Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Room for Improvement

by Recursiveanomaly - Jam Entry

WASD or arrow keys to move.

You are trapped in a room with many doors. Find the correct door to escape!

Red and orange enemies will kill you. Defeat yellow and green enemies to grow stronger!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#309Fun(Jam)3.38
#473Theme(Jam)3.54
#476Overall(Jam)3.29
#496Innovation(Jam)3.00
#545Humor(Jam)2.29
#565Graphics(Jam)3.21
#608Mood(Jam)3.00
#893Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:40am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:45am

Nice game, interesting idea. You should add how to kill the monsters in your description (I am not sure how I killed them, but some were turning into grave stones.

justking14 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Loved how the levels were generated, but the random placement of enemies made many levels feel impossible.

Turn based mechanics were also pretty great

TitoMakaniJr says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:32pm

This game reminded me of Crypt of the Necrodancer. I'm a big fan of these turn based movement games and enjoyed playing this one as well. It was very hard though! Anywho good job on the game dood.

KappaIX says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Really interesting interpretation of the theme, liked the static graphics, made it feel like a board game (in a good way).

Found the combat a little bit confusing - overall though, great work! Well done, thanks for sharing!

zenwraight says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Nice graphics and a novel idea.... liked it a lot

akai_0okami says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:37pm

Awesome game! I love how the doors work and it really makes you think about your next move. The room getting bigger every time you find the right door is really cool. Some sound would be nice but otherwise this game is perfect.

quiv says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Awesome idea of having enemies that can flat-out kill you, but giving the player the maneuverability to get around them. I liked having to figure out how to get around and either kill everything in the early levels or ensure I could test every door in the later levels. Nice work :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Good game which reminds me the lats HitMan project. I love the simple aesthetic. Great mood. Well done ++

Umbra Team says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Love roguelikes!
And you found an easy and simple way to make it fun. It reminds me of boardgames and I love it.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:43am

I like the random level generator for each level, that's kinda nice. I wish there was a way to know where the door would teleport you before you entered. Also, make sure to tell players they can kill enemies by walking into them. Graphics were nice and I enjoyed myself. Good game.

Ping78 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:13am

Cool game, cool idea. Liked the procedural level generation, art, mechanics of the game and animations. Well done.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:12am

Not very innovative but a good yet simple roguelike! thank you

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]