Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Non Euclidean Room

by NuSan - Compo Entry

Non Euclidean Room is an exploration game in a strange land. How many time a room can be connected to itself ?
Your goal is to make a mental map of that room while finding cool visual spots. Then you can hope to escape.

Controls : mouse + keyboard arrows + space to jump + mouse clic/return to activate
You can also play with a gamepad.

Post-mortem, timelapse, glimpse into post-compo version :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/12/23/non-euclidean-room-postmortem/

Update : fixed some very minor control issues I just forgot before submiting : wasd control and escape to exit
Linux and mac build are untested, let me know if they work well (if doors are full black, it's a bug)

Tools : Unity 3D, Blender, Bosca Ceoil (music) and bfxr (sfx)

Made by NuSan in 48h
Tomorrow, I will try to upload a Timelapse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Theme4.51
#25Graphics4.38
#34Mood4.02
#34Overall4.03
#60Innovation3.92
#161Audio3.27
#893Coolness46%

Comments

infinitycore says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:35am

Really cool, love the shader, just have two minor issues. One, the controls were a bit wonky and required tweking in the Unity boot menu, and two, after I beat it, there was no way to quit; I even tried hitting Esc and that didn't work.

Viperfish9 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:16am

Very cool :)

irwatts says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:53am

Sweet post shader! The audio was good, though the sound when activating the switches was a little sharp on the ears. Overall great work!

caranha says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Hmmm, wine is not running your exe correctly. Since you are doing it in Unity, could you export Mac and Linux binaries as well? Thanks!

NuSan says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:59pm

@caranha : I'm installing Linux/mac exporter right now, but I'm not sure it will work right away. I use some heavy shaders/GPU tricks.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Wine on Linux worked for me!
Like the music, the atmosphere is really cool. The portals are nice, I think a way to add to this, would be to have the portals also change the rotation in a way, that by exiting a portal you could find yourself walking on a wall.

Nevertheless, cool game!

NuSan says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:43pm

@caranha : I put links to linux and mac builds, but I cant test them right now. It would help me a lot if you can tell me if they work or not (if doors are full black, it's a bug).

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Your game is the first which I test for this LD session - and I can say immediately that it will be one of the best gaming experiences. I like the aesthetic - even if it seems to me that the scratch effect is a little bit too annoying after a while. As usual, the grayscale style is always good. However the mecanics are really efficient - when I pass through a portal, all seems smooth. It is really important when we play with portals. I assume that you could increase gameplay with more time in order to find some gaming keys - something more addictive. Thank you for this great experience. I love it ++
PS : I think that you have here a real opportunity to do a great project. You should continue, adding more gaming keys. I wish you the best ++

MCjammydodger says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Fun game. I liked the visuals and sounds. It makes great use of the theme!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:05am

Wow this is great! The Artwork is phenomenom :) Good Job man!

ACCBDD says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:11am

Fantastic game very cool portal antichamber
music 0/10
shader v good yes

Kris with a K says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:51am

+ Very good style on the graphics; shader was pretty heavy, but it looked good, the architecture was well done, and the use of color was striking
+ Game was fun, complete, and beatable; I even hesitated before going through the gate, worried something bad might happen, so nice mood
+ Good tunes
- Collect-a-thon is pretty weak as a main mechanic (but I understand you had limited time)

Nice entry! I enjoyed playing it.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:13am

The graphics and audio in this game are basically top-quality - they have a consistent theme and work well. The core concept was also a really cool idea.

Really, this is a very solid base for a game - the only problem is it doesn't go very far.

The only other problem I had was controls - I was not expecting the default controls to be arrow keys, as WASD is standard for a first person game (especially one where space is jump - it's almost impossible to play a first person game with arrow keys and space).

mmason says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:33am

phenomenal, a friend and made a similar style game for fun so I can appreciate the some of the nuances I'm sure you encountered. Everything fit very well and aside from the small issues (had to reconfigure the controls, and not being able to exit at the end) an excellent game

caranha says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:54am

Thanks for the Linux Binary, it worked like a charm! :-D

First, I loved the sound effects. I mean, the music is also great, but the sound effects really put everything together. The "pencil" shader also helps to set the mood.

One thing, is that are all the targets in the same orientation? I had the impression that although the doors changed levels in the room, you never actually walked on ceilings or walls. If I'm mistaken, maybe you could rearrange the level a bit to make it very obvious when the player is upside down.

Cheers!

NuSan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:11am

@caranha great to hear Linux version worked, it's a relief ^zfE. You are quite right, you never walk on the ceiling. It was obviously my intention at the start (Escher style), but I was a bit afraid of technical issues coming with it. I also had a more complex gameplay idea, with lasers you needed to point through portals and having a way to mark your path and facilitate mental mapping. I really want to make a post compo version, maybe next week.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:26pm

I love exploration in your game ! And the mechanics are very nice.

Minato4th says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Cool art and very interesting idea, this can be developed in something big

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Really love the style here. This has to be the best use of the theme I've seen so far. I agree with Infinitycore that the controls might need some tweaking, but nothing that serious.

xclementx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Amazing ! I get lost so many times... Really addicting !

nodoxi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:06pm

I really like your concept!

negativice says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Pretty nice little experience, i liked to map it all out in my head, i wish there was rotation involved, like being upside down or sideways, etc.

Marta Viader says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Very "Eschery" ;). Cool and intriguing!

banana4life says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Cool MC Escher esque game, however for me personally it lacked that the doors get you somewhere else than you came from when you go back through them and walking on walls/ceiling.

JK5000 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Thank you for sharing this fun and really visually interesting game.

Stormer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Interesting gameplay, intriguous music, cool technical 3D feature, and graphic style reminding the vagueness of mental pictures. The lowest rate is for the theme category as there are several rooms ^^

Stormer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Ok, I just understood that there is only one room, I failed to recognize it, I increased my rate for the theme category ^^

Gord10 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Ahah, I loved its idea!

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Magnificent. I have no other words for this.

NORRIMO says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Simple and great game concept.
I like the camera shader and at first the sounds reminds me of Lavender Town of Pokemon Red/Blue. Than I watched in youtube after this Pokemon sound but it was not like your sound. But the strange feeling what I got at the time I've played your game was the same as in the past in Lavener Town. :D

sararyCow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Amazing game! Beautiful and very original :).

Sean says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Really clever use of the theme! The overall style is great, and the transitions through the portals were really smooth. I have a feeling that if the geometry and general premise didn't immediately give it away, you might not even realize you're teleporting!

A couple complaints: The sketchy effect being just a static screenspace overlay felt a little rushed (I found it drew too much attention to itself and away from the world), and the puzzle aspect of the game seemed a bit linear (though I can't really criticize you there - I wouldn't even know where to begin when designing puzzles in a space like this!).

Other than that, great entry!

MacDocBros says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:04pm

I really like this game. If you would add more stuff in future updates this could become an amazing hit ;)

Devastus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Very cool stuff for 48 hours. The pencil shader was nice and I had fun exploring the connecting rooms. A bit on the short side, but that's certainly understandable. Great job!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:13pm

Really nice, the shader made eyes feel a bit weird after playing :)

KadaDev says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:49am

Wew crazy you implemented something like portals in 2days with good looking gfx. impressive! :D

saucygames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:22am

This was cool. Wasn't feeling the camera shader after awhile. however I enjoyed the level design. little sadden over no puzzles but it was a cool experience!

impbox says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:42am

Love the architecture and escher vibe, really interesting level to explore, but over too quickly! I like the shader and I thought the music and mood was pretty nice. Would love to see more levels for this. Liked that it was just about exploring.
I think the blue targets could look a bit more in-theme though.
Great job!

nikitapash says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:15am

The shader and the artwork are f@cking amazing!

Split82 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Portals. Amazing. Great job :)

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:23pm

good job mister...Ave Ceasar

Sun-Wukong says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:43pm

That was very interesting to play though my eyes hurt from this shader. Also good feeling of completeness.

Diplodino says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Really nice job on this one ! The shader is a bit agressive to the eye, but I can see some references to Antichamber and Bridge in your game. Simple and elegant !

Falkreon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:03am

I never expected to play *two* non-euclidean games in one LD! In hindsight, non-euclidean space would have been a great theme. I can't seem to get enough of bent space and portal engines.

Controls felt a little strange and unresposive - pressing and immediately releasing forward takes you forward an entire step, for instance. It was also difficult to tell when I was done - when the targets are activated, "2/8" means that you hit the target "named" 2, not that you're a quarter of the way done.

This game hit the theme on the nose, and aside from that one control strangeness, was executed extremely effectively. The post shader was a really cool touch. Nice work!

flwns says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:22am

I also made a non euclidean game for this LD (named eCubed). A person left a comment on my page letting me know about your entry. Pretty cool! I really enjoyed you entry, it was a great overall experience, well done.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:35am

Very good job, my friend. Great work on building nad implementing a non-Euclidean room with such great level design. Really innovative, and awesome to play. I love the post-proccessing shader paired with audio and visual style, really lets us focus purely on mapping the level. Great work!!

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:02pm

I love the shader, it gives the game a lot. Making a game with that presentation and that name sets the expectations really I, so I was a bit let down that you cannot actually walk up walls and thus get a better sense of where you started.

Overall it was a solid entry and I really enjoyed playing it.

ezolotko says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Great compo entry all around!

Sundr0 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Awesome idea, awesome realisation, awesome game :D
You should try our game : Daedalight, wich is a non euclidean maze game ;)

Remicy says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:13am

My favorite game in LD37.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:03pm

Great graphics and idea.

Naca says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:02am

It looks really cool! I love this kind of games, and you've got an impressive result in only 48 hours! Great work!. I didn't like music very much, but it was really fun to explore this space. Congrats :)

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:37pm

Nice shader, and the music is quite fitting. Portals are really good to.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Well done, now I want to downrate every game I gave 5 in graphics :(
This is amazing!

Dec 21, 2016 @ 6:20pm

stellar job, has a great look and it's a good concept. I could see this being turned into a full game

indrkl says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 6:33pm

I really like the visuals, and the tech is really nice aswell, still trying to figure out how you did that :)

qzqxq says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:31pm

Right now there isn't much to do, but I'll add on to the praise for the graphics style and the mood, which are really really well done. If you added more puzzle-like challenges (maybe some sort of timed puzzle so the player has to remember where things are) and/or being able to walk on walls or the ceiling as others have suggested, this has the potential to be really awesome.

t4u says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Love the shaders. I like that it's a vast space. Not really challenging but enjoyable nevertheless. Audio fits well.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Neat! Pretty spiffy implementation; the visual style fits well with the concept/inspiration as well. The music is rather bland but I guess passable for LD. My main complaint would be that I think the exploration of the portal mechanics/puzzles and concept is a little rushed since it's all packed into one room rather than spread across multiple different puzzles. Perhaps that will be addressed in your post-compo work. Also, a minor nitpick, I think it would make more sense for the x/8 counter to count up rather than count down :)

PS: You can hold shift to run in your game which increases your movement speed, making it considerably easier to jump across gaps and reach most of the activation spots. You may want to include that in your description or disable the functionality entirely.

local minimum says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 9:33pm

I really dig the concept of the game and great work on getting the portal system to work so nicely. The shader really gave the game an Escher feel too! It felt a bit hard on the eyes though, so I would not have managed to play a much longer. It was really a nice experience just walking around and feeling the confusion and marvel at what direction the stairs may actually be going. Really well made.

The puzzle aspect felt like it should need some more work, in case you decide to keep working on it. The final thingy that I activated was the one located over the gate and I solved it by jumping from a ledge higher up. That kind of felt like I was breaking the premise of the game. The other things needing activation was also quite easy to reach and didn't take much thinking about things. However, as I started, I very much enjoyed the experience and the strangeness of the place and I can see a superb puzzle game in the making, should you continue working on it.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 4:22am

Super interesting entry. It's a bit short, but that's understandable considering how much polish went into the graphical style and level design - I had a ton of fun trying to wrap my head around everything.

NegInfinity says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Really nice visuals. Reminded me of a demoscene demo I saw somewhere in the past. It is inspired by escher's drawings, right? Getting portal/prey mechanics to work in short entry is also quite impressive.

The only issue I had is that first person controller have significant amount of horizontal inertia, and it sorta feels out of place. I also occasionally get a brief dark "flash" when going through portals (meaning for one frame the whole scene is cross-hatched with a darker shade), but it is barely noticeable and doesn't happen often.

Dec 24, 2016 @ 11:28pm

I like the style. This looks pretty nice, even though the hand drawn effect is a little bit overdone. I not only came to think of Escher, Antichamber and Portal, but also Bill Plympton's animations - maybe only because the frame rate dropped a few times. :-)

Also, there's an interesting technical challenge in making portals.

The one thing I didn't like was the audio. The music quickly became annoying.

smbe19 says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 12:21am

Fantastic entry. The graphic style was absolutely gorgeous. The music fit quite well.
The concept was very promising and I guess could have been explored even more. But the lack of more complicated puzzles is of course understandable given the time limit.

Spab says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 2:44pm

I really liked the idea! The soundtrack didn´t fit the mood too well and the controls felt a bit off would be my only complaints.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Mac version works great (macOS 10.12.2) Fun how the chiptune music and sfx have to remind me that this is a compo entry and not a Jam one! Very well done. I thought the pencil scribble overlay would get on my nerves but it surprisingly didn't. The portals work seamlessly. Should I do something once I find all 8 spots? Great entry.

Dec 29, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Awesome work! The portals are perfect and the game feels polished. Great visual style (though I hate that the lines are rotating) and totally fits the theme! Good job!

Dec 30, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Very polished, well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/anJNAp7E9kc

Jan 2, 2017 @ 1:00pm

Fun little experience with really great visuals. Loved the way you used the shader and thought it worked well in setting a unique mood. Also was able to find all the targets and complete the game which is always a good thing.

Obvious_San says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 4:11pm

I was a bit disappointed that I didn't end up walking on the walls or ceiling at any point. However, this is a great concept, executed with a bold visual style, and a lot of fun to play, so I really can't fault it.

- randomhuman

elmoGames says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 5:53pm

It looks awesome but for some reason it wont work here but i will try later.

Ellian says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:24pm

Wow, the graphics look amazing, and the idea of a non-euclidian thing is very cool. It's super smart, I loved it!

Jan 13, 2017 @ 12:34am

You have been featured on Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tHqmD1f4yHE

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]