appreciate the idea of making a game around something so mundane. I would like to see more development of the relationships between characters and maybe something that reveals why the narrator is so enthusiastic.

Dec 29, 2016 @ 3:59pm

Great use of the theme and superb game design.
I like how the narrative and the rules are tightly connected.
Great entry!

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Fun puzzle game.
My only complaint is when selecting a character you need to click the square below, just doesn't feel natural.
Other that nothing ;)

Naca says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 5:27am

Very good one! I like how you've used the theme. For me, waiting rooms are kind of special places, don't know exactly why. I also liked this "sonder" concept. After googling a bit, I've found this project that you may find interesting: http://www.kamaikamai.com/index.php/en/projects

May 4, 2017 @ 11:28pm

I also included this game in an article of my favorites! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-37-gwqmcmek

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]