Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Arcane Incrementalist

by deathray - Jam Entry

You've gotten a quiet, dark room all to yourself... You've drawn a magical circle of binding on the circle... Now you must summon the willpower to pull a dark entity into our realm, and lock him in this one room. There are so many mysteries you can learn, so much power to be had!

Arcane Incrementalist is a game where you take on the role of an occult conjurer, summoning spirits and demons, learning forbidden knowledge from them, and trying not to go insane.

Works best in Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#257Graphics(Jam)3.94
#303Mood(Jam)3.53
#403Theme(Jam)3.65
#540Innovation(Jam)2.94
#777Overall(Jam)2.82
#830Fun(Jam)2.35
#1798Coolness0%

Comments

Jupitron says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Ok its a clicker and a really cool looking one but scrolling up and down just let me down a bit, ill keep playing though. Excellent art & mood overall!

Boberro says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:54pm

TBF I didn't check post-compo version, but for a clicker it's too slow / lacks feedback. Still idea is grand, and graphics cute.

awesomerex says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:34am

Cool looking game, but I couldn't deal with all the scrolling up and down. I'd play it more if it was all a single screen.

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Cool aesthetic, but really slow even for a clicker/idle game. Also, usually this kind of game has multiple "currencies" / effects, whereas this is all very linear.

stuffedgravy says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Reviewing the Jam version: If you're interested in making an idle game for LD again, then I would suggest having it be sped up significantly for reviewers (maybe a "review mode"?). I love the theme and art for this, but there needs to be more strategy to an idle game. The sanity/knowledge trade-off is a good start, but not enough to actually promote that many strategies or progression routes, and the grimoire purchases are just another step in a linear path. I see the potential though, and I'm sure not all of your ideas are in the game. Aside from that, the art looks wonderful and I appreciate the attempt at the genre.

edve98 says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 6:54pm

The jam version is too slow. It's good that you have sped up the post compo one and made the game to be on one screen. Still, the post compo game page on my laptop looks a bit messed up with the menu on. Try out your game on different resolutions!

Siridakis says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:04am

I liked the graphics but I found the gameplay a bit slow at the beginning... didn't have the paticence to build up to a second summon :/ sorry. I missed a background sound also.

Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:06am

Love it! (But it needs music and sound). Great comic-Lovecraft crossover.

No ending? I got Cthulhu and all the books...

JD557 says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:31am

I don't really enjoy clicker games (and this one is particularly bad for me, since I can't manually click to speed up the process), but the art style is pretty neat.

Also, the game is really silly, which is a +1 for me when it comes for Jam entries. :)

Some creepy music would be nice, though.

ajayajayaj says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:42am

Like the art style! Congrats!

Rakart says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:46am

Jam version : Cool concept, I really like the idea but as others said before me, the start is really slow and then it maybe lacks a bit of tuning.

Post jam version seems better, especially with the sanity object. If your were going for a clicker-like, some kind of interaction could have improved the game, I tend to find passive/idle games pretty boring.

Congratulations on the entry !

kato9 says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:47am

Definitely one of the more unique games I've played this LD, both in terms of type of gameplay and the HTML presentation. That being said, waiting for numbers to slowly increase just isn't that engaging so I couldn't stick with it for too long.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: using cached page]