Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

One Gogh

by DMinsky - Jam Entry

Van Gogh inspired 15-puzzle game.
Room model was made based on famous Van Gogh's painting "Bedroom in Arles".

Controls:
Left mouse button to move room element
Right mouse button to rotate camera

Made by:
Dmitry Minsky
Gleb Polikanin

Music:
Ascending the Vale
by Kevin MacLeod

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#35Graphics(Jam)4.56
#41Theme(Jam)4.34
#65Audio(Jam)3.95
#93Mood(Jam)3.94
#97Overall(Jam)3.91
#165Innovation(Jam)3.68
#318Fun(Jam)3.37

Comments

timgarbos says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:13pm

So pretty! The concept isn't really that new, but the execution and visuals are amazing. Worth playing.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Holy crap this game is pretty! The music also is really fitting. Gameplay wasn't too exciting, it's just a slide puzzle in 3D.

I would be happier if I just could walk trough the rooms and look at everything ;)

Nice job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Really nice puzzle game with a clean aesthetic and a clever gameplay. You respected fully the theme which has been imposed. One of my favorites. Thank you ++

barning says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:25pm

So impressive. So beautiful. I hate slide puzzles but this one really gets me.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Really great stuff!

gdcvdqpl says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Alright I *might* have put five stars to eveything.
No but seriously, this is amazing. I really like the twist of adapting this puzzle in 3d. The graphics are amazing. And this idea of using the room of Van Gogh :DDD !!
One of the best game I played from this LD so far !

ccglp says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:41pm

I am really bad at this, but the game is cool.

Looks like this can be very functional in a mobile phone :D

onyon says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Beautiful art.

sfje-team says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Really like that one. But it is a bit hard to click at the right position to move the parts.

tinyworlds says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Hm that room looks kinda familiar! ^^
Great sound & graphics. Not really a fan of puzzle games personally, but people who are will sure find this interesting :)
Great game!

Lucas Knutson says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:41am

Nice graphics! Difficult though.

Awpteamoose says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:54am

2x2x2 was above me.

BathPirate says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:22am

Очень круто! Красавцы!

Gipzo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Nice looking and beautifully made game!
Unfortunately I'm not smart enough to solve second puzzle :P

xclementx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:28pm

I'm not really good at it... But i like the art and the mechanics !

Halfbus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:12pm

Great game

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Look AWESOME ! It really does! :) 3x3x3 was too weird for me though :D

dude_the_hero says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Is their a reset button? If not it needs one. Cool game.

arzi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:03pm

Really nice game, though the puzzle become quite brain twisting fast. I like the style and the mood.

makhovykh says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Nice job! 2nd level unreal :[

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Brilliant game. Awesome idea and graphics. So very like it. Great job! Keep it up.

Ryuko13 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:15pm

I could play this game for hours! What a great puzzle game.

erikiene says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Really great game, but I think I ran into a bug when one part of the room clipped into another one and so I couldn't finish that level. Doesn't really matter since I still enjoyed the game.

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:28am

This was great! I was frustrated with the controls a little as I felt like it wasn't registering my clicks at times. Outside of that the graphics are great, awesome soundtrack/ sound effect when clicking and I enjoyed the gameplay.

Great job :)

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:18pm

So beautiful! Would've played the hell out of a big game with graphic style like this.

(Also, you probably should've opted-out of audio category if you didn't write the music.)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:41pm

It is great! Even I stopped at second room... Need to sleep a bit after LD before playing puzzles ) Good luck!

jordgubben says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:44am

Very interesting concept.
Some of the room pieces are hard to click on.
Music and graphics are both top notch!

DMinsky says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:39pm

@Mike: yeah, you're right.

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Very cool entry.
Two minor suggestions for improvement: first, the music doesn't loop. Second, as some other people mentioned already, it is a bit hard sometimes to click the right tile.
Maybe some additional handle for clicking in the middle of a tile or something like that would work.
But these are really only minor complaints. I rellay like those games and you nailed the concept.
Keep it up!

OWC says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:40am

Zbs

MementoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Oh this is pretty!
Awesome job!
Lovely music too.

wowa_u says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 8:56am

Greate 3d version of a sliding puzzle! Very challenging!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]